The Unconventional

Paavo Järvi conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi
(Photo: Kaupo Kikkas)

“I grew up with recordings of the Berliner Philharmoniker. We listened to them almost every day,” says Paavo Järvi in an interview with at the Digital Concert Hall. It is no surprise that the native Estonian comes from a famous family of musicians. Both father Neeme and brother Kristjan are conductors. He grew up in the profession, so to speak. And not only that: thanks to his father’s profession, he met many great musicians and composers of the Soviet Union as a child in his parents’ house: Dmitri Shostakovich, David Oistrakh, Mstislav Rostropovich, Gennady Rozhdestvensky ... Estonia, especially the resort Pärnu, where the Järvi family went on holiday, was a favourite destination for artists of the former Soviet Union. Paavo’s childhood and youth were marked by the strict rules and rituals of Soviet everyday life. “I’m definitely a Soviet kid, if you can say that,” he says. In 1980, the family left Estonia and emigrated to the United States. The then 17-year-old consequently had the opportunity to study at the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia and to attend summer courses with Leonard Bernstein.

Offspring of a family of conductors

In 2004, he became head of the Kammerphilharmonie Bremen where he caused a sensation with his fresh, unconventional approach to the standard repertoire – and enchanted audiences with his interpretations of Beethoven at first, then later of Brahms. Järvi, who is also head of the NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokyo and the Estonia Festival Orchestra and principal conductor and artistic director designate of the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2000 at the age of 38. “If I had known then what I know today, I would not have agreed,” he confides with a smile. In recent years, the collaboration between orchestra and conductor has intensified. In the 2017/2018 season, he conducted the traditional European concert on 1 May, which took place in the Margravial Opera House in Bayreuth. To be able to conduct the orchestra at this event was a great honour: “I’m a big fan of the European concerts, I’ve actually been watching it throughout years, and always look where the next location is.” He then gave a guest performance in Berlin which included Sibelius’ Violin Concerto with Lisa Batiashvili as the soloist.

Two times in Berlin

Paavo Järvi now appears as a guest of the orchestra twice a season, a development that the conductor is very happy about: “For me, it is is a fantastic thing. I have been a great fan of the orchestra literally since I was born. To have the opportunity to make music together so often is a dream come true.” At his next appearance in October 2019, he conducts Jean Sibelius’ tone poem Tapiola, Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto with Janine Jansen as the soloist, and Robert Schumann’s “Rhenish”. At the end of January 2020, he returns to perform Hans Abrahamsen’s Concerto for Horn and Orchestra (soloist: Stefan Dohr) and Hector Berlioz’ Symphonie fantastique. He especially enjoys spending time with the Berliner Philharmoniker – as he also revealed in the Digital Concert Hall – because every single member of this orchestra is a master of his craft.

Concerts

Wednesday,

29 Jan 2020,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: D

Wed, 29 Jan 2020, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Stefan Dohr french horn

Works by Igor Stravinsky, Hans Abrahamsen and Hector Berlioz

read more

Thursday,

30 Jan 2020,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: I

Thu, 30 Jan 2020, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Stefan Dohr french horn

Works by Igor Stravinsky, Hans Abrahamsen and Hector Berlioz

read more

Friday,

31 Jan 2020,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: K

Fri, 31 Jan 2020, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Stefan Dohr french horn

Works by Igor Stravinsky, Hans Abrahamsen and Hector Berlioz

read more watch online

Der Unkonventionelle

Paavo Järvi am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi
(Foto: Kaupo Kikkas)

»Ich wuchs mit Aufnahmen der Berliner Philharmoniker auf. Wir haben sie fast täglich gehört«, erzählt Paavo Järvi in einem Gespräch in der Digital Concert Hall. Kein Wunder, stammt der gebürtige Este doch  aus einer berühmten Musikerfamilie. Sowohl Vater Neeme als auch Bruder Kristjan sind Dirigenten. Er ist sozusagen mit diesem Metier aufgewachsen. Und nicht nur das: Dank des Berufs des Vater lernte er viele große Musiker und Komponisten der Sowjetunion als Kind in seinem Elternhaus persönlich kennen: Dmitri Schostakowitsch, David Oistrach, Mstislaw Rostropowitsch, Gennadi Roschdestwenski… Estland, vor allem der Kurort Pärnu, wo die Familie Järvi Ferien machte, war für Künstler der damaligen Sowjetunion ein beliebtestes Reiseziel. Paavos Kindheit und Jugend war von den strengen Regeln und Ritualen des sowjetischen Alltags geprägt. »Ich bin definitiv ein sowjetisches Kind, wenn man das so sagen kann«, meint er. 1980 verließ die Familie Estland und emigrierte in die USA. Der damals 17-Jährige erhielt dadurch die Gelegenheit am Curtis Institute in Philadelphia zu studieren und Sommerkurse bei Leonard Bernstein zu besuchen.

Spross einer Dirigentenfamilie

2004 wurde er Chef der Kammerphilharmonie Bremen und sorgte in dieser Funktion für Aufsehen, weil er mit frischem, unkonventionellen Blick an das Standardrepertoire heranging und zunächst als Beethoven- und später als Brahms-Interpret begeisterte. Järvi, zudem Chef des NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokio und des Estonia Festival Orchestra sowie designierter Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Tonhalle-Orchesters Zürich, gab im Jahr 2000 im Alter von 38 Jahren sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern. »Wenn ich damals gewusst hätte, was ich heute weiß, hätte ich mich noch nicht darauf eingelassen«, gesteht er schmunzelnd. In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Orchester und Dirigent intensiviert. In der Saison 2017/2018 leitete er das traditionelle Europakonzert am 1. Mai, das im Markgräflichen Opernhaus Bayreuth stattfandet. Bei diesem Ereignis am Pult des Orchesters stehen zu dürfen, empfand er als große Ehre: »Ich bin ein großer Fan der Europakonzerte, verfolge immer die Fernsehübertragungen und schaue stets, wo das nächste stattfindet.« Im Anschluss gab er noch ein Gastspiel in Berlin u.a. mit Sibelius’ Violinkonzert und Lisa Batiashvili als Solistin.

Zweimal zu Gast

Mittlerweile ist Paavo Järvi zweimal pro Saison Gast des Orchesters. Eine Entwicklung, die den Dirigenten sehr freut: »Ich finde das fantastisch! Seit meiner Jugend bin ich ein großer Fan der Philharmoniker. Und dass wir jetzt so oft gemeinsam musizieren ist für mich ein Traum.« Bei seinem nächsten Auftritt im Oktober 2019 dirigiert er Jean Sibelius Tondichtung Tapiola, Peter Tschaikowskys Violinkonzert mit Janine Jansen als Solistin sowie Robert Schumanns »Rheinische«. Ende Januar 2020 kehrt er zurück, um Hans Abrahamsens Konzert für Horn und Orchester (Solist: Stefan Dohr) und Hector Berlioz‘ Symphonie fantastique aufzuführen. Die Zeit mit den Berliner Philharmonikern – auch das verriet er in der Digital Concert Hall – genieße er besonders, weil jedes einzelne Mitglied in diesem Orchester, ein Meister seines Fachs sei.

Konzerte

Mittwoch,

29. Jan 2020,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: D

Mi, 29. Jan 2020, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi Dirigent

Stefan Dohr Horn

Werke von Igor Strawinsky, Hans Abrahamsen und Hector Berlioz

mehr lesen

Donnerstag,

30. Jan 2020,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: I

Do, 30. Jan 2020, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi Dirigent

Stefan Dohr Horn

Werke von Igor Strawinsky, Hans Abrahamsen und Hector Berlioz

mehr lesen

Freitag,

31. Jan 2020,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: K

Fr, 31. Jan 2020, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi Dirigent

Stefan Dohr Horn

Werke von Igor Strawinsky, Hans Abrahamsen und Hector Berlioz

mehr lesen online sehen