“A whole Beethoven in this Frenchman”

On the 150th anniversary of Hector Berlioz’s death

Hector Berlioz
(Photo: Bibliothèque nationale de France, Pierre Petit)

A member of the educated classes, a librarian, music critic, composer, eccentric, genius – Hector Berlioz combined many gifts and facets. This unusual mix predestined him to become one of the most visionary minds of his time. To mark the 150th anniversary of his death this year, Musikfest Berlin is dedicating a programmatic focus to the French composer. The Berliner Philharmoniker’s contribution is a performance of Berlioz’s dramatic symphony Roméo et Juliette. Born in 1803 in La Côte-Saint-André, a small commune in the Département Isère, he grew up in a wealthy, distinguished medical family who provided him with an excellent education. At the age of 14 he began to compose (his musical talent could not be ignored), nevertheless his career seemed to be predetermined: he was to become a doctor like his father. In 1821, he went to Paris to study medicine – and there he discovered his passion for opera. Four years later, he became an official student at the Paris Conservatoire. He had finally decided in favour of music and the free life of an artist – while making his living as a librarian and essayist.

Unconventional and revolutionary

From the outset, Berlioz strove to create a different kind of music that defied the academic standards taught at the Conservatoire: freer in form, more daring in harmony and beguiling in its timbres. His early works already testify to an unconventional creative will. When his cantata La Mort de Cléopâtre, in which he impressively describes the Egyptian queen’s last desperate moments before her suicide, was not accepted for the Rome Prize, Berlioz protested: “I would never have thought that a composer would have to avoid new means of expression if he was lucky enough to come up with them and if they fit into the context”. His great role models were the symphonies of Ludwig van Beethoven and the operas of Christoph Willibald Gluck, Giacomo Meyerbeer and Carl Maria von Weber.

An obsessive love

An avid theatregoer, in Paris he discovered his love of Shakespeare – and for the actress Harriet Smithson who he became obsessed with, and who ultimately agreed to marry him after years of futile courtship. The artistic fruit of this passion was his Symphonie fantastique, an autobiographical depiction of the anguish and fantasies of this love – a unique piece which attracted the attention of the musical world. The work was a great success for the composer, not only in France, but also in Germany. It was quite controversial: in the words of composer François-Joseph Fétis, this symphony was a “monstrous lump of notes”. “There is a whole Beethoven in this Frenchman,” was the judgement of Paris-based journalist Ludwig Börne.

Founder of the modern orchestra

With Harold in Italy, Roméo et Juliette and La Damnation de Faust, Berlioz created other symphonic works that were dramatically designed through and through and subsequently blew established genre schemes apart. His way of repeatedly picking up characteristic themes as a so-called “idée fixe” and overriding traditional forms paved the way for the tone poems of the later 19th century and for Richard Wagner’s leitmotif technique. Although Berlioz was a musical storyteller, his great success in the most dramatic of all musical genres, opera, was denied him during his lifetime. Neither his opera Benvenuto Cellini, first performed in 1838, nor Les Troyens, completed in 1858, enjoyed success. His musical visions often failed because of Berlioz’s own lack of moderation and detachment from reality. While he remained highly controversial throughout his life as a composer in his homeland, he was celebrated as a conductor and composer on his concert tours to Germany, Austria, Russia, London, Prague and Budapest. Berlioz, who died lonely and disillusioned in Paris in 1869, was regarded as a magician of sound who was able to effectively bring out individual instruments. He recorded his experience and insight in his Treatise on Instrumentation which is still relevant today and which leads him to be regarded as the founder of the modern orchestral sound.

Concerts

Tuesday,

17 Sep 2019,
20:00

Philharmonie

Musikfest Berlin

Tue, 17 Sep 2019, 20:00
Philharmonie

Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Donald Runnicles conductor

Alice Coote soprano

Susan Graham mezzo-soprano

Klaus Florian Vogt tenor

Works by Ludwig van Beethoven and Hector Berlioz

read more

»Ein ganzer Beethoven steckt in diesem Franzosen«

Zum 150. Todestag von Hector Berlioz

Hector Berlioz
(Foto: Bibliothèque nationale de France, Pierre Petit)

Bildungsbürger, Bibliothekar, Musikkritiker, Komponist, Exzentriker, Genie – Hector Berlioz vereinte viele Begabungen und Facetten in sich. Diese ungewöhnliche Mischung prädestinierte ihn, einer der visionärsten Köpfe seiner Zeit zu werden. Das Musikfest Berlin widmet dem Franzosen anläßlich seines 150. Todestags in diesem Jahr einen Programmschwerpunkt, zu dem die Berliner Philharmoniker mit der Aufführung von Berlioz' Dramatische Symphonien Roméo et Juliette beitragen. Geboren 1803 in La Côte-Saint-André, einer kleinen Gemeinde im Département Isère, wuchs Berlioz in einer wohlhabenden, angesehenen Arztfamilie auf, die ihm eine hervorragende Ausbildung ermöglichte. Als 14-Jähriger begann er zu komponieren, seine musikalische Begabung ließ sich nicht übersehen, gleichwohl schien ein anderer Berufsweg vorgegeben: Er sollte Arzt werden wie sein Vater. 1821 kam er zum Medizinstudium nach Paris – und entdeckte dort seine Leidenschaft zur Oper. Vier Jahre später wurde er offiziell Student am Pariser Conservatoire. Er hatte sich endgültig für die Musik und ein freies Künstlerdasein entschieden, wobei er – um seinen Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen – auch als Bibliothekar und Essayist tätig war.

Unkonventionell und revolutionär

Von Anfang an strebte Berlioz nach einer anderen Art von Musik, die sich über die akademischen Standards hinwegsetzte, die am Conservatoire gelehrt wurden: freier in ihrer Form, gewagter in der Harmonik und betörend in ihren Klangfarben. Schon seine frühen Arbeiten zeugen von einem unkonventionellen Gestaltungswillen. Als seine Kantate La Mort de Cléopâtre, in der er auf eindrückliche Weise die letzten verzweifelten Momente der ägyptischen Königin vor ihrem Freitod schildert, nicht für den Rompreis angenommen wurde, protestierte Berlioz: »Ich hätte nie gedacht, ein Komponist müsse neue Ausdrucksmittel vermeiden, wenn er das Glück hat, dass sie ihm einfallen, und wenn sie in den Zusammenhang passen«. Seine großen Vorbilder waren die Symphonien Ludwig van Beethovens sowie die Opern Christoph Willibald Glucks, Giacomo Meyerbeers und Carl Maria von Webers.

Eine obzessive Liebe

Als begeisterter Theaterbesucher entdeckte er in Paris seine Liebe zu Shakespeare – und zu der Schauspielerin Harriet Smithson, die ihm zur Obzession wurde, ehe sie nach jahrelangem vergeblichem Werben in die Ehe mit ihm einwilligte. Als künstlerische Frucht dieser Leidenschaft entstand seine Symphonie fantastique, mit der er autobiografisch die Seelenschmerzen und Fantastereien dieser Liebe schildert und die Musikwelt mit diesem ungewöhnlichen Stück auf sich aufmerksam machte. Das Werk bescherte dem Komponisten einen großen Erfolg, nicht nur in Frankreich, auch in Deutschland. Es wurde dabei durchaus kontrovers diskutiert: Ein »monströser Klumpen von Noten« sei – so der Komponist François-Joseph Fétis – diese Symphonie. »Ein ganzer Beethoven steckt in diesem Franzosen«, urteilt dagegen der in Paris lebende Journalist Ludwig Börne.

Begründer des modernen Orchesters

Berlioz schuf mit Harold in Italien, Roméo et Juliette und La Damnation de Faust weitere symphonische Werke, die durch und durch dramatisch konzipiert waren und somit vorgegebene Gattungsschemata sprengten. Seine Art, wie er charakteristische Themen als sogenannte »idée fixe« immer wieder aufgreift und er sich dabei über tradierte Formen hinwegsetzt, ebnete den Weg für die Tondichtungen des späteren 19. Jahrhunderts und für Richard Wagners Leitmotivtechnik. Obwohl Berlioz ein musikalischer Geschichtenerzähler war, blieb ihm zu Lebzeiten der große Erfolg in der dramatischsten aller musikalischen Gattung, der Oper, versagt. Weder seine 1838 uraufgeführte Oper Benvenuto Cellini noch die 1858 vollendeten Les Troyens setzten sich durch. Seine musikalischen Visionen scheiterten oft an Berlioz‘ eigener Maßlosigkeit und Realitätsferne. Während er als Komponist in seinem Heimatland zeitlebens höchst umstritten blieb, wurde er als Dirigent und Komponist auf seinen Konzertreisen nach Deutschland, Österreich, Russland, London, Prag und Budapest gefeiert. Berlioz, der 1869 vereinsamt und desillusioniert in Paris starb, galt als Klangzauberer, der die einzelnen Instrumente wirkungsvoll zur Geltung bringen konnte. Seine Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse hielt er in einer bis heute gültigen Instrumentationslehre fest und wurde so zum Begründer des modernen Orchesterklangs.

Konzerte

Dienstag,

17. Sep 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Musikfest Berlin

Di, 17. Sep 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Donald Runnicles Dirigent

Alice Coote Sopran

Susan Graham Mezzosopran

Klaus Florian Vogt Tenor

Werke von Ludwig van Beethoven und Hector Berlioz

mehr lesen