Strom Festival

Beats and vibrations in the Philharmonie Berlin

The Strom festival allows you to experience the whole range of synthesized sounds in the Philharmonie – whether listening while seated in the auditorium, or dancing about in the foyers. Featuring artists who boldly and creatively expand the boundaries of electronic music.

After the first Strom festival in the Philharmonie in 2020, the Süddeutsche Zeitung wrote, “It has never vibrated like this before,” and from a physical perspective it is hard to disagree. The beats that pounded through the halls and foyers could not only be heard but also felt through the entire body: a holistic experience, a thrill that can only be found in this form in electronic music. This experience is to be repeated in a second Strom festival over two evenings with an exciting interaction between the spaces of the Philharmonie, between different worlds of expression and performance formats.

It is as questionable to talk about “one” kind of electronic music as it is about “one” kind of classical music. Both genres encompass a complex array of styles that have been and are being constantly redefined. The intention of Strom is to show the entire spectrum of synthesized sound production and to let it interact with the timeless, visionary architecture of the Philharmonie. Don't expect classical music crossovers or any formal club music that makes you just want to dance. Instead, the artists presented have all expanded electronic genres or shaped them in a completely new way, built bridges to other art forms and cultures, or broken new technological ground. In 2020, for example, the concert programmes ranged from the downtempo of the Austrians Kruder & Dorfmeister to the high-speed techno of Nina Kraviz, and from the audiovisual minimalism of the media artist Ryoji Ikeda to the Arabic electronics of Deena Abdelwahed.

Electronic music that builds bridges to other art forms and cultures

The 2023 festival will also offer such a wide variety of programmes. Highly individual top performers will be presented in concerts and DJ sets; at the same time, it will be possible to experience the different timbres that electronic music takes on depending on the cultural background of the performers. The Philharmonie also makes a key contribution by enabling concentrated listening in four concerts in the seated auditorium, while in the foyers, there will be beat-based formats for people to dance to. The different environments enhance the experience in different ways: the main auditorium whose architecture directs all attention to the stage, and the foyers with their stimulating multi-faceted design.

Strom is curated by Stefan Goldmann, who himself has been an important influence on electronic music as a composer, DJ and producer, often in collaboration with cultural institutions such as the Maerz-Musik Festival and the Ensemble Modern. He has developed site-specific concert formats for venues as different as the Los Angeles County Museum of Art and the Honen-in Temple in Kyoto, and Strom’s programme is also tailored to the characteristics of the Philharmonie to create the most inspiring combination of classical concert hall and electronic music.

Strom-Festival

Beats und Vibrationen in der Philharmonie Berlin

Im Festival Strom erleben Sie die ganze Bandbreite synthetischer Klänge in der Philharmonie – konzentriert zuhörend im Saal oder hemmungslos tanzend in den Foyers. Mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die die Grenzen der elektronischen Musik kreativ und couragiert erweitern.

»So vibriert hat es da noch nie«, schrieb die Süddeutsche Zeitung 2020 nach dem ersten Strom-Festival in der Philharmonie, und in physikalischer Hinsicht ist dem kaum zu wider-sprechen. Da hämmerten Beats durch die Säle und Foyers, die man nicht nur mit den Ohren, sondern dem ganzen Körper wahr-nehmen konnte: eine ganzheitliche Erfahrung, ein Sog, wie man ihn in dieser Form nur in der elektronischen Musik findet. Mit einem zweiten Strom-Festival soll dieses Erlebnis revitalisiert werden, an zwei Abenden mit einem spannungsvollen Wechsel zwischen den Räumen der Philharmonie, zwischen unterschiedlichen Ausdruckswelten und Aufführungsformaten.

Denn tatsächlich ist es angreifbar, von »der« elektronischen Musik zu sprechen, wie es auch nicht »die« Klassik gibt. In beiden Fällen haben wir ein komplexes Geflecht an Stilen vor uns, die immer wieder neu definiert wurden und werden. Strom will die ganze Bandbreite synthetischer Klangerzeugung zeigen und sie mit der zeitlos-visionären Architektur der Philharmonie korrespondieren lassen. Kein Klassik-Crossover ist da zu erwarten, auch keine funktionale Club-Musik, die einfach nur Lust aufs Tanzen macht. Vielmehr werden Künstlerinnen und Künstler eingeladen, die elektronische Genres erweitert oder ganz neu geformt haben, die Brücken zu anderen Kunstsparten und Kulturen schlagen, technologisch neue Wege gehen. So reichten 2020 die Konzertprogramme vom Downtempo der Österreicher Kruder & Dorfmeister bis zum Hochgeschwindigkeit-Techno von Nina Kraviz, vom audiovisuellen Minimalismus des Medienkünstlers Ryoji Ike-da bis zur arabischen Elektronik von Deena Abdelwahed.

Elektronische Musik, die Brücken zu ande-ren Kunstsparten und Kulturen schlägt

Eine gleiche Bandbreite soll es bei der Wiederauflage 2023 geben. In Konzerten und DJ-Sets werden hochindividuelle Spitzenleistungen präsentiert; zugleich wird erfahrbar, welch unterschiedliche Färbung elektronische Musik je nach kulturellem Hintergrund der Ausführenden annimmt. Auch die Philharmonie wird einen zentralen Beitrag leisten, indem sie in vier Konzerten im bestuhlten Saal ein konzentriertes Zuhören ermöglicht, während es in den Foyers Beat-basierte Formate gibt, zu denen hemmungslos getanzt werden kann. So vertiefen die unterschiedlichen Umgebungen auf unterschiedliche Weise das Erlebnis: der Große Saal mit seiner alle Aufmerksamkeit auf die Bühne lenkenden Architektur, die Foyers mit ihrer animierenden Vielgestaltigkeit.

Kuratiert wird Strom von Stefan Goldmann, der selbst als Komponist, DJ und Produzent der elektronischen Musik wichtige Impulse gegeben hat, oft in Zusammenarbeit mit Kulturinstitutionen wie dem Festival Maerz-Musik oder dem Ensemble Modern. Er hat ortsspezifische Konzertformate für so unterschiedliche Orte wie das Los Angeles County Museum of Art oder den Honen-in-Tempel in Kyoto entwickelt, und auch das Programm von Strom wird ganz auf die Charakteristika der Philharmonie zugeschnitten, um eine maximal inspirierende Verbindung von klassischem Konzertsaal und elektronischer Musik zu schaffen.