Facade of Carnegie Hall in New York
Carnegie Hall, New York | Picture: Jeff Goldberg Esto

Concert information

On tour



At times melancholic and rugged, at others with a dance-like lightness: Antonín Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony presents a broad spectrum of contrasting moods, infused with the unmistakable colouring of Czech folk music. Kirill Petrenko also conducts Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s Violin Concerto with Hilary Hahn as the soloist. Exiled from his native Vienna, Korngold brought his lush late romantic harmonic language to Hollywood; in this piece, his film music can be heard again and again. Sergei Rachmaninov’s mystical tone poem The Isle of the Dead takes us into yet another hypnotic sound world.


Berliner Philharmoniker
Kirill Petrenko conductor
Hilary Hahn violin


Sergei Rachmaninoff
Isle of the Dead, Symphonic Poem, op. 29

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, op. 35

Hilary Hahn violin

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 7 in D minor, op. 70

Carnegie Hall, New York