A photo of the Scharoun Ensemble Berlin with its nine members.
The Scharoun Ensemble Berlin | Picture: Felix Broede


The Scharoun Ensemble of Berlin was founded in 1983 and has since then achieved high esteem in the international music capitals and at festivals. Comprising eight permanent members, except from Wolfram Brandl and Claudio Bohorquez all of them musicians of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the ensemble has since its inception augmented the classic octet formation to create larger forces.

Its association with the legacy of Hans Scharoun, the visionary architect of the Berlin Philharmonie, is an expression of its artistic commitment to the treasures of the past and the challenges of the present and future. Thus, along with its Classical and Romantic core repertoire, represented by the Schubert Octet and Beethoven Septet, the ensemble also places a distinctive emphasis on contemporary music, seeking collaboration with composers (for example, Hans Werner Henze, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Aribert Reimann and György Ligeti) and commissioning and giving the premieres of numerous works.


Rachel Schmidt
Christophe Horák
Micha Afkham
Alexander Bader
Markus Weidmann
Wolfram Brandl (Violine)
Claudio Bohórquez (Violoncello)

Official website