The Hagen Quartet plays Haydn, Beethoven and Ravel

Hagen Quartett (photo: Harald Hoffmann)

They have been making music together for over 40 years: as the Hagen Quartet, the three siblings Lukas, Veronika and Clemens Hagen with violinist Rainer Schmidt have reached the top of their field with their unerring sense of style, beauty of tone and potent expressiveness. Viennese Classicism has always been a major focus of the Salzburg-based ensemble. In this concert, we will hear two late quartets by Haydn and Beethoven which bear witness to both composers’ inexhaustible invention and innovative boldness. Maurice Ravel’s elegant, poignant quartet shows the genre from a French perspective.

Hagen Quartett

Lukas Hagen violin

Rainer Schmidt violin

Veronika Hagen viola

Clemens Hagen cello

Joseph Haydn

String Quartet in B flat major, Hob. III:78 “Sunrise”

Maurice Ravel

String Quartet in F major

Ludwig van Beethoven

String Quartet in F major, op. 135

Dates and Tickets

sales information