Yannick Nézet-Séguin and Beatrice Rana

Beatrice Rana (photo: Simon Fowler, Parlophone Records Limited)

A declaration against terror, violence and war: Shostakovich’s Seventh Symphony, written during the siege of Leningrad by German troops, established the composer’s worldwide fame. The work powerfully denounces the horrors of fascism and, in its gentle passages, is at the same time an appeal to humanity. The programme with Yannick Nézet-Séguin – whose posts include music director of the New York Met – opens with the young Clara Schumann’s melodious and heartfelt Piano Concerto. As the soloist, the Italian pianist Beatrice Rana makes her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin conductor

Beatrice Rana piano

Clara Schumann

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in A minor, op. 7

Beatrice Rana piano

Dmitri Shostakovich

Sympnony No. 7 in C major, op. 60 “Leningrad”

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Yannick Nézet-Séguin (photo: Chans Van Der Woerd)

Season’s focus

This season we are looking at "Heroes" and whether we still need them.

Clara Schumann

Clara Schumann and the Berliner Philharmoniker