Kirill Petrenko conducts Smetana’s “Má vlast”

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)

With his cycle Má vlast, Bedřich Smetana created a musical declaration of love for his Czech homeland – its landscape, its history, its legends. Kirill Petrenko presents the six symphonic poems of the cycle, each of which takes us into very different Romantic sound worlds – sometimes majestic, sometimes dramatic, sometimes lyrical, but always full of Bohemian musical elan. The best-known work from it is undoubtedly The Moldau, a lively, folkloric tone poem that portrays the river of the same name.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Bedřich Smetana

Má vlast (My Homeland)

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Season’s focus

This season we are looking at "Heroes" and whether we still need them.