Three men in coats in front of a canal, the middle one looks into the camera
Name this band: Composers Erwin Stein, Arnold Schönberg and Anton Webern taking a walk, 1914 | Picture: Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien

Concert information

Musikfest Berlin



Arnold Schönberg’s Chamber Symphony famously once led to a riot in Vienna, but now the only virtuoso handiwork happens on stage when violinist Isabelle Faust tackles this challenging and rarely performed piece. In this evening of chamber music, some of the great works of early new music lead into the melancholy of Brahms’s Clarinet Quintet. 


Isabelle Faust violin
Julia Hagen cello
Florent Boffard piano
Meesun Hong Coleman violin
William Coleman viola
Pascal Moraguès clarinet
Júlia Gállego flute


Alban Berg
Chamber Concerto: 2nd Movement Adagio (arr. for violin, clarinet and piano by the composer)

Anton Webern
Movement for String Trio, op. posth.

Arnold Schoenberg
Chamber Symphony No. 1, op. 9 (arr. Anton Webern)

Arnold Schoenberg
Phantasy for violin and piano, op. 47

Johannes Brahms
Clarinet Quintet in B minor, op. 115

Additional information

In co-operation with Berliner Festspiele

Chamber Music Hall