Tugan Sokhiev
Tugan Sokhiev | Picture: Marco Borggreve

Series M

Included: six concerts
Prices: 213 to 651 €

Save all dates (ics file)

The equally brilliant and subtle Martha Argerich plays Beethoven’s rousing Piano Concerto No. 1 in this series, and four years after his acclaimed debut, John Williams, the most successful composer in film history, returns to the Philharmonie. Orchestral music of otherworldly beauty is offered by Anton Bruckner’s Fifth Symphony, conducted by Kirill Petrenko. Other symphonies represent the early and late works of their creators: Mahler’s First under the direction of Tugan Sokhiev is juxtaposed with the last symphonies of Schubert and Brahms – with Zubin Mehta and Daniel Barenboim respectively. While the latter two conductors have been part of the orchestra’s closest family circle for decades, Marin Alsop is celebrating her debut. Amihai Grosz, principal violist of the Berliner Philharmoniker, can be heard in a world premiere.

Musikfest Berlin
Main Auditorium

Berliner Philharmoniker
Kirill Petrenko conductor

Works by
Wolfgang Rihm and Anton Bruckner

Wolfgang Rihm


Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 5 in B flat major

Read more
Daniel Barenboim

Main Auditorium

Berliner Philharmoniker
Daniel Barenboim conductor
Martha Argerich piano

Works by
Ludwig van Beethoven and Johannes Brahms

Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in C major, op. 15

Martha Argerich piano


Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 4 in E minor, op. 98

Read more
Tugan Sokhiev

Main Auditorium

Berliner Philharmoniker
Tugan Sokhiev conductor
Amihai Grosz viola

Works by
Lili Boulanger, Donghoon Shin and Gustav Mahler

Lili Boulanger
D’un matin de printemps

Donghoon Shin
Threadsuns, commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation and the Tonkunstler Orchester

Amihai Grosz viola


Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 1 in D major

Read more
Marin Alsop leaning against a wall

Biennale of the Berliner Philharmoniker
Main Auditorium

Berliner Philharmoniker
Marin Alsop conductor
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Gijs Leenaars chorus master

Works by
Outi Tarkiainen, Brett Dean, Aaron Copland and Heitor Villa-Lobos

Outi Tarkiainen
New Work (Première), commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation and the Boston Symphony Orchestra

Brett Dean
Fire Music for orchestra


Aaron Copland
Appalachian Spring (Version for orchestra from 1954)

Heitor Villa-Lobos
Chôros No. 10 ˮRasga o coração“ for orchestra and mixed choir

Rundfunkchor Berlin, Gijs Leenaars chorus master

Read more
Zubin Mehta

Main Auditorium

Berliner Philharmoniker
Zubin Mehta conductor
Himari violin

Works by
Carl Maria von Weber, Henryk Wieniawski and Franz Schubert

Carl Maria von Weber
Oberon: Overture

Henryk Wieniawski
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 in F sharp minor, op. 14

Himari violin


Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 8 in C major, D 944 “Great”

Read more

Main Auditorium

Berliner Philharmoniker
John Williams conductor

John Williams
Excerpts from Movie Soundtracks

Read more

Price category Block/row Price
A Row 1–12
B Row 1–3
E Row 1–2
651 €
B Row 4–10
E Row 3–4
576 €
C Row 1–3
D Row 1–2
E Row 5–6
498 €
E Row 7–8
F Row 1–2
435 €
C Row 4–7
D Row 3–4
F Row 3–5
H Row 1–2
366 €
C Row 8–11
D Row 5–6
H Row 3–5
282 €
G Row 1–4 right
K Row 1–2
213 €
G Row 1–5 left
K Row 3–4
Wheelchair positions
213 €