Kirill Petrenko conducts the Karajan Academy


Karajan-Akademie (photo: Peter Adamik)

Kirill Petrenko feels a special bond with the Karajan Academy’s new generation of orchestral musicians. Now the Berliner Philharmoniker’s principal conductor will be conducting the ensemble in Felix Mendelssohn’s “Italian” Symphony, a work filled with sunshine, clarity and energy. Chamber music precedes it on the programme: Mendelssohn’s miraculous Octet for strings and the sumptuous Quintet that Jörg Widmann – the current season’s Artist-in-Residence – composed for the Karajan Academy in 2006 when he won the Claudio Abbado Prize.

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

String Octet in E flat major, op. 20

Jörg Widmann

Quintett for Oboe, Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon and Piano

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Symphony No. 4 A major, op. 90 “Italian”

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)

Composer in Residence

In Search of the Uncertain: Portrait of Jörg Widmann