Man sits on a piano stool facing the viewer in front of a white background
Pierre-Laurent Aimard | Picture: Marco Borggreve

Concert information

Musikfest Berlin



Charles Ives’s Concord Sonata is one of the 20th century’s most monumental piano sonatas – a flood of sound that is ludicrously demanding, with three systems of notation instead of the usual two. A challenge – even for an internationally accalimed pianist like Pierre-Laurent Aimard. The sonata makes reference to the American transcendentalist movement, for which the town of Concord was akin to a Weimar of the USA: it was here, in the middle of the 19th century, that writers such as Henry David Thoreau, Ralph Waldo Emerson and Nathaniel Hawthorne all lived. A concentration of talent that is reminiscent of Vienna in the early days of new music, which was central to the evening’s other featured composer: Arnold Schönberg.


Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano


Arnold Schoenberg
Three Piano Pieces, op. 11

Arnold Schoenberg
Six little Piano Pieces, op. 19

Arnold Schoenberg
Five Piano Pieces, op. 23

Arnold Schoenberg
Piano Piece, op. 33a

Arnold Schoenberg
Piano Piece, op. 33b

Arnold Schoenberg
Suite for piano, op. 25

Charles Ives
Piano Sonata No. 2 “Concord, Mass., 1840 – 60ˮ

Additional information

In co-operation with Berliner Festspiele

Chamber Music Hall