Chamber music hall interior view | Picture: Heribert Schindler

Concert information



The Philharmonic Octet is characterised by polyphonic dialogue between its individual voices; at the same time, the ensemble represents the distinctive sound of the Berliner Philharmoniker in micro format. The main work of this programme is Beethoven’s early Septet in E flat major – a work which would become one of the composer’s most popular during his lifetime. This music is rapturous and vivid, with moments of profound emotion. Beethoven wrote his First Symphony immediately afterwards, and his mature style is already evident. Also on the programme are Wolfgang Rihm’s Sextet for clarinet, horn and string quartet and arrangements of Schubert's Moments musicaux.


Philharmonic Octet Berlin:
Daishin Kashimoto violin
Romano Tommasini violin
Amihai Grosz viola
Christoph Igelbrink cello
Esko Laine double bass
Wenzel Fuchs clarinet
Stefan Schweigert bassoon
Stefan Dohr french horn


Franz Schubert
Moments musicaux (arr. for octet by Hans Abrahamsen)

Wolfgang Rihm
Sextett for clarinet, horn and string quartet

Ludwig van Beethoven
Septet in E flat major, op. 20

Chamber Music Hall

11 to 29 €

Series Q: Philharmonic Chamber Music

Picture: Stefan Höderath