Philharmonic String Quartet | Picture: Peter Adamik

Concert information



The String Quintet in F major is the only major chamber music work by Anton Bruckner, whose 200th birthday will be celebrated in 2024. The Philharmonic String Quartet and Amihai Grosz, principal violist of the Berliner Philharmoniker, present the piece in this concert. The evening will open with Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s Second String Quartet, which has a distinctive Viennese lilt. A constant in this season’s Philharmonic Chamber Music concerts is the music of our composer in residence Wolfgang Rihm. Here you can hear his dark, finely-spun Grave, written in memory of violist Thomas Kakuska.


Philharmonisches Streichquartett:
Dorian Xhoxhi violin
Helena Madoka Berg violin
Naoko Shimizu viola
Christoph Heesch cello
Amihai Grosz viola


Erich Wolfgang Korngold
String Quartet No. 2 in E flat major, op. 26

Wolfgang Rihm
Grave for string quartet


Anton Bruckner
String Quintet in F major

Chamber Music Hall

11 to 29 €

Series Q: Philharmonic Chamber Music