Kirill Petrenko
Kirill Petrenko | Picture: Stephan Rabold

Concert information



Hatred, jealousy and loss: Sergei Rachmaninov creates a dark world with powerful colours in his one-act opera Francesca da Rimini. Against this backdrop, the heroine’s brief happiness in love shines all the more brightly. Kirill Petrenko presents the impassioned score with acclaimed soloists in a concert performance. Sofia Gubaidulina’s work The Wrath of God is almost apocalyptically dramatic. And here, too, it is about the hatred that – says the composer – “grows in this world with such force and intensity that it inevitably touches me.”


Berliner Philharmoniker
Kirill Petrenko conductor
Galina Cheplakova soprano (Francesca)
Dmytro Popov tenor (Paolo Malatesta)
Dmitry Golovnin tenor (Dante Alighieri)
Vladislav Sulimsky baritone (Lanceotto Malatesta)
Ilia Kazakov bass (Ghost of Vergil)
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Gijs Leenaars chorus master


Sofia Gubaidulina
The wrath of God


Sergei Rachmaninoff
Francesca da Rimini, op. 25

Galina Cheplakova soprano, Dmytro Popov tenor, Dmitry Golovnin tenor, Vladislav Sulimsky baritone, Ilia Kazakov bass, Rundfunkchor Berlin, Gijs Leenaars chorus master

Main Auditorium

37 to 106 €

Series G: Concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker

Main Auditorium

37 to 106 €

Series A: Concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker

Main Auditorium

37 to 106 €

A journey into the spiritual
Sofia Gubaidulina and the Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle and Sofia Gubaidulina 1990 | Picture: Reinhard Friedrich