Alexandre Kantorow
Alexandre Kantorow | Picture: Sasha Gusov

Concert information


At the invitation of the Berliner Philharmoniker


The press has hailed Alexandre Kantorow as “the reincarnated Liszt” because of his ability to make even the most fiendishly difficult of pieces come across as though tossed off lightly. In 2019, he became the first French pianist to win the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition, and that launched a meteoric international career. For his debut in our Piano series, the inclusion of Franz Liszt’s hyper-virtuosic music seemed imperative. He’ll also perform Bartók’s Rhapsody – at times passionate, at others exuberant – as well as Rachmaninoff’s dramatic First Sonata, Brahms’s Rhapsody in B minor and his transcription of the Bach Chaconne.


Alexandre Kantorow piano


Johannes Brahms
Rhapsody in B minor, op. 79 No. 1

Franz Liszt
Études d’exécution transcendante: No. 12 Chasse-neige

Franz Liszt
Années de Pèlerinage, Première Année, Suisse: No. 6 Vallée d'Obermann

Béla Bartók
Rhapsody for piano, Sz 26


Sergei Rachmaninoff
Piano Sonata No. 1, op. 28

Johann Sebastian Bach
Partita in D minor, BWV 1004: 5th Movement Chaconne (arr. for piano left hand by Brahms)

Chamber Music Hall

16 to 37 €

Series U: Piano