Shakespeare Ensemble (Birgit Minichmayr, Quadro Nuevo, Bernd Lhotzky)
Shakespeare Ensemble (Birgit Minichmayr, Quadro Nuevo, Bernd Lhotzky) | Picture: Sascha Kletzsch

Concert information

At the invitation of the Berliner Philharmoniker


Shakespeare and jazz – do they go together? Absolutely! Especially when jazz pianist Bernd Lhotzky sets the English writer’s sonnets to music and Birgit Minichmayr performs them. She lends her dark, expressive voice to the music of tango, gospel. The world-music jazz quartet Quadro Nuevo, acclaimed for its melancholy warmth, will help to envelope the Renaissance poet’s texts in an intense, contemporary sound.


Birgit Minichmayr vocals

Quadro Nuevo:
Mulo Francel saxophone and clarinet
Andreas Hinterseher accorion, bandoneon, melodica and trumpet
Dietmar Lowka bass and percussion
Phillip Schiepek guitar

Bernd Lhotzky piano, composition and musical direction


My Mistress’ Eyes – Sonnet 130

When Most I Wink – Sonnet 43

How Like A Winter – Sonnet 97

Th’ Expense Of Spirit – Sonnet 129

Sin Of Self-Love – Sonnet 62

Mine Eye Hath Played The Painter – Sonnet 24

As An Unperfect Actor – Sonnet 23

Tired With All These – Sonnet 66

When In Disgrace – Sonnet 29

My Love Is As A Fever – Sonnet 147

Chamber Music Hall

16 to 37 €

Series P: Jazz at Berlin Philharmonic