To cultivate the tradition of classical wind music – that is the aim of the Berlin Philharmonic Winds, formed in 2001 on the initiative of the clarinettist Walter Seyfarth and then principal clarinet Karl-Heinz Steffens. Since that time they have appeared regularly in Italy, in the Philharmonie’s Chamber Music Hall and at “Friedberg Advent” in Bavaria.

The core of the ensemble is formed by the Philharmonic Wind Quintet. While the flute is seldom called for, the other four instruments (oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon) are doubled. Adding an especially attractive timbre is the double bass, which is normally reinforced by the second bassoon and was an indispensable part of the Viennese Classical wind serenade. Building upon the ideal sound of the Philharmonic Wind Quartet, the ensemble cultivates lightness and transparency.

The Quintet’s repertoire focuses on the serenade, Harmoniemusik (wind music) and opera transcriptions from the Viennese Classical period as well as arrangements of compositions by the French “Impressionists”, Widor’s organ works and Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet.


Martin Heinze
Jonathan Kelly
Alexander Bader
Stefan Schweigert
Andrej Žust
Sarah Willis
Andreas Wittmann
Mor Biron
Walter Seyfarth