“Composing is my life“

The composer Anna Thorvaldsdóttir in interview

Her music sounds as if from another world: atmospheric, mysterious, intense. The Icelander Anna Thorvaldsdóttir is considered one of the most interesting composers of our time thanks to her distinctive sound language. Following the European premiere of her orchestral work Metacosmos by the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2019 comes the world premiere of Catamorphosis, which will be streamed live in the Digital Concert Hall on 29 January under the baton of Kirill Petrenko. In our interview, Anna Thorvaldsdóttir reveals why she became a composer, what role nature plays for her, and what message her new piece conveys.

What made you decide to become a composer?
When I was little I was often making up songs and music without thinking about it as such, it was just quite a natural part of me to do so. When I was around 19 years of age I started to write down the music that I was hearing inside my mind. At that point I had also got to know more and more contemporary music and to experience new textures and sounds in music and I found that really intriguing. I almost feel like I did not really decide as such to become a composer but that it was deeply quite a natural part of my life.

Why is nature for you such a important inspiration for your music?
I believe growing up close to nature, like I did in Iceland, has probably helped to fuel the natural inspiration in my music and the way that I approach the creative process. There are so many interesting elements to draw as an inspiration from nature, such as proportion and flow, textures and structures. For me it is not about romanticising the inspiration, and not about trying to portray nature through music - nature can be powerful and dramatic and also subtle and nuanced and everything in-between and that I also find very inspiring.

How did you get the idea for Catamorphosis?
When I was initially starting to work on this piece, I was very inspired by the powerful energy of the Berliner Philharmoniker and their virtuosity, which I find really captivating. As I was starting to work on the music, the inspiration of our fragile relationship to the earth became more and more important. It started to fuel the energy of the music, particularly the urgency and intensity that comes with the fact that if things do not change, it is going to be too late, risking destruction. The core of the music circles around a distinct sense of urgency and orbits a vortex of emotions, driven by the shift and pull between various opposing forces. It's a very personal piece and a very personal reflection and it's quite a dramatic piece but also full of hope.

Your music sounds atmospheric, meditative and at the same time powerful. How do you manage to unite these opposites?
In my music I work a lot with fundamental harmonies and harmonic structures combined with ethereal textural of often non-pitched materials. I spend a lot of time working on and finding a structure for each work and to generate a sense of flow in and out of focus and between various atmospheres in the music. Orchestration naturally plays a big role in striking the balance between the materials in the overall structure. When I have a clear idea about what the music is and where it is going, I work on the music from all perspectives, from the tiniest details in each instrument to the whole overall structure of a piece, and on combining these into a whole that flows naturally from beginning to the end.

What emotions do you want to generate with your music?
It is perhaps not possible to decide what emotions it should generate in others. I believe that some of the emotions felt when writing the music will perhaps communicate in one way or another through the music. In Catamorphosis, which is quite an emotional piece, the core emotions in the music are generated by the balance between various polar forces: power and fragility, hope and despair, preservation and destruction. But ultimately the core of the piece is about the relationship between urgency and hope.

»Komponieren ist mein Leben«

Im Interview: die Komponistin Anna Thorvaldsdóttir

Ihre Musik klingt wie aus einer anderen Welt: atmosphärisch, mysteriös, intensiv. Die Isländerin Anna Thorvaldsdóttir gilt wegen ihrer unverwechselbaren Klangsprache als eine der interessantesten Komponistinnen unserer Zeit. Nach der europäischen Erstaufführung ihres Orchesterwerks Metacosmos durch die Berliner Philharmoniker 2019 folgt nun die Weltpremiere von Catamorphosis, die unter der Leitung von Kirill Petrenko am 29. Januar als Live-Steam in der Digital Concert Hall übertragen wird. In unserem Interview verrät Anna Thorvaldsdóttir, warum sie Komponistin geworden ist, welche Rolle die Natur für sie spielt und welche Botschaft ihr neues Stück transportiert.

Was hat Sie dazu bewogen, Komponistin zu werden?
Als Kind kamen mir oft Lieder und Musik in den Sinn. Ich habe gar nicht viel darüber nachgedacht, es war einfach ein ganz natürlicher Teil von mir. Mit 19 Jahren fing ich an, die Musik aufzuschreiben, die ich in mir hörte. Gleichzeitig lernte ich auch immer mehr zeitgenössische Musik sowie neue Texturen und Klänge kennen. Das faszinierte mich. Ich glaube, ich habe mich nicht wirklich dazu entschieden, Komponistin zu werden. Komponieren gehört einfach zu meinem Leben.

Warum ist die Natur so eine wichtige Inspirationsquelle für Ihre Musik?
Ich bin in Island sehr naturnah aufgewachsen und das hat wahrscheinlich dazu beigetragen, dass mich die Natur in meinem kreativen Prozess nährt und fördert. Es gibt so viele interessante Elemente, die mich inspirieren: Proportionen und Flüsse, Texturen und Strukturen. Mir geht es in meiner Musik nicht um eine romantische Darstellung der Natur. Die Natur kann kraftvoll und dramatisch sein, aber auch subtil und nuancenreich. Es gibt so viele Zwischentöne. Diese finde ich sehr anregend.

Wie kam Ihnen die Idee zu Catamorphosis?
Am Anfang beeindruckte mich vor allem die kraftvolle Energie und Virtuosität der Berliner Philharmoniker. Im Verlauf der Arbeit wurde mir unsere fragile Beziehung zur Erde immer wichtiger. Vor allem die Erkenntnis, dass es zu spät sein wird, wenn sich die Dinge nicht ändern. Der Kern der Musik kreist um ein ausgeprägtes Gefühl der Dringlichkeit, einen Strudel von Emotionen, der durch das Hin- und Herzerren zwischen entgegengesetzten Kräften angetrieben wird. Es ist ein sehr persönliches Stück und eine sehr persönliche Reflexion, ziemlich dramatisch, aber auch voller Hoffnung.

Ihre Musik klingt sehr atmosphärisch und meditativ, aber gleichzeitig sehr kraftvoll. Wie vereinen Sie diese Gegensätze?
Ich arbeite viel mit elementaren harmonischen Strukturen, die ich mit ätherischen Klängen unbestimmter Tonhöhe verbinde. Ich verbringe viel Zeit damit, eine Struktur zu finden, bei der sich ein Gefühl des Fließens von der einen zur anderen Stimmung einstellt. Die Orchestrierung spielt natürlich eine große Rolle, um das Gleichgewicht zwischen den verschiedenen Elementen herzustellen. Sobald ich eine klare Vorstellung von dem Werk habe, gilt es, sämtliche Perspektiven zu berücksichtigen – vom kleinsten Detail bis zur Gesamtstruktur. Das Stück soll vom Anfang bis Ende fließen.

Welche Gefühle möchten Sie mit Ihrer Musik erzeugen?
Es ist gar nicht möglich zu entscheiden, welche Gefühle andere beim Hören meiner Musik haben sollen. Ich glaube jedoch, dass sich einige der Emotionen, die ich beim Komponieren empfunden habe, auf die eine oder andere Weise in der Musik widerspiegeln. Catamorphosis ist ein ziemlich emotionales Stück, dessen Kernaussage sich durch die Balance zwischen verschiedenen polaren Kräften ergibt: Macht und Zerbrechlichkeit, Hoffnung und Verzweiflung, Bewahrung und Zerstörung. Letztendlich geht es in diesem Stück um die Beziehung zwischen Dringlichkeit und Hoffnung.