Musikfest Berlin in the Digital Concert Hall

18 concerts from the festival streamed live and time-delayed

Musikfest Berlin makes a guest appearance in the Berliner Philharmoniker’s Digital Concert Hall. With the title “Musikfest Berlin digital”, 18 concerts of the festival will be broadcast live and time-delayed on the Berliner Philharmoniker’s video platform: the Beethoven cycle by Igor Levit, who will present all 32 of the composer’s piano sonatas; Bach’s complete solo suites with cellist Nicolas Altstaedt; and the Beethoven homages by jazz pianists Michael Wollny, Iiro Rantala and David Helbock. The other concerts feature encounters with major composers of our time: a work portrait of the composer and winner of the 2019 Ernst von Siemens Music Prize Rebecca Saunders, and the music and new works of Georges Aperghis, George Benjamin, Milica Djordjević, Enno Poppe and Wolfgang Rihm, performed by Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Klangforum Wien, Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart and the Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Free broadcasts

With the joint initiative “Musikfest Berlin digital”, the Berliner Festspiele and the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation want as many people as possible to have the opportunity – despite the limited space available due to the corona pandemic – to experience the events of Musikfest Berlin: live or time-delayed from the main auditorium of the Philharmonie. As a result, access to the concerts in the Digital Concert Hall and on “Musikfest Berlin on Demand” is free of charge. As the streamed concerts are available for 72 hours after, the offer can be accessed across all time zones and international attention can be drawn to the new start of musical life in the Philharmonie Berlin under the conditions of the Covid 19 pandemic.

By the way: in addition to “Musikfest Berlin digital”, the concerts of the Berliner Philharmoniker at Musikfest Berlin will be broadcast live in the Digital Concert Hall as every year. Chief conductor Kirill Petrenko conducts works by Berg and Dvořák with violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann as soloist, and Daniel Harding can be heard with works by Berg and Beethoven.

Musikfest Berlin in der Digital Concert Hall

18 Konzerte des Festivals live und zeitversetzt gestreamt

Das Musikfest Berlin zu Gast in der Digital Concert Hall der Berliner Philharmoniker. Unter dem Motto »Musikfest Berlin digital« werden 18 Konzerte des Festivals live und zeitversetzt auf der Videoplattform der Berliner Philharmoniker übertragen: der Beethoven-Zyklus von Igor Levit, der sämtliche 32 Klaviersonaten des Komponisten interpretiert, Bachs sämtliche Solo-Suiten mit Cellist Nicolas Altstaedt sowie die Beethoven-Hommagen der Jazz-Pianisten Michael Wollny, Iiro Rantala und David Helbock. Die weiteren Konzerte ermöglichen Begegnungen mit den bedeutenden Komponistinnen und Komponisten unserer Zeit: mit einem Werkporträt der Komponistin und Trägerin des Ernst von Siemens Musikpreises 2019 Rebecca Saunders, mit der Musik und neuen Werken von Georges Aperghis, George Benjamin, Milica Djordjević, Enno Poppe und Wolfgang Rihm, interpretiert vom Ensemble Modern, dem Ensemble Musikfabrik, dem Klangforum Wien, den Neuen Vocalsolisten Stuttgart und der Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker.

Kostenlose Übertragungen

Mit der gemeinsamen Initiative »Musikfest Berlin digital« möchten die Berliner Festspiele und die Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker möglichst vielen Menschen – trotz des wegen der Corona-Pandemie beschränkten Platzangebotes – die Gelegenheit bieten, die Veranstaltungen des Musikfest Berlins mitzuerleben: live oder zeitversetzt aus dem Großen Saal der Philharmonie. Der Zugang zu den Konzerten in der Digital Concert Hall und auf »Musikfest Berlin on Demand« ist deshalb kostenfrei. Da die gestreamten Konzerte später noch 72 Stunden zur Verfügung stehen, kann das Angebot über alle Zeitzonen hinweg wahrgenommen werden und international auf den Neustart des Berliner Musiklebens in der Philharmonie unter den Bedingungen der Covid-19-Pandemie aufmerksam gemacht werden.

Übrigens: Zusätzlich zum »Musikfest Berlin digital« werden in der Digital Concert Hall wie jedes Jahr die Konzerte der Berliner Philharmoniker beim Musikfest Berlin live übertragen. Chefdirigent Kirill Petrenko dirigiert Werke von Berg und Dvořák mit dem Geiger Frank Peter Zimmermann als Solist, und Daniel Harding ist mit Werken von Berg und Beethoven zu erleben.