Annual ICMA prize for Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings

Awards for the orchestraʼs own label in two categories

Edition: Kirill Petrenko

Two awards for the Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings: this year the jury of the ICMA - International Classical Music Awards has presented two annual prizes to the orchestraʼs own label. In the Special Awards category, it received the annual prize as Label of the Year. In the Audio Awards, the annual prize in the Symphonic Music category goes to the recently released multimedia edition “Beethoven - Tchaikovsky - Schmidt - Stephan” with recordings documenting the beginning of the collaboration between the Berliner Philharmoniker and their chief conductor Kirill Petrenko.

“Wonderful affirmation"

“We are delighted about the two awards from the International Classical Music Awards”, says Olaf Maninger, principal cellist, media representative and manager of Berlin Phil Media. “The Label of the Year Award is a wonderful affirmation of our commitment to presenting great music in high-quality, thrilling editions. It is also a particular pleasure for us to receive the annual award in the Symphonic Music category for the first component of our discography with our chief conductor Kirill Petrenko. Here we document important programme lines from the beginning of our partnership: music of the Classical-Romantic core repertoire, Russian music, and unjustly forgotten works. At the same time, we believe that these performances make it possible to experience the special intensity of this collaboration, which is so gratifying for us. We sincerely thank the jury for their vote.”

The International Classical Music Awards have been presented since 2011 by a jury consisting of the editors-in-chief of major specialist media and institutions throughout Europe. The awards will be presented on 27 June 2021 at a ceremony followed by a gala concert with selected prize-winners.


Statements of the jury

“Label of the Year”: Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings
“Focussing on large cycles, Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings are distinguished by their sophisticated presentation in luxurious boxes with audio recordings in high-resolution quality and, often, also video recordings. They come with exhaustive documentation about the recordings, the performers and the music, making each release a desirable collector’s item.”

Annual prize in the Symphonic Music category:
Beethoven - Tchaikovsky - Schmidt - Stephan
Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings BPHR20035
“In a phenomenal performance of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, Kirill Petrenko fights, so to speak, for every note, for every phrase, illuminating the work completely. The Ninth pulsates with incredibly sonorous rhetoric, the apotheosis being a twenty-one-and-a-half-minute long state of happiness and joy. Petrenko’s account of Franz Schmidt’s Fourth is very emotional and gripping, and that of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth is dramatic and expressive. Rudi Stephan’s grandiose Music for Orchestra is intense, spirited and colourful, yet equally imbued with refined transparency.”

Jahrespreise der ICMA für Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings

Auszeichnungen des orchestereigenen Labels in zwei Kategorien

Zum Reinhören: die Petrenko-Edition

Zwei Auszeichnungen für die Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings: Die Jury der ICMA – International Classical Music Awards vergibt in diesem Jahr gleich zwei Jahrespreise an das orchestereigene Label. So erhält es im Rahmen der »Special Awards« den Jahrespreis als »Label of the Year«. Im Rahmen der »Audio Awards« geht der Jahrespreis in der Kategorie »Symphonic Music« an die zuletzt erschienene Multimedia-Edition »Kirill Petrenko und die Berliner Philharmoniker: Beginn einer Partnerschaft« mit Werken von Ludwig von Beethoven, Peter Tschaikowsky, Franz Schmidt und Rudi Stephan.

»Wunderbare Bestätigung«

»Über die beiden Auszeichnungen der International Classical Music Awards freuen wir uns sehr«, meint Olaf Maninger, Solocellist, Medienvorstand und Geschäftsführer der Berlin Phil Media. »Der Preis als Label of the Year ist eine wunderbare Bestätigung für unser Anliegen, große Musik in hochwertigen, begeisternden Editionen zu präsentieren. Eine besondere Freude ist für uns auch der Jahrespreis in der Kategorie ›Symphonic Music‹ für den ersten Baustein unserer Diskographie mit unserem Chefdirigenten Kirill Petrenko. Hier dokumentieren wir wichtige Programmlinien vom Beginn unserer Partnerschaft: Musik des klassisch-romantischen Kernrepertoires, russische Musik, zu Unrecht vergessene Werke. Zugleich glauben wir, dass diese Interpretationen die außergewöhnliche, für uns so beglückende Intensität dieser Zusammenarbeit erlebbar machen. Wir danken der Jury herzlich für ihr Votum.«

Die International Classical Music Awards werden seit 2011 von einer Jury vergeben, die aus  aus den Chefredakteuren wichtiger Fachmedien und Institutionen in ganz Europa besteht. Die Verleihung der Preise findet am 27. Juni 2021 in einer Award Ceremony mit anschließendem Gala-Konzert mit ausgewählten Preisträgern statt.


Begründungen der Jury

»Label of the Year«: Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings
»In ihrem Fokus auf große Zyklen zeichnen sich die Veröffentlichungen von Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings durch eine raffinierte Präsentation in luxuriösen Boxen mit hochauflösenden Audioaufnahmen und häufig auch Videoaufnahmen aus. Sie enthalten stets ausführliche Dokumentationen über die Aufnahmen, die Interpreten und die Musik, was jede Veröffentlichung zu einem begehrenswerten Sammlerstück werden lässt.«

Jahrespreis in der Kategorie »Symphonic Music«:
Beethoven · Tschaikowsky · Schmidt · Stephan
Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings BPHR20035
»In einer phänomenalen Aufführung von Ludwig van Beethovens Siebter Symphonie kämpft Kirill Petrenko förmlich für jede Note, für jede Phrase, um das Werk vollständig zu beleuchten. Die Neunte pulsiert mit unglaublich klangvoller Rhetorik, wobei die Apotheose ein einundzwanzigeinhalb Minuten langer Zustand des Glücks und der Freude ist. Petrenkos Interpretation Franz Schmidts Vierter ist sehr emotional und packend, die Tschaikowskys Fünfter dramatisch und ausdrucksstark. Rudi Stephans grandiose Musik für Orchester ist intensiv, temperamentvoll und farbenfroh, und gleichzeitig von raffinierter Transparenz.«