“That piece comes straight from Mozart’s heart”

Pianist Francesco Piemontesi in conversation

Francesco Piemontesi
(Photo: Marco Borggreve)

The Swiss pianist Francesco Piemontesi played himself to the top of the world with his sophisticated, subtle and colourful performances. He is considered an outstanding Mozart interpreter and he is now making his debut as such with the Berliner Philharmoniker – together with conductor Lahav Shani, principal conductor of the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and, as of this season, music director of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, succeeding Zubin Mehta. In our interview, Francesco Piemontesi reveals what inspires him as a musician, what he loves about his instrument, and what this debut means to him.

Can you remember the event or the moment when you decided to become a professional musician?
Such an event never happened in my life. But one of my earliest childhood memories is a walk with my parents. Suddenly church bells started ringing and I started to cry. My parents thought the loud sound scared me and pulled me away, but I just cried harder. I liked the sound of the bell so much and was so fascinated that I immediately sat down at the piano at home to imitate it. The interest in recreating a sound drives me to this day. That’s why I became a musician.

And you chose the piano as your instrument. What do you love most about it?
I am fascinated by the tonal range of the instrument. So much is possible on it: a wide dynamic range, different timbres and very different types of touch, from delicate and sensitive to hard and brutal. In terms of its expressive possibilities, the piano comes very close to the orchestra.

Where do you get inspiration from for your artistic work?
I love listening to historical recordings where the great composers themselves sit at the piano: Brahms, Debussy, Bartók... I also love the recordings of Edwin Fischer, Wilhelm Kempff and Alfred Cortot. What I admire about them is a style of music-making in which, despite respect for the musical score, one feels a great artistic freedom.

One of the great pianists of our time became your mentor and teacher: Alfred Brendel. What did he give you?
We immediately understood each other both on a personal and artistic level. We are united by an interest in the finer things in life such as good food and fine wine, but also by an obsession with sound. He has broadened my horizons enormously. With his help, I learned a completely different way of listening. He encouraged me to think more orchestrally on the piano: for example, he said, “When you hear this phrase, imagine that you are a cello...”. That was very helpful.

In 2015, you made your debut at Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation events with a piano recital. Now, for the first time, you will be a guest soloist with the orchestra, performing Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s last piano concerto. What is the challenge of the piece for you?
Although it is Mozart’s last piano concerto, one should not mythologise it. Because I believe that when Mozart composed it, he did not think that it would be the last work of its kind. Nevertheless, it is a thoughtful, melancholy piece that comes straight from Mozart’s heart. I want to convey this idea to the audience. The piece must be very song-like, intimate and transparent.

What are you most looking forward to about your debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker?
I have known and loved the recordings of the Berliner Philharmoniker since my childhood. For myself to perform with this great orchestra now makes me very happy. Here I have the best conditions for the performance of the Mozart concerto. And I am very, very grateful to be able to perform with the Philharmoniker in these difficult times.
 

The conductor Lahav Shani is making his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker – together with Francesco Piemontesi
(Photo: Marco Borggreve)

»Ein Konzert, das Mozart aus dem Herzen spricht«

Der Pianist Francesco Piemontesi im Gespräch

Francesco Piemontesi
(Foto: Marco Borggreve)

Mit seiner kultivierten, feinsinnigen und farbenreichen Interpretationskunst spielte sich der Schweizer Pianist Francesco Piemontesi an die Weltspitze. Er gilt als herausragender Mozart-Interpret und als solcher gibt er nun sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern – zusammen mit dem Dirigenten Lahav Shani, Chefdirigent des Philharmonischen Orchesters Rotterdam und seit dieser Saison als Nachfolger von Zubin Mehta Musikdirektor des Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. In unserem Interview verrät Francesco Piemontesi, was ihn als Musiker inspiriert, was er an seinem Instrument liebt und was ihm dieses Debüt bedeutet.

Können Sie sich an das Ereignis oder den Moment erinnern, an dem Sie sich entschieden, professioneller Musiker zu werden?


Einen bestimmten Moment oder eine bewusste Entscheidung gab es nicht. Aber eine meiner frühesten Kindheitserinnerungen ist ein Spaziergang mit meinen Eltern. Plötzlich begannen Kirchenglocken zu läuten und ich fing an zu weinen. Meine Eltern dachten, mich erschrecke der laute Ton und wollten mir die Ohren zuhalten. Aber das wollte ich garnicht, im Gegenteil, mich hat dieser Klang einfach erschüttert. Später habe ich am Klavier immer wieder versucht, Glockenklänge zu imitieren. Das Interesse, einem Klang nachzuspüren, treibt mich bis heute an. Deswegen bin ich Musiker geworden.

Und Sie haben sich das Klavier als Ihr Instrument ausgewählt. Was lieben Sie an ihm am meisten?

Auf keinem anderen Instrument kann ich als einzelner Mensch Musik so umfassend darstellen wie auf dem Klavier. Hinsichtlich seiner Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten kommt das Klavier dem Orchester schon sehr nahe. Auf ihm ist so viel möglich: eine große dynamische Bandbreite, verschiedene Klangfarben und ganz unterschiedliche Anschlagsarten, von fein und sensibel bis hart und brutal.

Woher nehmen sie die Inspirationen für ihre künstlerische Arbeit?
Ich höre sehr gerne historische Aufnahmen, auf denen die großen Komponisten selbst am Klavier sitzen: Brahms, Debussy, Bartók… Außerdem liebe ich die Einspielungen von Edwin Fischer, Wilhelm Kempff oder Alfred Cortot. An ihnen bewundere ich einen Musizierstil, bei dem man trotz Respekt für den Notentext eine große künstlerische Freiheit spürt.

Einer der großen Pianisten unserer Zeit wurde Ihr Mentor und Lehrer: Alfred Brendel. Was hat er Ihnen mitgegeben?
Wir haben uns menschlich und künstlerisch sofort verstanden. Er hat meinen Horizont enorm erweitert, und durch ihn lernte ich nochmal eine ganz andere Art des Hörens. Er ermunterte mich, auf dem Klavier orchestraler zu denken: »Stell Dir bei dieser Phrase vor, du wärest ein Cellist«, sagte er beispielsweise.

2015 debütierte Sie mit einem Klavierabend in den Veranstaltungen der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker, nun sind Sie erstmals als Solist beim Orchester zu Gast und interpretieren das letzte Klavierkonzert von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Worin liegt für Sie die Herausforderung des Stücks?
Es ist zwar das letzte Klavierkonzert Mozarts, aber man sollte daraus keinen Mythos machen. Ich denke nicht, dass Mozart beim Komponieren seinen Tod vorausgeahnt hat. Gleichwohl ist es ein nachdenkliches, melancholisches Stück, bei dem Mozart direkt aus dem Herzen zu sprechen scheint. Diese Idee möchte ich dem Publikum vermitteln. Das Stück muss sehr gesanglich, intim und transparent gestaltet werden.

Worauf freuen Sie sich bei Ihrem Debüt mit den Berliner Philharmonikern am meisten?
Ich kenne und liebe die Aufnahmen der Berliner Philharmoniker seit meiner Kindheit. Nun selbst mit diesem Orchester aufzutreten, ist natürlich etwas sehr Besonderes. Ich habe hier die besten Bedingungen für die Interpretation des Mozart-Konzerts. Und ich bin sehr dankbar und freue mich, in diesen schwierigen Zeiten überhaupt wieder konzertieren zu dürfen.

Der Dirigent Lahav Shani debütiert zusammen mit Francesco Piemontesi bei den Berliner Philharmonikern
(Foto: Marco Borggreve)