The sounds of flute and woodwinds

Our online concerts in the Digital Concert Hall

The concert halls are closed, but you can bring the Berliner Philharmoniker and their music into your home – with the Digital Concert Hall. On 22 November, the brass and percussion sections of the Berliner Philharmoniker take a musical journey around the world under the direction of Thomas Guggeis. It begins in the USA with works by Aaron Copland and Joan Tower and continues on to Asia, France and Russia. In addition to Wen-Chung Chu’s composition Soliloquy of a Bhiksuni, which is based on the meditation of a Chinese nun, the programme includes Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition in an arrangement by Elgar Howarth, and André Jolivet’s Suite en concert for flute and four percussionists. The soloist will be the Philharmoniker’s principal flute, Emmanuel Pahud.

Emmanuel Pahud returns as early as 28 November, when the musician takes on the solo part in Jacques Ibert’s extremely virtuosic flute concerto and Ferruccio Busoni’s Divertimento for flute and orchestra. This performance will take place live under the direction of Daniel Barenboim, who will present Hector Berlioz’ Symphonie fantastique with the orchestra, a colourful musical representation of an intense, Romantic love story. A recording of the live stream will be repeated on 29 November.

New in the archive: Kirill Petrenko, Daniel Barenboim and the Carnival of the Animals

The Digital Concert Hall also features more than 600 Berliner Philharmoniker concerts from more than five decades, plus documentaries about the history of the orchestra, portraits of conductors and orchestra members, and projects from our education programme. The last performances in front of an audience are now also available in the archive: these include the concert in which – after performances of Norman’s Sabina, Strauss’ Metamorphosen and Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony – Kirill Petrenko and the Berliner Philharmoniker presented John Cage’s piece 4′33″, which consists entirely of silence as an illustration of the current cultural standstill, as well as Daniel Barenboim’s performance of the orchestral cycle Má vlast, with which Bedřich Smetana created a poetic musical monument to his Czech homeland. The first family concert of the season is available free of charge, featuring Maurice Ravel’s Ma Mère l’Oye and Camille Saint-Saëns’ Carnival of the Animals which transport the listener into enchanting fairytale and animal worlds. The participants feature the pianist brothers Lucas and Arthur Jussen, plus the actress Nina Hoss with texts by the legendary German comedian Loriot. The members of the Karajan Academy are conducted by Nodoka Okisawa, scholarship holder of the Academy’s new “Siemens Conductors Scholarship”.

 

Daniel Barenboim
(Photo: Peter Adamik)
Emmanuel Pahud
(Photo: Sebastian Hänel)

Video

Flötentöne und Bläserklänge

Unsere Online-Konzerte in der Digital Concert Hall

Die Konzerthäuser sind geschlossen, doch Sie können die Berliner Philharmoniker und ihre Musik zu sich nach Hause holen – mit der Digital Concert Hall: Am 22. November unternehmen die Blechbläser und die Schlagzeuggruppe der Berliner Philharmoniker unter der Leitung von Thomas Guggeis eine musikalische Reise rund um die Welt. Sie beginnt mit Werken von Aaron Copland und Joan Tower in den USA, führt weiter nach Asien, Frankreich und Russland. Dabei erklingen neben Wen-Chung Chous Komposition Soliloquy of a Bhiksuni, die die Meditation einer chinesischen Nonne nachempfindet, Modest Mussorgskys Bilder einer Ausstellung in der Bearbeitung von Elgar Howarth und André Jolivets Suite en concert für Flöte und vier Schlagzeuger. Solist ist der philharmonische Soloflötist Emmanuel Pahud.

Schon am 28. November gibt es eine Wiederbegegnung mit Emmanuel Pahud, wenn der Musiker den Solopart von Jacques Iberts hochvirtuosem Flötenkonzert und Ferruccio Busonis Divertimento für Flöte und Orchester spielt. Diese Aufführung findet live unter der Leitung von Daniel Barenboim statt, der mit dem Orchester noch Hector Berlioz’ Symphonie fantastique interpretiert, jene klangfarbenprächtige musikalische Darstellung einer exaltierten romantischen Liebesgeschichte. Die Aufzeichnung des Live-Streams wird am 29. November wiederholt.

Neu im Archiv: Kirill Petrenko, Daniel Barenboim und der Karneval der Tiere

Die Digital Concert Hall bietet darüber hinaus über 600 Orchesterkonzerte der Berliner Philharmoniker aus mehr als fünf Jahrzehnten, außerdem Dokumentarfilme über die Geschichte des Orchesters, Porträts von Dirigenten und Orchestermitgliedern sowie Projekte unseres Education-Programms. Auch die letzten Aufführungen vor Publikum sind mittlerweile im Archiv abrufbar: So auch das Konzert, in dem Kirill Petrenko und die Berliner Philharmoniker nach der Darbietung von Normans Sabina, Strauss’ Metamorphosen und Schostakowitschs Neunte Symphonie als Illustration des derzeitigen kulturellen Verstummens John Cages Stück 4′33, das ganz aus Schweigen besteht, präsentierten, sowie Daniel Barenboims Interpretation des Orchesterzyklus Má vlast (Mein Vaterland), in dem Bedřich Smetana seiner tschechischen Heimat ein poetisches musikalisches Denkmal setzt. Das erste Familienkonzert der Saison, das mit Maurice Ravels Ma Mère l’Oye und dem Karneval der Tiere von Camille Saint-Saëns in bezaubernde Märchen- und Tierwelten entführt, steht dort kostenlos zur Verfügung. Zu erleben sind die Pianisten-Brüder Lucas und Arthur Jussen sowie die Schauspielerin Nina Hoss mit Texten von Loriot. Die Mitglieder der Karajan-Akademie werden von Nodoka Okisawa dirigiert, Stipendiatin des neuen »Siemens Conductors Scholarship« der Akademie.

Daniel Barenboim
(Foto: Peter Adamik)
Emmanuel Pahud
(Foto: Sebastian Hänel)

Zum Reinhören