Musical bridge builders

Israel’s guest appearance at “Tel Aviv – Berlin” weekend

Video: Avi Avital on the “Tel Aviv – Berlin” weekend and the programme of his concert

Miles of sandy beaches, wild party nights, modern skyscrapers, distinctive Bauhaus architecture: Tel Aviv has much to offer in terms of quality of life and culture. Israel's second largest metropolis will also host the European Concert of the Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of Kirill Petrenko in May. Before that, there will be an encounter with Israel’s creative music scene in the Chamber Music Hall of the Philharmonie Berlin: at the Tel Aviv – Berlin weekend. Two evenings offer the opportunity to get to know very different musical facets of the country.

Young, avant-garde and creative

The first evening is dedicated to New Music: Ilan Volkov and the Israel Contemporary Players, a chamber music ensemble dedicated to the country’s contemporary music, introduce leading composers of the Israeli avant-garde: in his works, Samir Odeh-Tamimi fuses the styles of the Western European avant-garde with Arab musical practice. The two works by Chaya Czernowin also promise to be an exciting listening experience: Black Flowers for electric guitar and the ensemble piece Ayre: Towed, in which “repeated [...] material seems to be dragged on different surfaces” (Czernowin). Israel’s young generation of composers is also represented in this programme: in his compositions, Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari blurs the boundaries between notation and improvisation, combining music and space to create an impressive sound experience. Avshalom Ariel, Adam Maor, Ohad Fishof and Nico Teen also belong to Israel’s young musical avant-garde and show in their works their joy in musical experimentation.

Classical, jazz and folk

On the second evening Avi Avital, the Shalosh Trio and the Omer Klein Trio will take their audience into completely different musical worlds: “This concert is different from any other,” promises Avi Avital. For his appearance in the Chamber Music Hall, the Israeli mandolin superstar has brought along his favourite programme Between Worlds, in which he, together with the accordionist Ksenija Sidorova and the percussionist Itamar Doari, has achieved a happy synthesis of classical and folk music. In addition, the innovative trio around the Israeli pianist Omer Klein will present their programme Radio Mediteran: cosmopolitan jazz that makes audible how the different cultures of the Mediterranean region have positively influenced each other. Another stylistic facet is added to the programme by the Shalosh Trio, who present titles from their latest album Onwards and Upwards. Elements of rock, pop and jazz are combined here with moves from electronic music and the timbres of Middle Eastern music. The result: an extremely contemporary, modern jazz piano trio. The trio, founded in Tel Aviv and now enjoying great success in Germany, proves, as do the other artists of the evening, how rewarding it is to build bridges between different cultures.

Composers

Chaya Czernowin
(Photo: Astrid Ackermann)
Samir Odeh-Tamimi
(Photo: Astrid Ackermann)

Artists

Omer Klein Trio
(Photo: Peter Hönemann)
Shalosh Trio
(Photo: Zohar Ron)
Yaron Deutsch
(Photo: IMD)

Concerts

Friday,

13 Mar 2020,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music

Fri, 13 Mar 2020, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Weekend Tel Aviv – Berlin

Israel Contemporary Players

Ilan Volkov conductor

Saar Berger french horn

Yaron Deutsch guitar

Ohad Fishof Vocals

Nico Teen Vocals

read more

Saturday,

14 Mar 2020,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music

Sat, 14 Mar 2020, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Weekend Tel Aviv – Berlin

Omer Klein Trio

Shalosh Trio

Avi Avital mandolin

Ksenija Sidorova accordion

Itamar Doari percussion

read more

Musikalische Brückenbauer

Israel zu Gast beim Wochenende »Tel Aviv – Berlin«

Video: Avi Avital über das Wochenende »Tel Aviv – Berlin« und das Programm seines Konzerts

Kilometerlange Sandstrände, wilde Partynächte, moderne Wolkenkratzer, klare Bauhaus-Architektur: Tel Aviv hat viel an Lebensqualität und Kultur zu bieten. Die zweitgrößte Metropole Israels ist zudem im Mai Gastgeber für das Europakonzert der Berliner Philharmoniker unter der Leitung von Kirill Petrenko. Zuvor gibt es im Kammermusiksaal der Philharmonie Berlin bereits eine Begegnung mit der kreativen Musikszene Israels: beim Wochenende Tel Aviv – Berlin. An zwei Abenden bietet sich die Gelegenheit, ganz verschiedene musikalische Facetten des Landes kennenzulernen

Jung, avantgardistisch, kreativ

Am ersten Abend geht es um Neue Musik: Ilan Volkov und die Israel Contemporary Players, ein Kammermusikensemble, das sich dem zeitgenössischen Musikschaffen des Landes widmet, stellen führende Komponistinnen und Komponisten der israelischen Avantgarde vor: Samir Odeh-Tamimi verschmilzt in seinen Werken die Stile der westeuropäischen Avantgarde mit arabischer Musikpraxis. Ein spannendes Hörerlebnis versprechen auch die beiden Werke von Chaya Czernowin zu werden: Black Flowers für E-Gitarre sowie das Ensemblestück Ayre: Towed, in dem »repetiertes […] Material auf unterschiedliche Oberflächen gezogen zu werden scheint« (Czernowin). Die junge Komponistengeneration Israels ist in diesem Programm ebenfalls vertreten: Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari verwischt in seinen Kompositionen die Grenzen von Notation und Improvisation, verbindet Musik und Raum zu einem eindrücklichen Klangerlebnis. Avshalom Ariel, Adam Maor, Ohad Fishof und Nico Teen gehören ebenfalls zur jungen musikalischen Avantgarde Israels und zeigen in ihren Werken ihre Freude am musikalischen Experiment.

Klassik, Jazz, Folklore

Am zweiten Abend entführen Avi Avital, das Shalosh Trio und das Omer Klein Trio ihr Publikum in ganz andere musikalische Welten: »Dieses Konzert unterscheidet sich von jedem anderen «, verspricht Avi Avital. Der israelische Superstar an der Mandoline hat für seinen Auftritt im Kammermusiksaal sein Lieblingsprogramm Between Worlds mitgebracht, in dem ihm gemeinsam mit der Akkordeonistin Ksenija Sidorova und dem Percussionisten Itamar Doari eine glückliche Synthese aus Klassik und Folklore gelungen ist. Das innovative Trio um den israelischen Pianisten Omer Klein stellt zudem sein Programm Radio Mediteran vor: weltoffenen Jazz, der hörbar macht, wie sich die verschiedenen Kulturen des Mittelmeerraums gegenseitig positiv beeinflusst haben. Eine weitere stilistische Facette kommt durch das Shalosh Trio ins Programm, das Titel aus seinem neuesten Album Onwards and Upwards präsentiert. Elemente von Rock, Pop und Jazz verbinden sich hier mit Moves elektronischer Musik und den Klangfarben nahöstlicher Musik. Das Ergebnis: ein äußerst zeitgemäßer, moderner Klaviertriojazz. Das Trio, in Tel Aviv gegründet und mittlerweile in Deutschland sehr erfolgreich unterwegs, beweist ebenso wie die anderen Künstler des Abends, wie lohnend der Brückenschlag zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen ist.

Komponistinnen und Komponisten

Chaya Czernowin
(Foto: Astrid Ackermann)
Samir Odeh-Tamimi
(Foto: Astrid Ackermann)

Mitwirkende

Omer Klein Trio
(Foto: Peter Hönemann)
Shalosh Trio
(Foto: Zohar Ron)
Yaron Deutsch
(Foto: IMD)

Konzerte

Freitag,

13. Mär 2020,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik

Fr, 13. Mär 2020, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Wochenende Tel Aviv – Berlin

Israel Contemporary Players

Ilan Volkov Dirigent

Saar Berger Horn

Yaron Deutsch Gitarre

Ohad Fishof Vocals

Nico Teen Vocals

mehr lesen

Samstag,

14. Mär 2020,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik

Sa, 14. Mär 2020, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Wochenende Tel Aviv – Berlin

Omer Klein Trio

Shalosh Trio

Avi Avital Mandoline

Ksenija Sidorova Akkordeon

Itamar Doari Percussion

mehr lesen