Strong women

Kirill Petrenko conducts Puccini’s “Suor Angelica” – Faith to Face / by Malte Krasting

In the video: impressions and comments from the rehearsals


In the Augustinian convent of Vicopelago, just to the south-west of Lucca, there is a knock at the gate. Sister Giulia Enrichetta, the Mother Superior, admits a man of almost 60 years. She can answer for this exception to the rule: it is her younger brother. Most of the nuns have already gathered in the hall, where a piano is also at hand. The visitor is not unknown to them. In the past months he was occasionally a guest for a few days, but they did not know what he had in mind during these visits. The secret is now revealed: he has just finished an opera which he now wants to play to them. His name is Giacomo Puccini.

Problem child

Puccini is nervous. His piece depicts convent life in some detail and everyday transgressions, but above all it is about a grave sin – an illegitimate child born into a noble family. Would the devout women be offended if one of them, in a manner of speaking, were to be portrayed in this way? Puccini then sings and accompanies himself on the piano, taking on every role in this all-female opera, and hopes for a favourable reception. As the last notes of the redemptive angelic choir fade away, he turns around and looks into tear-filled eyes.

Doubts about the world

But what does perhaps the most famous opera composer of his time want in a Tuscan convent in 1917 in the middle of the First World War? This looks of course a bit like escapism. And escape is a recurring motif in his life: he sought refuge from his long-term relationship with Elvira in affairs, and found distractions from work in duck hunting, motorboats and cars. Puccini not only found himself between two stools politically, but was also aesthetically isolated from European art movements. This is the background against which Suor Angelica was created. The piece, barely an hour long, was part of a long-cherished project: a musical-theatrical triptych of three related but contrasting one act operas – with plots that, in keeping with their type, do not require long introductions, but instead rapidly bring the key moment of conflict-laden situations to the stage.

Centrepiece of a musical triptych

While Il tabarro (about adultery and jealousy-driven murder) and Gianni Schicchi (about a greedy family and a cunning legacy hunter) were well received from the start, the opera about the young nun had the hardest time and was often left out of performances. This hurt Puccini: “It really makes me unhappy to see the best of the three operas put aside,” he confessed at the beginning of 1921, so a close examination of this very work is more than justified, especially since some of its qualities criticized early on are in fact its strengths. The detailed exposition of the various characters, for example, which, like a puzzle, provides information bit by bit about the main conflict towards which the plot is heading. Puccini subtly builds up tension while the audience gradually gather clues about Angelica’s fate based on the few insights her fellow sisters have about her, revealing the web of relationships in which petty slights are exchanged under the guise of piety, and hurt feelings and hopes burst forth between prayers and songs – until events come to a head with the meeting of Angelica and her aunt: a monumental exchange of blows between two strong women, and one of the great duels of the operatic repertoire which need not fear comparison with Verdi’s Grand Inquisitor scene from Don Carlos.

Music education with a “highly topical story”

The importance that Kirill Petrenko attaches to passing on and conveying music to younger generations – both to budding musicians and to young audiences – was already expressed when he took office. He wants to continue the Berliner Philharmoniker’s activities in this field “with undiminished commitment” and set his own priorities. “Above all, I would like to pass on my love of music theatre and show what incredible expressive possibilities this art has to offer, especially for young people,” he said at the start of the season. He deliberately chose Puccini’s Suor Angelica: a lesser-known opera by a major composer, small in scale but with many small, sharply profiled parts, also suitable for young voices – but above all because it contains a burning issue: “It is about a young woman fighting for her very humanity in an inhuman environment: a touching, highly topical story with wonderful music.” Composer and pianist Matan Porat will introduce the opera with a prologue developed together with the singers and interrupt the scenes – already arranged by Puccini almost like chapters of a narrative – with short musical interventions: as scenic comments by the performers on the plot.

Escape from the world and the fight for survival

This concerns a further aspect of this production which is of importance to Kirill Petrenko: he was looking for an artistic personality who, together with the young singers, would research contemporary aspects of this opera and bring them to the stage in an imaginative and expressive way. This is what director Nicola Hümpel, widely known for her ensemble Nico and the Navigators, stands for. One starting point for the directorial concept is the perceived distance between modern young women and the characters in Puccini’s opera: why, one might ask, do the nuns not revolt against the injustices of their society, but rather admonish each other when rules are broken? Why do they deny themselves even the most harmless desires and do not allow each other the slightest transgression? But at second glance, such behaviour is perhaps less strange to us than it appears: many modern city dwellers prefer to focus on their own spiritual development rather than on political and social change. But retreating into individual self-discovery is no solution to the great problems facing humanity.

“Poetry, rich lyricism, varied scenes, little things, others less little, but always with human feeling”, these are – as he wrote to Carlo Clausetti on 10 July 1911 – Puccini’s ideas of good operatic material. In Suor Angelica, he examines how the little things are connected with the big, and the performance with the young, talented performers in the Karajan Academy and the Berliner Philharmoniker’s education programme also seeks to trace the effects of the little things on the less little.

The author is a dramaturge at Bayerische Staatsoper and has worked with Kirill Petrenko for many years. This text is the abridged version of an article for the magazine 128 (volume December 2019). Copies of the issue (in German) are available in our online shop and in the Philharmonie shop.


Michael Trippel

Performances

Saturday,

01 Feb 2020,
19:00

Philharmonie

Education

Sat, 01 Feb 2020, 19:00
Philharmonie

Puccini’s Suor Angelica “Faith to Face”

Scholars of the Karajan Academy

Female Vocal Soloists and Students from Berlin Music Academies

Choir of the Vocal Heroes Choral Programme

Nico and the Navigators

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Nicola Hümpel direction and costumes

Oliver Proske stage conception and video technology

Ann Toomey soprano

Katarina Dalayman soprano

Daniela Vega mezzo-soprano

Fleur Barron mezzo-soprano

Sarah Laulan contralto

Aurora Marthens soprano

Qing Wang soprano

Aphrodite Patoulidou soprano

Alessia Schumacher soprano

Ekaterina Bazhanova mezzo-soprano

Yeo-Jung Ha soprano

Bernadeta Astari soprano

Yui Kawaguchi choreography

Matan Porat piano and composition of prologue

Giacomo Puccini Suor Angelica

read more watch online

Sunday,

02 Feb 2020,
16:00

Philharmonie

Education

Sun, 02 Feb 2020, 16:00
Philharmonie

Puccini’s Suor Angelica “Faith to Face”

Scholars of the Karajan Academy

Female Vocal Soloists and Students from Berlin Music Academies

Choir of the Vocal Heroes Choral Programme

Nico and the Navigators

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Nicola Hümpel direction and costumes

Oliver Proske stage conception and video technology

Ann Toomey soprano

Katarina Dalayman soprano

Daniela Vega mezzo-soprano

Fleur Barron mezzo-soprano

Sarah Laulan contralto

Aurora Marthens soprano

Qing Wang soprano

Aphrodite Patoulidou soprano

Alessia Schumacher soprano

Ekaterina Bazhanova mezzo-soprano

Yeo-Jung Ha soprano

Bernadeta Astari soprano

Yui Kawaguchi choreography

Matan Porat piano and composition of prologue

Giacomo Puccini Suor Angelica

read more

Starke Frauen

Kirill Petrenko dirigiert Puccinis »Suor Angelica« – Faith to Face / Von Malte Krasting

Im Video: Impressionen und Statements aus der Probenarbeit


Im Augustinerkloster von Vicopelago, knapp außerhalb von Lucca in südwestlicher Richtung, klopft es an der Pforte. Suor Giulia Enrichetta, die Oberin, lässt einen Mann von knapp 60 Jahren ein. Sie kann die Ausnahme von der Regel verantworten: Es ist ihr jüngerer Bruder. Die meisten Klosterschwestern sind schon im Saal versammelt, wo auch ein Klavier bereitsteht. Der Besucher ist ihnen nicht unbekannt. In den vergangenen Monaten war er gelegentlich für einige Tage zu Gast, aber was er bei diesen Visiten im Sinn hatte, wussten sie nicht. Nun wird das Geheimnis gelüftet: Er hat gerade eine Oper beendet, die er ihnen nun vorspielen will; sein Name: Giacomo Puccini.

Puccini ist nervös. Sein Stück gibt das Klosterleben in manchen Details und alltäglichen Verfehlungen wieder; vor allem aber ging es um eine schwere Sünde – ein uneheliches Kind in bester Familie. Würden die frommen Frauen Anstoß nehmen, wenn sozusagen eine von ihnen solcherart porträtiert wird? Puccini also singt und begleitet sich selbst auf dem Klavier, schlüpft in alle Rollen, samt und sonders Frauenpartien, und hofft auf eine günstige Aufnahme. Als die letzten Töne des erlösenden Engelschors verklingen, wendet er sich um und schaut in tränenerfüllte Augen.

Ein Schmerzenskind

Aber was will der vielleicht berühmteste Opernkomponist seiner Zeit im Jahr 1917, mitten im Ersten Weltkrieg, in einem toskanischen Nonnenkloster? Das sieht natürlich ein bisschen nach Weltflucht aus. Und Flucht ist ein wiederkehrendes Motiv in seinem Leben: Aus seiner Dauerbeziehung zu Elvira flüchtete er sich in Affären, aus der Arbeit in Ablenkungen – Entenjagd, Motorboote, Automobile. Puccini fand sich nicht nur politisch zwischen den Stühlen, sondern auch ästhetisch isoliert von den europäischen Kunstströmungen. In dieser Lage entstand nun Suor Angelica. Das Stück, kaum eine Stunde lang, war Teil eines langgehegten Vorhabens: ein musiktheatralisches Triptychon aus drei miteinander verwandten, aber kontrastierenden Operneinaktern – mit Handlungen, die, dem Typus entsprechend, keiner langen Einleitungen bedürfen, sondern schlagartig konfliktträchtige Situationen mit einem Schlüsselmoment auf die Bühne stellen. Mittelstück eines klingenden Triptychons Während Il tabarro (um einen Ehebruch und Mord aus Eifersucht) und Gianni Schicchi (über eine geldgierige Familie und einen gerissenen Erbschleicher) schnell einschlugen, hat es die Oper über die junge Nonne am schwersten gehabt und wurde bei Aufführungen oft weggelassen. Puccini tat das weh: »Es macht mich wirklich unglücklich, die beste der drei Opern beiseitegelegt zu sehen«, gestand er Anfang 1921.

Insofern ist ein konzentrierter Blick auf ebendieses Werk mehr als gerechtfertigt, zumal manche seiner schon früh kritisierten Eigenschaften in Wahrheit seine Stärken sind. Zum Beispiel die ausführliche Exposition der verschiedenen Figuren, die wie ein Puzzle peu à peu Informationen zu dem Hauptkonflikt liefert, auf den die Handlung zusteuert. Subtil baut Puccini eine Spannung auf, während die Zuschauer anhand der wenigen Erkenntnisse, die ihre Mitschwestern über sie haben, zum Schicksal Angelicas nach und nach Indizien sammeln und sich das Beziehungsgeflecht offenbart, in dem kleine Boshaftigkeiten unter dem Deckmantel der Frömmigkeit ausgetauscht werden, sich Verletzungen und Hoffnungen zwischen Gebeten und Gesängen Bahn brechen. Bis das Geschehen im Zusammentreffen Angelicas und ihrer Tante kulminiert, einem monumentalen Schlagabtausch zweier starker Frauen, einem der großen Duelle der Opernliteratur, das den Vergleich mit Verdis Großinquisitor-Szene aus dem Don Carlo nicht zu scheuen braucht.

Musikvermittlung mit einer »hochaktuellen Geschichte«

Welchen Stellenwert es für Kirill Petrenko hat, Musik an jüngere Generationen weiterzugeben und zu vermitteln – und zwar sowohl angehenden Musikerinnen und Musikern wie für heranwachsende Zuhörerinnen und Zuhörer –, hat er bereits bei seinem Amtsantritt formuliert. Die Aktivitäten der Berliner Philharmoniker auf diesem Gebiet will er »mit ungemindertem Engagement fortführen« und dabei eigene Schwerpunkte setzen. »Vor allem möchte ich meine Liebe zum Musiktheater weitergeben und zeigen, was für unglaubliche Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten diese Kunst gerade für junge Menschen bereithält«, meinte er zum Saisonauftakt. Ganz bewusst hat er sich dabei für Puccinis Suor Angelica entschieden: einer weniger bekannten Oper eines bedeutenden Komponisten, von begrenztem Umfang, aber mit vielen kleinen, scharf profilierten Partien, außerdem geeignet für junge Stimmen – vor allem aber, weil in ihr ein brennendes Thema steckt: »Sie handelt von einer jungen Frau, die in einer inhumanen Umgebung um ihre ganz persönliche Humanität kämpft: eine berührende, hochaktuelle Geschichte mit herrlicher Musik.« Der Komponist und Pianist Matan Porat wird der Oper einen gemeinsam mit den Sängerinnen entwickelten Prolog voranstellen und die – schon von Puccini fast wie Kapitel einer Erzählung angeordneten – Szenen mit kurzen musikalischen Interventionen unterbrechen: als szenische Kommentare der Darsteller zur Handlung.

Weltflucht und Existenzkampf

Denn das betrifft einen weiteren, Kirill Petrenko wichtigen Aspekt dieser Einstudierung. Er hat eine Künstlerpersönlichkeit gesucht, die gemeinsam mit den jungen Sängerinnen nach zeitgenössischen Aspekten dieser Oper forscht und fantasievoll und ausdrucksstark auf die Bühne bringt. Dafür steht die Regisseurin Nicola Hümpel, weithin bekannt für ihr Ensemble Nico and the Navigators. Ein inhaltlicher Ausgangspunkt für das Regiekonzept ist die gefühlte Distanz moderner junger Frauen zu den Figuren aus Puccinis Oper: Warum, so könnte man fragen, begehren die Klosterschwestern nicht gegen die Ungerechtigkeiten ihrer Gesellschaft auf, sondern ermahnen sich bei Regelverstößen noch gegenseitig? Warum versagen sie sich selbst harmloseste Wünsche und gestatten sich gegenseitig nicht die kleinste Verfehlung? Doch auf den zweiten Blick ist uns solches Verhalten vielleicht weniger fremd als es scheint: Viele moderne Großstädter beschäftigen sich lieber mit ihrer eigenen geistigen Vervollkommnung anstatt mit politischen und gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen. Aber ein Rückzug in individuelle Selbstfindung ist keine Lösung für die großen Probleme, vor denen die Menschheit steht. »Poesie, reichhaltige Dichtung, verschiedenartige Szenen, kleine Dinge, andere weniger klein, aber immer menschlich gefühlt«, das sind – wie er es am 10. Juli 1911 an Carlo Clausetti schrieb – Puccinis Vorstellungen von einem guten Opernstoff. Wie das Kleine mit dem Großen zusammenhängt, untersucht er beispielhaft in »Suor Angelica«, und den Auswirkungen der kleinen auf die weniger kleinen Dinge will auch die Aufführung mit den Nachwuchskräften rund um die Karajan-Akademie und das Education-Programm der Berliner Philharmoniker nachspüren.

Der Autor ist Dramaturg an der Bayerischen Staatsoper und arbeitet seit vielen Jahren mit Kirill Petrenko zusammen. Der Text ist die gekürzte Fassung eines Beitrags für das Magazin 128 (Band 04/2019), dessen Ausgaben in unserem Online-Shop und im Shop der Philharmonie erhältlich sind.


Michael Trippel