Karajan’s first concertmaster

On the 100th anniversary of the birth of Michel Schwalbé

Michel Schwalbé
(Photo: Nachlass Schwalbé/Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)

He was Herbert von Karajan’s brilliant first concertmaster: Michel Schwalbé, who led the Berliner Philharmoniker from the first desk from 1957 to 1985 and helped to shape an era. Even today, musicians and critics alike rave about his unforgettable violin solos, such as the both beguiling and intricate solo part in Richard Strauss’ Heldenleben which he could play more seductively and sensually than anyone else. “I always tried to realise what I felt internally – no more than that,” said Schwalbé in an interview for the Magazin der Berliner Philharmoniker.

A violin prodigy

Born in Radom in Poland in 1919, Michel Schwalbé was considered a violin prodigy. He received his first violin lessons at the age of eight from Maurycy Frenkel in Warsaw, then from 1933, he studied at the Conservatoire de Paris under Georges Enescu, Jules Boucherit and Pierre Monteux. As a result of the outbreak of the Second World War, the hoped-for soloist career came to nothing. The violinist took his first orchestra position in Lyon, but in 1942, due to the threat of deportation, he had to flee to Switzerland where new musical paths soon opened to him: Ernest Ansermet engaged him in 1944 as concertmaster of the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande. Schwalbé also appeared as a soloist, led his own string quartet from 1946 to 1948 in Zurich, was concertmaster of the Swiss Festival Orchestra in Lucerne, and from 1948 taught at the conservatory in Geneva as the successor of Joseph Szigeti.

A sign of reconciliation

In 1957, Herbert von Karajan offered him the position of first concertmaster with the Berliner Philharmoniker. Michel Schwalbé hesitated for a long time, but ultimately accepted the offer – as a sign of his reconciliation with post-war Germany, which became his new home. For his outstanding artistic achievements as an orchestral musician, soloist and teacher, the violinist, who died in 2012 at the age of 92 years and who was born 100 years ago on 27 October, received numerous honours and awards, including the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany First Class.

The prodigyThe young violinistWith Herbert von KarajanAt rehearsalDaniel Barenboim congratulates Schwalbé on his 80th birthday

Karajans Erster Konzertmeister

Zum 100. Geburtstag von Michel Schwalbé

Michel Schwalbé
(Foto: Nachlass Schwalbé/Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)

Er war Herbert von Karajans kongenialer Erster Konzertmeister: Michel Schwalbé, der von 1957 bis 1985 die Berliner Philharmoniker vom ersten Pult aus führte und eine Ära mitprägte. Noch heute schwärmen Musiker wie Kritiker von seinen Geigensoli, beispielsweise dem ebenso betörenden wie vertrackten Solopart im Heldenleben von Richard Strauss, den keiner so lockend und sinnlich spielen konnte wie er. »Ich versuchte immer nur zu realisieren, was ich innerlich empfinde – nichts anderes,« verriet Schwalbé in einem Interview für das Magazin der Berliner Philharmoniker.

Ein musikalisches Wunderkind

1919 im polnischen Radom geboren, galt Michel Schwalbé als geigerisches Wunderkind. Seinen ersten Violinunterricht erhielt er im Alter von acht Jahren von Maurycy Frenkel in Warschau, ab 1933 studierte er am Pariser Konservatorium bei Georges Enescu, Jules Boucherit und Pierre Monteux. Die angestrebte Solistenkarriere wurde durch den Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkriegs zunichte gemacht. Der Geiger nahm seine erste Orchesterstelle in Lyon an, musste jedoch wegen der drohenden Deportation 1942 in die Schweiz flüchten, wo sich ihm bald neue musikalische Wege öffneten: Ernest Ansermet engagierte ihn 1944 als Konzertmeister des Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, darüber hinaus trat Schwalbé solistisch auf, führte von 1946 bis 1948 in Zürich ein eigenes Streichquartett an, war Konzertmeister des Schweizerischen Festspielorchesters in Luzern und unterrichtete seit 1948 in der Nachfolge von Joseph Szigeti am Konservatorium in Genf.

Ein Zeichen der Aussöhnung

1957 bot ihm Herbert von Karajan die Stelle des Ersten Konzertmeisters bei den Berliner Philharmonikern an. Michel Schwalbé zögerte lange, nahm das Angebot dann aber an – als Zeichen seiner Aussöhnung mit dem Nachkriegs-Deutschland, das ihm zu einer neuen Heimat wurde. Für seine herausragenden künstlerischen Leistungen als Orchestermusiker, Solist und Pädagoge erhielt der Geiger, der 2012 im Alter von 92 Jahren verstarb und dessen Geburtstag sich am 27. Oktober zum 100. Mal jährt, zahlreiche Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen, u. v. a. das Bundesverdienstkreuz Erster Klasse.

Das WunderkindDer junge GeigerMit Herbert von KarajanBei der ProbeDaniel Barenboim gratuliert zum 80. Geburtstag