A great friendship

Zubin Mehta and the Berliner Philharmoniker

(Photo: Wilfried Hösl)

With 177 concerts, 74 programmes and 58 years together, Zubin Mehta and the Berliner Philharmoniker can look back on a long artistic friendship. “I have now had the honour of conducting three generations of Berliner Philharmoniker musicians. The orchestra has evolved over the years, but the deep-rooted, magnificent, substantial sound has been preserved,” says the conductor, who has been a guest of the orchestra almost every year since his Philharmoniker debut on 18 September 1961. Mehta can still remember his debut in the concert hall of what is now Berlin University of the Arts. In addition to Gottfried von Einem’s Orchestral Music op. 9 and Robert Schumann’s Cello Concerto, he also conducted Gustav Mahler’s First Symphony, a work he then performed for the first time. “My advantage,” he grins, “was that the orchestra also didn’t know the piece so well. At that time, Mahler’s compositions were not yet part of the core repertoire of symphony orchestras.” Zubin Mehta’s deep understanding of this work was gained from Bruno Walter, the former assistant of Mahler, with whom he thoroughly prepared the score. After his Philharmoniker debut, he was prophetically acclaimed by the press as a “discovery from India” and as the “up-and-coming man of his age”.

Musical ambassador

Zubin Mehta, who was born in Mumbai into a musical family, was at that time at the beginning of an unprecedented career during which he has held several prestigious chief conductor positions: with the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, the Los Angeles Philharmonic (1962 – 1978), the New York Philharmonic (1978 – 1991), Bayerische Staatsoper (1998 – 2006) and the Maggio Musicale in Florence (1985 – 2017). Fate took a hand when he first conducted the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, standing in for an indisposed Eugene Ormandy: Mehta and the musicians developed an immediate rapport, while at the same time, the conductor experienced first hand the political conflicts in Israel. Ever since, he has regarded his artistic work as a means of international understanding. He became a consultant to the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra in 1969, chief conductor in 1977, and ultimately music director for life in 1981. Together with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Zubin Mehta is committed to supporting young musicians. The Buchmann-Mehta School of Music in Tel Aviv which he initiated, promotes the country’s most talented music students.

Viennese apprenticeship years

Mehta laid the foundations for his career in Vienna. While studying under Hans Swarowsky at the Wiener Musikakademie, he not only acquired the necessary skills for his profession, but he also had the opportunity to observe great conductors at work such as Bruno Walter, Herbert von Karajan and Karl Böhm. He made friends with Daniel Barenboim and Claudio Abbado, who, like him, was among the emerging talents. Mehta described his time in Vienna as one of the most important phases of his life, because he was able to establish the professional and human network which was crucial for his subsequent artistic success. Even then, the course was set in the direction of Berlin: Herbert von Karajan, the then chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker, became his mentor. He also developed his friendship with Claudio Abbado, later chief conductor of the Philharmoniker. “We were like brothers,” remembers Mehta. In the twelve years of Abbado’s tenure alone, Zubin Mehta conducted 61 concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker and when the chief conductor died in 2014, he led the memorial concert for the friend.

Impressive concerts

But not only this concert stands out. The conductor and orchestra have experienced many great moments together: the concert for Igor Stravinsky’s 80th birthday, a concert performance of Richard Strauss’ Salome, and in particular – the most emotional event to date – a concert in Tel Aviv during the orchestra’s first tour to Israel in 1990, during which the musicians of the Berliner Philharmoniker and the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra played side by side under Mehta’s direction. In their many years working together, Zubin Mehta, who became an honorary member of the Berliner Philharmoniker in February 2019, repeatedly manages to surprise by programming rarely heard works such as the interlude from the opera Notre Dame by Franz Schmidt, Ravi Shankar’s Concerto for Sitar and Orchestra No. 2, and Peter Eötvös’ Speaking Drums with percussionist Martin Grubinger. Another highlight last season was Verdi’s opera Otello, which he and the Philharmoniker performed as a new production at the Easter Festival in Baden-Baden and in a concert performance in Berlin. In this 2019/2020 season, he is even going on tour to Japan with the orchestra after his performances in Berlin; another opportunity to express and deepen their mutual solidarity.

Zubin Mehta at the beginning of his career
(Photo: Archive Berliner Philharmoniker)
1985 with Claudio Abbado, Maurizio Pollini and Yehudi Menuhin
(Photo: Reinhard Friedrich)
2019: Zubin Mehta becomes an honorary member of the Berliner Philharmoniker
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

To listen to

Eine großartige Freundschaft

Zubin Mehta und die Berliner Philharmoniker

(Foto: Wilfried Hösl)

177 Konzerte, 74 Programme und 58 gemeinsame Jahre – Zubin Mehta und die Berliner Philharmoniker können auf eine lange künstlerische Freundschaft zurückblicken. »Ich habe mittlerweile die Ehre, drei Musikergenerationen von Berliner Philharmonikern dirigiert zu haben. Das Orchester hat sich zwar in all den Jahren weiter entwickelt, aber der tiefverwurzelte, herrliche, substanzvolle Klang blieb erhalten«, meint der Dirigent, der seit seinem philharmonischen Debüt am 18. September 1961 nahezu jährlich bei dem Orchester zu Gast ist. An sein Debüt, das im Konzertsaal der Hochschule der Künste (heute Universität der Künste) stattfand, kann sich Mehta noch gut erinnern. Er dirigierte neben Gottfried von Einems Orchestermusik op. 9 und Robert Schumanns Cellokonzert auch die Erste Symphonie von Gustav Mahler, ein Werk, das er damals zum ersten Mal aufführte. »Mein Vorteil war«, schmunzelt er, »dass das Orchester das Stück auch nicht so gut kannte. Damals gehörten die Kompositionen Mahlers noch nicht zum Kernrepertoire der Symphonieorchester.« Das tiefe Verständnis für dieses Werk erhielt Zubin Mehta von Bruno Walter, dem früheren Assistenten Mahlers, mit dem er die Partitur gründlich erarbeitet hat. Nach seinem philharmonischen Einstand wurde er von der Presse als »Entdeckung aus Indien« gefeiert, als der »kommende Mann seiner Altersklasse«. Welch prophetische Worte!

Musikalischer Botschafter

Zubin Mehta, der in Bombay in eine Musikerfamilie hineingeboren wurden, stand zu jener Zeit am Anfang einer beispiellosen Karriere, die ihm verschiedene renommierte Chefpositionen bescherte: bei dem Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, dem Los Angeles Philharmonic (1962 bis 1978), den New Yorker Philharmonikern (1978 bis 1991), an der Bayerischen Staatsoper (1998 bis 2006) und beim Maggio Musicale in Florenz (1985 bis 2017). Schicksalhaft wurde für ihn, als er als Einspringer für den erkrankten Eugene Ormandy erstmals das Israel Philharmonic Orchestra dirigierte. Mehta und die Musiker entbrannten sofort füreinander, gleichzeitig erlebte der Dirigent hautnah die politischen Konflikte in Israel und versteht seither seine künstlerische Arbeit auch als Mittel der Völkerverständigung. 1969 wurde er Berater, 1977 Chefdirigent des Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, schließlich 1981 Musikdirektor auf Lebenszeit. Gemeinsam mit dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra engagiert sich Zubin Mehta für den musikalischen Nachwuchs. Die von ihm initiierte Buchmann-Mehta School of Music in Tel Aviv fördert die begabtesten Musikstudenten des Landes.

Wiener Lehrjahre

Den Grundstein für seine Karriere hatte Mehta in Wien gelegt. Nicht allein, dass er dort während seines Studium bei Hans Swarowsky an der Wiener Musikakademie das notwendige Rüstzeug für seinen Beruf erwarb, er hatte dort auch Gelegenheit, große Dirigenten wie Bruno Walter, Herbert von Karajan oder Karl Böhm bei der Arbeit beobachten zu können. Er schloss Freundschaften mit Daniel Barenboim und Claudio Abbado, die, wie er, damals zu den aufstrebenden Talenten zählten. Die Zeit in Wien bezeichnet Mehta als eine der wichtigsten Phasen seines Lebens, denn er konnte dort ein berufliches und menschliches Netzwerk knüpfen, das für den späteren künstlerischen Erfolg entscheidend wurde. Schon damals wurden die Weichen Richtung Berlin gestellt: So wurde Herbert von Karajan, der damalige Chefdirigent der Berliner Philharmoniker, sein Mentor. Außerdem schloss er Freundschaft mit Claudio Abbado, dem späteren philharmonischen Chefdirigenten. »Wir waren wie Brüder«, erinnert sich Mehta. Allein in den zwölf Jahren von Abbados Amtszeit dirigierte Zubin Mehta 61 Konzerte bei den Berliner Philharmonikern und als der Chefdirigent 2014 starb, leitete er das Gedenkkonzert für den Freund.

Beeindruckende Konzerte

Doch nicht nur dieses Konzert sticht heraus. Dirigent und Orchester haben gemeinsam viele großartige Momente erlebt: das Konzert zu Igor Strawinskys 80. Geburtstag, eine konzertante Aufführung von Richard Strauss‘ Salome und vor allem – das bislang wohl emotionalste Ereignis – ein Konzert in Tel Aviv während der ersten Israelreise 1990, bei dem Musiker der Berliner Philharmoniker und des Israel Philharmonic Orchestra Seite an Seite sitzend unter der Leitung Mehtas spielten. In der langjährigen Zusammenarbeit gelingt es Zubin Mehta, der im Februar 2019 Ehrenmitglied der Berliner Philharmoniker wurde, immer wieder, mit Neuem zu überraschen, indem er selten zu hörende Werke wie beispielsweise das Zwischenspiel aus der Oper Notre Dame von Franz Schmidt, Ravi Shankars Konzert für Sitar und Orchester Nr. 2 oder Peter Eötvös‘ Speaking Drums mit dem Schlagzeuger Martin Grubinger auf das Programm setzt. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt war in der vergangenen Saison Verdis Oper Otello, die er und die Philharmoniker als Neuproduktion bei den Osterfestspielen in Baden-Baden und konzertant in Berlin aufführten. In dieser Spielzeit 2019/2020 geht er nach seinen Auftritten in Berlin mit dem Orchester sogar auf Japan-Tournee, eine weitere Gelegenheit, um die gegenseitige Verbundenheit zum Ausdruck zu bringen und zu vertiefen.

Zubin Mehta am Anfang seiner Karriere
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1985 mit Claudio Abbado, Maurizio Pollini und Yehudi Menuhin
(Foto: Reinhard Friedrich)
2019: Zubin Mehta wird Erhenmitglied der Berliner Philharmoniker
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)

Zum Reinhören

Konzerte

Mittwoch,

20. Nov 2019,
19:00 Uhr

Suntory Hall, Tokio

Konzertreise

Mi, 20. Nov 2019, 19:00 Uhr
Suntory Hall, Tokio

Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta Dirigent

Amihai Grosz Viola

Ludwig Quandt Violoncello

Werke von Richard Strauss und Ludwig van Beethoven

mehr lesen

Donnerstag,

21. Nov 2019,
19:00 Uhr

Suntory Hall, Tokio

Konzertreise

Do, 21. Nov 2019, 19:00 Uhr
Suntory Hall, Tokio

Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta Dirigent

Anton Bruckner Symphonie Nr. 8 c-Moll (2. Fassung von 1890)

mehr lesen

Freitag,

22. Nov 2019,
19:00 Uhr

Suntory Hall, Tokio

Konzertreise

Fr, 22. Nov 2019, 19:00 Uhr
Suntory Hall, Tokio

Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta Dirigent

Anton Bruckner Symphonie Nr. 8 c-Moll (2. Fassung von 1890)

mehr lesen