Abbado’s pupils

The Mahler Chamber Orchestra performs at the Philharmonie Berlin

(Photo: Molina Visuals)

What do you do when you are now too old for the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester, but, as a budding professional musician, you do not want to miss out on the inspiring musicianship that you have come to know in the orchestra? Quite simple: you found your own orchestra and ask the conductor of the youth orchestra, Claudio Abbado, to continue to work with the ensemble. “The musicians wanted to preserve and continue their experiences with the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester for themselves. They wanted to work in an environment where there are no time restrictions when the artistic process requires it. This attitude has been maintained by the musicians to this day,” recalls Andrea Zietzschmann. Today’s general manager of the Berliner Philharmoniker was part of that group of enthusiastic young people who joined forces to form the Mahler Chamber Orchestra in 1997. Both the young instrumentalists and Andrea Zietzschmann, who was responsible for the organisational side of things, started with a lot of idealism, especially as Claudio Abbado had promised his support. He encouraged the young ensemble to follow its own path. “Our goal was very clear: we wanted to be one of the best chamber orchestras, perform a broad repertoire and work together with the best conductors. Thanks to Claudio Abbado, things became easier for us; he opened doors, and arranged great guest conductors.”

A global player

One of the first to conductor the orchestra thanks to Abbado’s help was Daniel Harding, who soon rose from principal guest conductor to music director. Together with him, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra realised one of its most important projects in the early years: Mozart’s Don Giovanni. The ensemble’s aim to become one of the best chamber orchestras has long been achieved, and moreover, it has established itself as a global player with appearances all over the world. It has performed at Carnegie Hall, the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg and the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, and is a partner orchestra of the Heidelberger Frühling, the Festival de Saint-Denis and Mozart Week in Salzburg. Since 2003, it has participated in the annual Lucerne Festival and forms the core of the Lucerne Festival Orchestra. The recipe for success: “Its musicians,” says managing director Michael Adick, “they have artistic flexibility without any sense of anything being routine, and are animated by the desire to constantly broaden their own horizons. On top of all that comes the absolute will to produce the highest quality. There is a constant dialogue, both with artistic partners and the public.” Another plus is the democratically organised structure of the collective.

Inquisitive and open

Even though the orchestra has developed structurally and artistically over the past 20 years, Claudio Abbado’s legacy is still evident: the Mahler Chamber Orchestra cultivates the transparent, chamber-music style of music favoured by its mentor, even in the symphonic repertoire, and with openness and inquisitiveness, the musicians focus on the moment, and allow the music emerge from this. While the MCO initially cultivated the Classic-Romantic repertoire, Contemporary music has been added over time. One of the most important projects in this regard was the world premiere of the opera Written on Skin at the festival d’Aix-en-Provence in 2012, which George Benjamin wrote especially for the ensemble and which the MCO performed last season at the Philharmonie Berlin under his direction.

This season, too, the orchestra makes a guest appearance in Philharmoniker concerts – with a programme that excitingly juxtaposes music from the 18th and 20th centuries. Under the direction of the French conductor François-Xavier Roth, it presents two symphonies by Joseph Haydn, both in the key of E-flat major. There are about 30 years between their creation, but both works have in common the typical humour that flashes up again and again in Haydn’s music. The counterpoint is formed by two concertos by Bohuslav Martinů and György Ligeti. The soloists are the pianist Holger Groschopp and Stefan Dohr, principal horn with the Berliner Philharmoniker.

1997: the Mahler Chamber Orchestra shortly after its founding
(Photo: Ulrike Weizsäcker)


1998: with Claudio Abbado in Aix-en-Provence
(Photo: Elisabeth Carecchio)
2003: with Daniel Harding at the Lucerne Festival
(Photo: Priska Ketterer)
2012: the premiere of “Written on Skin”
(Photo: Pascal Victor ArtcomArt)
November 2018: semi-staged performance of George Benjamin’s “Written on Skin” at the Philharmonie Berlin under the direction of the composer.
(Photo: Adam Janisch)
May 2019: performance by the Mahler Chamber Orchestra in the Chamber Music Hall
(Photo: Geoffroy Schied)

Abbados Zöglinge

Das Mahler Chamber Orchestra gastiert im Kammermusiksaal

(Foto: Molina Visuals)

Was tun, wenn man als Musiker des Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters die Altersgrenze für Mitglieder erreicht? Wenn man als angehender Berufsmusiker nicht auf das inspirierende Musiziererlebnis verzichten möchte, das man in diesem Klangkörper kennengelernt hat? Ganz einfach: Man gründet ein eigenes Orchester und bittet den Dirigenten des Jugendorchesters, Claudio Abbado, mit dem Ensemble weiterhin zu arbeiten. »Die Erfahrungen, die die Musiker beim Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester gemacht hatten, wollten sie für sich konservieren und weitertragen. Sie wollten in einem Umfeld arbeiten, in dem Zeit keine Rolle spielt, wenn es der künstlerische Prozess erfordert. Diese Einstellung haben sich die Musiker bis heute bewahrt«, erinnert sich Andrea Zietzschmann. Die heutige Intendantin der Berliner Philharmoniker gehörte 1997 zu der Gruppe begeisterter Jugendlicher, die sich zum Mahler Chamber Orchestra zusammenschlossen. Sowohl die jungen Instrumentalisten als auch Andrea Zietzschmann, die für das Organisatorische verantwortlich war, starteten mit viel Idealismus, zumal Claudio Abbado seine Unterstützung zugesagt hatte. Er ermutigte das junge Ensemble, unbeirrt seinen Weg zu gehen. »Unser Ziel war ganz klar: Wir wollten eines der besten Kammerorchester werden, uns vom Repertoire her breit aufstellen und mit den besten Dirigenten zusammenarbeiten. Dank Claudio Abbado gelang manches leichter, er öffnete uns Türen und vermittelte uns tolle Gastdirigenten.«

Ein Global Player

Einer der ersten Dirigenten, die durch Abbados Vermittlung am Pult des Orchesters standen, war Daniel Harding, der bald vom Ersten Gastdirigenten zum Musikdirektor aufstieg. Mit ihm realisierte das Mahler Chamber Orchestra eines der wichtigsten Projekte der Anfangsjahre: Mozarts Don Giovanni. Sein Ziel, eines der besten Kammerorchester zu werden, hat das Ensemble mittlerweile längst erreicht, mehr noch, es hat sich als Global Player mit Auftritten auf der ganzen Welt etabliert. Es gastiert u. a. in der Carnegie Hall, in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg oder dem Concertgebouw Amsterdam, ist Partnerorchester des Heidelberger Frühlings, des Festival de Saint-Denis und der Mozartwoche Salzburg. Seit 2003 wirkt es jährlich beim Lucerne Festival mit und bildet den Kern des Lucerne Festival Orchestra. Das Erfolgsrezept? »Seine Musiker«, meint Managing Director Michael Adick, »sie besitzen eine künstlerische Flexibilität ohne jegliche Routine; beseelt von dem Wunsch, ständig über den eigenen Horizont hinauszuschauen. Hinzu kommt der absolute Willen zu höchster Qualität. Es gibt einen ständigen Dialog, sowohl mit künstlerischen Partnern als auch dem Publikum.« Ein weiteres Plus ist die demokratisch organisierte Struktur des Kollektivs.

Neugierig und offen

Auch wenn sich der Klangkörper in den vergangenen 20 Jahren strukturell und künstlerisch weiterentwickelt hat, so ist doch das Erbe Claudio Abbados nach wie vor präsent: Das Mahler Chamber Orchestra pflegt den von seinem Mentor favorisierten transparenten, kammermusikalischen Musizierstil selbst im symphonischen Repertoire, offen und neugierig konzentrieren sich die Musiker auf den Augenblick, lassen die Musik aus dem Moment heraus entstehen. Pflegte das MCO anfangs vor allem das klassisch-romantische Repertoire, so kam im Laufe der Zeit auch zeitgenössische Musik hinzu. Eines der wichtigsten Projekte hierbei war die Uraufführung der Oper Written on Skin beim Festival d’Aix-en-Provence 2012, die George Benjamin eigens für das Ensemble geschrieben hat und die das MCO in der vergangenen Saison unter seiner Leitung in der Philharmonie Berlin aufgeführt hat.

Auch in dieser Spielzeit ist das Orchester Gast in den philharmonischen Konzerten – mit einem Programm, das auf spannende Weise Musik des 18. und 20. Jahrhunderts gegenüberstellt. Unter der Leitung des französischen Dirigenten François-Xavier Roth präsentiert es zwei Symphonien von Joseph Haydn, die beide in der Tonart Es-Dur stehen. Zwischen ihrer Entstehung liegen rund 30 Jahre, beiden Werken gemeinsam ist jedoch der typische Humor, der in Haydns Musik immer wieder aufblitzt. Den Kontrapunkt dazu bilden zwei Konzerte von Bohuslav Martinů und György Ligeti. Solisten sind der Pianist Holger Groschopp und Stefan Dohr, Solohornist der Berliner Philharmoniker.

1997: das Mahler Chamber Orchestra kurz nach der Gründung
(Foto: Ulrike Weizsäcker)
1998 mit Claudio Abbado in Aix-en-Provence
(Foto: Elisabeth Carecchio)
Mit Daniel Harding 2003 beim Lucerne Festival
(Foto: Priska Ketterer)
Die Uraufführung von »Written on Skin« 2012
(Foto: Pascal Victor ArtcomArt)
November 2018: halbszenische Aufführung von George Benjamins »Written on Skin« in der Philharmonie Berlin unter Leitung des Komponisten.
(Foto: Adam Janisch)
Mai 2019: Auftritt des Mahler Chamber Orchestra im Kammermusiksaal
(Foto: Geoffroy Schied)