Bridgebuilders: From Israel to Berlin - and back again

Guest performance by the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra and Israel tour of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta and the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra
(Photo: Shai Skiff)

Israel visits Berlin: This season the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra and Zubin Mehta come to Musikfest Berlin. The orchestra and conductor share a long and fruitful collaboration: It was love at first sight when Zubin Mehta first appeared at the conductor’s desk of the orchestra in 1961. In 1969, he became its artistic advisor, in 1977 the orchestra appointed Mehta chief conductor, and then music director for life in 1981. Now, the 83-year-old maestro is making his farewell tour with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, stopping off in Berlin. The programme includes Ödön Pártos’ Concertino for String Orchestra, Hector Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique and Felix Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto with Gil Shaham as the soloist.

An orchestra of immigrants

The Israel Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1936 by violinist Bronisław Huberman, who was a valued artistic partner of the Berliner Philharmoniker before he emigrated. At that time, it consisted of 75 Jewish musicians who had emigrated to Palestine due to the political situation in Central and Eastern Europe. The orchestra’s first concert in Tel Aviv on 26 December 1936 was conducted by Arturo Toscanini, one of the most famous conductors of his time. In 1948, after Israel gained its independence, the orchestra changed its name to the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. Until 2010, the members of the orchestra were mostly immigrants. That has changed in the last years, and today, most of the musicians were born in Israel.

European concert in Tel Aviv

In the coming year, the Berliner Philharmoniker and its new chief conductor Kirill Petrenko will be travelling to Israel. For their traditional European concert in Tel Aviv on the first of May, the Philharmoniker will perform at the Charles Bronfman Auditorium, the principal venue of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. The Jerusalem-born Amihai Grosz, 1st principal violist of the Berliner Philharmoniker, is the soloist in Max Bruch’s Kol Nidrei; the programme also includes Gustav Mahler’s Fourth Symphony and his Rückert Lieder with Elisabeth Kulman as the soloist. Two more appearances follow in Tel Aviv and Jerusalem with works by Gustav Mahler, including the composer’s Sixth Symphony.

The orchestra has only ever made two guest appearances in Israel, in 1990 and 1993. Both trips had not only a musical but also a political dimension and were marked by an increasing reconciliation between the two states. The highlight of the first trip was a joint concert with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra in Tel Aviv under the direction of Zubin Mehta. In 1993, the Berliner Philharmoniker returned with their then chief conductor Claudio Abbado on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising. The guest appearance this season also makes reference to two important historical events: the 75th anniversary of the liberation of the Auschwitz concentration camp, and the end of the Second World War.

Short festival Tel Aviv – Berlin

Before then, in March 2020, the Chamber Music Hall will host a short festival on two evenings with the theme Tel Aviv – Berlin, in which musicians from both hemispheres work together to create a multifaceted programme. Expected participants include the Israel Contemporary Players under the direction of Ilan Volkov, the Buttering Trio, and Yair Elazar Glotman. On the second evening, you can look forward to the trio of the Israeli jazz pianist Omer Klein and the Shalosh Trio. And finally Avi Avital: the Israeli mandolin superstar, together with Ksenija Sidorova (accordion) and Itamar Doari (percussion), travels completely in the sense of the title of his bestseller album “Between Worlds”.


Palestine Orchestra
(Photo: Israel Philharmonic Orchestra)
Charles Bronfman Auditorium in Tel Aviv
(Photo: Idan Shilon)
Kirill PetrenkoAmihai Grosz
(Photo: Sebastian Hänel)
Avi Avital
(Photo: Guy Hecht)

Concerts

Friday,

13 Mar 2020,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music

Fri, 13 Mar 2020, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Festival Tel Aviv – Berlin

Israel Contemporary Players

Ilan Volkov conductor

Saar Berger french horn

Yaron Deutsch guitar

read more

Friday,

01 May 2020,
12:00

Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv

Tour

Fri, 01 May 2020, 12:00
Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Christiane Karg soprano

Elisabeth Kulman mezzo-soprano

Amihai Grosz viola

Works by Gustav Mahler and Max Bruch

read more watch online

Saturday,

02 May 2020,
21:00

Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv

Tour

Sat, 02 May 2020, 21:00
Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 6

read more

Sunday,

03 May 2020,
20:00

International Convention Center Jerusalem

Tour

Sun, 03 May 2020, 20:00
International Convention Center Jerusalem

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 6

read more

Brückenbauer: Von Israel nach Berlin – und wieder zurück

Gastspiel des Israel Philharmonic Orchestra und Israelreise der Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta und das Israel Philharmonic Orchestra
(Foto: Shai Skiff)

Israel zu Gast in Berlin: In dieser Saison kommt das Israel Philharmonic Orchestra mit Zubin Mehta zum Musikfest Berlin. Orchester und Dirigent verbindet eine lange und fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit: Es war Liebe auf den ersten Blick, als Zubin Mehta 1961 erstmals am Pult des Israel Philharmonic Orchestra stand. 1969 wurde er dessen künstlerischer Berater, 1977 ernannte der Klangkörper Mehta zum Chefdirigenten, 1981 zum Musikdirektor auf Lebenszeit. Nun unternimmt der 83-jährige Maestro seine Abschiedstournee mit dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra und macht dabei auch in Berlin Station. Zum Programm gehören Ödön Pártos’ Concertino für Streichorchester, Hector Berlioz’ Symphonie fantastique und Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdys Violinkonzert mit Gil Shaham als Solist.

Ein Orchester von Emigranten

Das Israel Philharmonic Orchestra wurde 1936 unter dem Namen Palestine Orchestra von dem Geiger Bronisław Huberman gegründet, der vor seiner Emigration ein geschätzter künstlerischer Partner des Berliner Philharmonischen Orchesters war. Es setzte sich damals aus 75 jüdischen  Musikern zusammen, die aufgrund der politischen Verhältnisse aus Zentral- und Osteuropa nach Palästina emigriert waren. Das erste Konzert des Orchesters am 26. Dezember 1936 in Tel Aviv dirigierte mit Arturo Toscanini einer der berühmtesten Dirigenten seiner Zeit. 1948, nachdem Israel seine Unabhängigkeit erlangt hatte, änderte das Orchester seinen Namen in Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. Bis 2010 zählten hauptsächlich Emigranten und Emigrantinnen zu den Mitgliedern des Orchesters. Das änderte sich in den letzten Jahren. Heute spielen in ihm vor allem in Israel geborene Musikerinnen und Musiker.

Europakonzert in Tel Aviv

Im kommenden Jahr wiederum reisen die Berliner Philharmoniker und ihr neuer Chefdirigent Kirill Petrenko nach Israel: Bei ihrem traditionelles Europakonzert am 1. Mai in Tel Aviv gastieren die Philharmoniker im Charles Bronfman Auditorium, der Hauptspielstätte des Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. Der aus Jerusalem stammende Amihai Grosz, 1. Solobratscher der Berliner Philharmoniker, spielt den Solopart in Max Bruchs Kol Nidrei; des Weiteren stehen Gustav Mahlers Vierte Symphonie und seine Rückertlieder mit Elisabeth Kulman als Solistin auf dem Programm. Es folgen noch zwei weitere Auftritte in Tel Aviv und Jerusalem mit Werken von Gustav Mahler, darunter auch die Sechste Symphonie des Komponisten.

Erst zwei Mal, 1990 und 1993, war das Orchester in Israel zu Gast. Beide Reisen hatten nicht nur eine musikalische, sondern auch eine politische Dimension und standen im Zeichen einer kontinuierlichen Annäherung der beiden Staaten. Den Höhepunkt der ersten Reise bildete ein gemeinsames Konzert mit dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra in Tel Aviv unter der Leitung von Zubin Mehta. 1993 kehrten die Berliner Philharmoniker mit ihrem damaligen Chefdirigenten Claudio Abbado anlässlich des 50. Jahrestag des Aufstands im Warschauer Ghetto zurück. Auch das Gastspiel in dieser Saison nimmt auf zwei wichtige historische Ereignisse Bezug: auf den 75. Jahrestag der Befreiung des Konzentrationslagers Auschwitz und das Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs.

Kurzfestival Tel Aviv – Berlin

Bereits im März 2020 findet im Kammermusiksaal an zwei Abenden ein Kurzfestival unter dem Motto Tel Aviv – Berlin statt, bei dem Musiker beider Hemisphären gemeinsam ein facettenreiches Programm gestalten. Erwartet werden unter anderem die Israel Contemporary Players unter der Leitung von Ilan Volkov, das Buttering Trio sowie Yair Elazar Glotman. Am zweiten Abend darf man auf das Trio des israelischen Jazzpianisten Omer Klein und auf das Shalosh Trio gespannt sein. Und schließlich Avi Avital: Der israelische Superstar an der Mandoline wandelt mit Ksenija Sidorova (Akkordeon) und Itamar Doari (Percussion) ganz im Sinne des Titels seines Bestseller-Albums »Between Worlds«.


Das neugegründete Palestine Orchestra Ende der 1930er-Jahre
(Foto: Israel Philharmonic Orchestra)
Charles Bronfman Auditorium in Tel Aviv
(Foto: Idan Shilon)
Kirill PetrenkoAmihai Grosz
(Foto: Sebastian Hänel)
Avi Avital
(Foto: Guy Hecht)

Konzerte

Montag,

16. Sep 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Musikfest Berlin

Mo, 16. Sep 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

Zubin Mehta Dirigent

Gil Shaham Violine

Werke von Ödön Pártos, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy und Hector Berlioz

mehr lesen

Freitag,

13. Mär 2020,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik

Fr, 13. Mär 2020, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Kurzfestival Tel Aviv – Berlin

Israel Contemporary Players

Ilan Volkov Dirigent

Saar Berger Horn

Yaron Deutsch Gitarre

mehr lesen

Freitag,

01. Mai 2020,
12:00 Uhr

Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv

Konzertreise

Fr, 01. Mai 2020, 12:00 Uhr
Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko Dirigent

Christiane Karg Sopran

Elisabeth Kulman Mezzosopran

Amihai Grosz Viola

Werke von Gustav Mahler und Max Bruch

mehr lesen online sehen

Samstag,

02. Mai 2020,
21:00 Uhr

Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv

Konzertreise

Sa, 02. Mai 2020, 21:00 Uhr
Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko Dirigent

Gustav Mahler Symphonie Nr. 6

mehr lesen

Sonntag,

03. Mai 2020,
20:00 Uhr

International Convention Center Jerusalem

Konzertreise

So, 03. Mai 2020, 20:00 Uhr
International Convention Center Jerusalem

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko Dirigent

Gustav Mahler Symphonie Nr. 6

mehr lesen