A tribute to Daniel Stabrawa

The first concertmaster as soloist, conductor and chamber musician in the Berlin Phil Series

Daniel Stabrawa
(Photo: Sebastian Hänel)

“The need to make music at this time is very great,” says Daniel Stabrawa. The first concertmaster of the Berliner Philharmoniker is currently preparing the next episode of the Berlin Phil Series with his colleagues, which will be broadcast in the Digital Concert Hall on 30 May. Curated by musicians of the orchestra, this series offers a mixture of live chamber music concerts and archive recordings of orchestral works. According to Daniel Stabrawa, rehearsing together again and creating a programme has inspired him enormously: “I feel 200% more alive”.

A penchant for the unknown

Born in Cracow, he has been a member of the Berliner Philharmoniker for almost 40 years. As Michel Schwalbé’s successor, he assumed the position of first concertmaster in 1986. Effortlessly and unobtrusively, he has been coordinating the communication between conductor and orchestra since then, inspiring the audience with wonderfully performed solo passages and frequent appearances as a soloist. It is above all in this capacity that he has introduced us to some unknown but exciting works in recent years, such as the violin concertos by Jenő Hubay and Rudi Stephan. Together with the Berliner Philharmoniker, he intended to present another rarity this season: the concerto by the Polish composer Andrzej Panufnik. Daniel Stabrawa only discovered the work of his compatriot, who emigrated to England in 1954, at a late stage and was immediately captivated by its poetic, sonorous musical language. “His violin concerto is a very emotionally charged piece, full of incredible timbres and infectious rhythms.”

A versatile musician

Had it not been for the corona shutdown, we would have seen Daniel Stabrawa as both soloist and conductor in Panufnik’s composition plus in works by Mozart and Schubert. He is now presenting the Violin Concerto, written in 1971 for Yehudi Menuhin, with a small chamber music ensemble as part of the Berlin Phil Series. For this occasion, Daniel Stabrawa can also bring his many years of experience as a chamber musician to bear. Concertmaster, soloist, conductor, chamber musician – these different roles that Daniel Stabrawa fulfils have influenced and enriched each other and broadened his view of music. The programme opens with Antonín Dvořák’s Terzetto for 2 violins and viola. “I chose this piece”, says the violinist, “because I was able to perform it with three Cracovians, the violinist Krzysztof Polonek, the violist Ignacy Miecznikowski and myself.” Is there a typically Polish style of music making? “Perhaps it can be recognised in the type of melodic structure and phrasing, which is orientated towards the characteristic style of the Polish language.” While Daniel Stabrawa shows his solo and chamber-music abilities in the live element of this concert of the Berlin Phil Series, an archive recording of Sibelius’ Fourth Symphony, which brings the evening to a close, shows him in his most famous function: that of first concertmaster of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Eine Hommage an Daniel Stabrawa

Der Erste Konzertmeister als Solist, Dirigent und Kammermusiker in der »Berlin Phil Series«

Daniel Stabrawa
(Foto: Sebastian Hänel)

»Das Bedürfnis, in dieser Zeit Musik zu machen, ist sehr groß«, meint Daniel Stabrawa. Der Erste Konzertmeister der Berliner Philharmoniker bereitet gerade mit seinen Kollegen die nächste Folge der Berlin Phil Series vor, die am 30. Mai in der Digital Concert Hall übertragen wird. Diese von Musikerinnen und Musikern des Orchesters kuratierte Reihe bietet eine Mischung aus kammermusikalischem Live-Konzert sowie Archivmitschnitten von Orchesterwerken. Wieder gemeinsam zu proben, ein Programm zu gestalten habe ihn – so Daniel Stabrawa – enorm beflügelt: »Ich fühle mich um 200% lebendiger.«

Faible für Unbekanntes

Der gebürtige Krakauer ist seit fast 40 Jahren Mitglied der Berliner Philharmoniker. Als Nachfolger von Michel Schwalbé übernahm er 1986 die Position des Ersten Konzertmeisters. Seither koordiniert er so souverän wie unaufdringlich die Kommunikation zwischen Dirigent und Orchester, begeistert das Publikum mit wunderbar gestalteten Solopassagen und tritt immer wieder auch als Solist auf. Vor allem in dieser Funktion hat er uns in den vergangenen Jahren einige unbekannte, aber spannende Werke nähergebracht, beispielsweise die Violinkonzerte von Jenő Hubay und Rudi Stephan. Zusammen mit den Berliner Philharmonikern wollte er in dieser Saison eine weitere Rarität vorstellen: das Konzert des polnischen Komponisten Andrzej Panufnik. Das Werk seines Landsmanns, der 1954 nach England emigrierte, hat Daniel Stabrawa erst spät entdeckt und war von dessen poetischer, klangsinnlicher Musiksprache sofort fasziniert. »Sein Violinkonzert ist ein emotional sehr aufgeladenes Stück voller unglaublicher Klangfarben und mitreißender Rhythmik.«

Ein vielseitiger Musiker

Wäre nicht der Corona-Shutdown dazwischengekommen, hätten wir Daniel Stabrawa als Solist und Dirigent mit Panufniks Komposition sowie Werken von Mozart und Schubert erlebt. Nun präsentiert er das Violinkonzert, das 1971 für Yehudi Menuhin entstand, in der Berlin Phil Series in kleiner, kammermusikalischer Besetzung. Bei dieser Gelegenheit kann Daniel Stabrawa auch seine langjährige Erfahrung als Kammermusiker einbringen. Konzertmeister, Solist, Dirigent, Kammermusiker – diese verschiedenen Rollen, die Daniel Stabrawa ausfüllt, haben sich gegenseitig beeinflusst, befruchtet und seinen Blick auf die Musik geweitet. Zur Eröffnung des Programms erklingt Antonín Dvořáks Terzett für 2 Violinen und Viola. »Dieses Stück habe ich ausgewählt«, erklärt der Geiger, »weil ich es mit drei Krakauern, dem Geiger Krzysztof Polonek, dem Bratscher Ignacy Miecznikowski und mir, besetzen konnte.« Gibt es einen typisch polnischen Musizierstil? »Vielleicht lässt er sich an der Art der melodischen Gestaltung und der Phrasierung erkennen, die sich am Duktus der polnischen Sprache orientiert.« Zeigt sich Daniel Stabrawa im Live-Konzert der Berlin Phil Series von seiner solistischen, kammermusikalischen Seite, so ist er am Schluss in einem Archivmitschnitt von Sibelius’ Vierter Symphonie in seiner bekanntesten Funktion zu sehen: der des Ersten Konzertmeisters der Berliner Philharmoniker.