Clara Schumann and the Berliner Philharmoniker

On the 200th birthday of the pianist and composer

She embodies the prototype of the modern, successful career woman, yet she lived at a time when this was not usual for a woman: Clara Schumann was a composer, a piano teacher and one of the most acclaimed pianists of her day. Contemporary accounts describe her playing as just as energetic and powerful as that of a man. Such an assessment was considered the highest praise in those days. From childhood she was groomed for a career as a pianist by her father, the piano teacher Friedrich Wieck. After her marriage to the composer Robert Schumann she made every effort to combine her career and family life, a balancing act that she managed only because of her extraordinary talent, her unflagging diligence and her iron discipline. Although Clara, who bore eight children during her 16-year marriage, took her role as wife and mother very seriously, she considered herself first and foremost an artist. She contributed substantially to the support of the family with the fees from her tours and concert appearances. When she became a widow at the age of 36, she had to provide for her family alone from then on. She resumed her career again at full speed and concertized throughout Europe. “The practice of art is, after all, a great part of my inner self. To me, it is the very air I breath.”

Powerful touch

She also made several appearances with the Berliner Philharmoniker, the first time on 18 February 1883, ten months after the orchestra’s founding. Under conductor Ernst Rudorff, the then 64-year-old Clara Schumann played the piano part in Beethoven’s Choral Fantasy and her husband’s Piano Concerto. “She displayed a surprising physical and intellectual vigour. Her powerful touch, the rich tones, strung like pearls, combined with a thorough understanding of her task, brought musical pleasure,” according to a review in the Norddeutsche Allgemeine Zeitung. The pianist was enthusiastically acclaimed. What the audience did not know was that Clara Schumann had fallen down the stairs a few days earlier and injured her hand. She played in great pain, as she confided to Johannes Brahms in a letter. But the success made up for everything: “I have rarely encountered such warm enthusiasm.” She returned to the Berliner Philharmoniker in October of the same year to perform Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto under Joseph Joachim.

Again and again Berlin

Clara Schumann had given many concerts in Berlin even before the founding of the Berliner Philharmoniker, not least because of her friendship with Joseph and Amalie Joachim. The pianist frequently performed in concerts with the artist couple – he a conductor and violinist, she a singer. Moreover, Clara’s mother, a singer and pianist, had lived in Berlin with her second husband, the music teacher Adolph Bargiel, since 1826. Clara’s half-brother from this marriage, Woldemar, a composer and professor at the conservatory, was also one of the city’s important musical figures. Thus, Clara Schumann was well-connected in Berlin. She made two appearances with the Berliner Philharmoniker in quick succession in April 1885: she was heard in Mozart’s D minor Piano Concerto under Joachim, then played the Schumann Concerto again under Woldemar Bargiel. “I believe I played more boldly than ever,” she wrote to Brahms. “What pleased me very much about the concert was that I could entrust the conducting to Woldemar, who had longed for such an opportunity for years.”

Sold-out concerts

Clara Schumann’s fame ensured full coffers: her concerts were sell-outs. When she came to the Berliner Philharmoniker for the last time in January 1889, there were no empty seats in the auditorium of the Philharmonie. The audience welcomed her enthusiastically when she mounted the platform. “There was something extremely moving about it when the seventy-year-old woman sat down at the piano, bending forward slightly, to play Chopin’s F minor Concerto, and the way she then accomplished the difficult task with the strength, the fire and the freshness of a seventeen-year-old, leaving nothing at all to be desired. The enthusiasm of the listeners has rarely been expressed more justifiably and with such vehemence . . .” (Allgemeine Musik-Zeitung).


Joseph Joachim
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
From our archives: Clara Schumann’s letter of thanks to an unknown recipient (estate of the former principal cellist Hermann Beyer-Hané)

Clara Schumann und die Berliner Philharmoniker

Zum 200. Geburtstag der Pianistin und Komponistin

Sie verkörpert den Prototyp der modernen, erfolgreichen Karrierefrau – und lebte doch in einer Zeit, in der dies für eine Frau nicht selbstverständlich zu sein schien: Clara Schumann war Komponistin, Klavierpädagogin und eine der gefeiersten Pianistinnen ihrer Zeit. Zeitgenössische Berichte beschreiben ihr Spiel als so energetisch und kraftvoll wie das eines Mannes. Solches Urteil galt damals als höchstes Lob. Von Kindheit an wurde sie von ihrem Vater, dem Klavierpädagogen Friedrich Wieck, auf die Pianistinnenlaufbahn vorbereitet. Nach ihrer Eheschließung mit dem Komponisten Robert Schumann setzte sie alles daran, Beruf und Familienleben zu verbinden, ein Spagat, der ihr nur dank ihres großen Talents und ihrer eiserner Disziplin gelang. Auch wenn Clara, die in ihrer 16-jährigen Ehe acht Kinder gebar, ihre Rolle als Ehefrau und Mutter sehr ernst nahm, fühlte sie sich an erster Stelle als Künstlerin. Mit den Gagen ihrer Tourneen und Konzertauftritte trug sie maßgeblich zum Lebensunterhalt der Familie bei. Als sie im Alter von 36 Jahren Witwe wurde, musste sie fortan allein für ihre Familie sorgen. Sie startete karrieremäßig noch einmal durch und konzertierte in ganz Europa. »Die Ausübung der Kunst ist ja ein großer Teil meines Ichs, es ist mir die Luft, in der ich atme.«

Imposanter Anschlag

Auch bei den Berliner Philharmonikern gastierte sie mehrfach. Das erste Mal am 18. Februar 1883, zehn Monate nach der Gründung des Orchesters. Die damals 64-jährige Clara Schumann interpretierte unter der Leitung von Ernst Rudorff neben dem Klavierpart in Beethovens Chorfantasie auch das Klavierkonzert ihres Mannes. »Sie entwickelte dabei eine überraschende körperliche und geistige Frische. Ihr imposanter Anschlag, die runden, wie Perlen aneinandergereihten Töne, verbunden mit der griffigen Erfassung ihrer Aufgabe gewährten einen musikalischen Genuß«, hieß es in einer Besprechung der Norddeutschen Allgemeinen Zeitung. Die Pianistin wurde enthusiastisch gefeiert. Was das Publikum nicht wusste: Clara Schumann war wenige Tage zuvor auf einer Treppe gestürzt und hatte sich die Hand verletzt. Sie spielte – wie sie Johannes Brahms in einem Brief anvertraute – unter großen Schmerzen. Doch der Erfolg entschädigte sie für alles: »Ich habe kaum jemals solch einen herzlichen Enthusiasmus erlebt.« Im Oktober des gleichen Jahres kehrte sie zu den Berliner Philharmonikern zurück, um unter der Leitung von Joseph Joachim Beethovens Viertes Klavierkonzert aufzuführen.

Immer wieder Berlin

Schon vor Gründung der Berliner Philharmoniker hatte Clara Schumann viel in Berlin konzertiert. Das lag nicht zuletzt an der Freundschaft mit Joseph und Amalie Joachim. Mit dem Künstlerehepaar – er Dirigent und Geiger, sie Sängerin – realisierte die Pianistin immer wieder Konzerte. Außerdem lebte Claras Mutter, eine Sängerin und Pianistin, seit 1826 mit ihrem zweiten Ehemann, dem Musikpädagogen Adolph Bargiel, in Berlin. Der aus dieser Ehe stammende Halbbruder Woldemar zählte als Komponist und Professor der Musikhochschule ebenfalls zu den wichtigen Musikerpersönlichkeiten der Stadt. Clara Schumann war in Berlin also gut vernetzt. Im April 1885 hatte sie kurz hintereinander gleich zwei Auftritte mit den Berliner Philharmonikern: Unter Joachims Leitung war sie mit Mozarts d-Moll-Klavierkonzert zu hören, unter Woldemar Bargiel gab sie nochmal das Schumann-Konzert. »Ich glaube, ich spielte frischer, denn je«, schrieb sie an Brahms. »Was mir bei dem Konzert sehr lieb war, war, dass ich dem Woldemar die Direktion desselben übertragen konnte, der sich nach solch einer Gelegenheit seit Jahren gesehnt hatte.«

Ausverkaufte Konzerte

Clara Schumanns Ruhm sorgte für volle Kassen. Ihre Konzerte waren Verkaufsschlager. Als sie im Januar 1889 zum letzten Mal zu den Berliner Philharmonikern kam, gab es im Saal der Philharmonie keinen Platz mehr. Beim Betreten des Podiums empfing sie das Publikum voller Begeisterung. »Es hatte etwas ungemein rührendes, als die siebzigjährige Frau in leicht gebückter Haltung sich an’s Klavier setzte, um das f-Moll-Konzert von Chopin zu spielen, und wie sie dann mit der Kraft, dem Feuer und der Frische einer Siebzehnjährigen die schwierige Aufgabe bewältigte, in der sie nicht das Mindeste schuldig blieb. Die Begeisterung der Zuhörer hat selten berechtigter einen so stürmischen Ausdruck angenommen…« (Allgemeine Musik-Zeitung).


Joseph Joachim
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
Aus unserem Archiv: Dankschreiben Clara Schumanns an eine unbekannte Empfängerin (Nachlass des ehemaligen Solocellisten Hermann Beyer-Hané)