Carrying the fire

Guest appearance: the Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Chamber Orchestra of Europe
(Photo: Julia Wesel)

“The music is bigger than any one person,” is the credo of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, which first came to Berlin at the invitation of the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation last season and which will also give two concerts in the Chamber Music Hall this season. The ensemble emerged from the European Union Youth Orchestra, an ensemble of young musicians initiated and led for many years by Claudio Abbado, chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker from 1990 to 2002. Some of the former members wanted to carry the fire that Abbado ignited in the young players by founding the Chamber Orchestra of Europe. The ensemble was significantly influenced by Abbado’s style of making music and together with him, they made some award-winning recordings, such as Rossini’s opera Il Viaggio a Reims plus a recording of Schubert’s symphonies. But other conductors have also had a decisive influence on the orchestra’s profile: Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Bernard Haitink and Yannick Nézet-Séguin – to name but a few. The Chamber Orchestra of Europe, whose members also work successfully outside the formation as soloists, section leaders and conductors of outstanding chamber orchestras or as tutors and professors, is one of the best chamber orchestras of our time. Its performances are characterised by its individual programming in which the music of the First Viennese School forms a mainstay.

Haydn and Mendelssohn

The Chamber Orchestra of Europe is bringing two great soloists to its Berlin concerts, which are supported by the Aventis Foundation: pianist Sir András Schiff and violinist Renaud Capuçon. András Schiff and the COE have enjoyed an artistic friendship for almost 35 years. “It’s a unique ensemble that does nothing routine,” says the pianist. “The musicians come from different countries and have learned different playing traditions, and yet they have developed a specific sound. It’s also an incredibly intelligent orchestra. The collective intelligence and sensitivity of this group is admirable. Together, they represent the essence of Europe, and EU politicians could learn a lot from them.” The joint concert in Berlin is the hundredth concert that András Schiff and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe have given together. The programme features the pianist playing a piano concerto by both Joseph Haydn and Felix Mendelssohn, in addition to a symphony by Haydn and Mendelssohn’s famous Italian.

Beethoven and Schubert

The COE realises an unusual project with the violinist Renaud Capuçon, presenting two originally very intimate chamber music works in arrangements for larger forces: Beethoven’s famous Kreutzer Sonata in an arrangement for violin and strings, plus Franz Schubert’s String Quartet Death and the Maiden in an arrangement for string orchestra by Gustav Mahler – a programme totally to the taste of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe which, as a 60-member ensemble, cultivates the transparent playing style of chamber music.

Sir András Schiff
(Photo: Nicolas Brodard)
Renaud Capuçon
(Photo: Simon Fowler)

Concerts

Monday,

25 May 2020,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Serie: O - International Chamber Orchestras

Mon, 25 May 2020, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Renaud Capuçon violin

Works by Ludwig van Beethoven and Franz Schubert

read more

Das Feuer weitertragen

Zu Gast: das Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Chamber Orchestra of Europe
(Foto: Julia Wesel)

»Die Musik ist größer als der Einzelne.« So lautet das Credo des Chamber Orchestra of Europe, das in der vergangenen Saison erstmals auf Einladung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker nach Berlin kam und das auch in dieser Spielzeit zwei Konzerte im Kammermusiksaal gibt. Das Ensemble ging aus dem European Union Youth Orchestra hervor, einem Jugendorchester, das Claudio Abbado, Chefdirigent der Berliner Philharmoniker von 1990 bis 2002, initiiert und lange Jahre geleitet hat. Das Feuer, das Abbado in den Jugendlichen entzündete, wollten einige der ehemaligen Mitglieder weitertragen, indem sie das Chamber Orchestra of Europe gründeten. Die Formation wurde maßgeblich von Abbados Art des Musizierens geprägt und realisierte mit ihm einige preisgekrönte Aufnahmen beispielswiese Rossinis Oper Il Viaggio a Reims und eine Einspielung von Schuberts Symphonien. Doch auch andere Dirigenten haben das Profil des Orchesters entscheidend beeinflusst: Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Bernard Haitink und Yannick Nézet-Séguin - um nur einige zu nennen. Das Chamber Orchestra of Europe, dessen Mitglieder auch außerhalb der Formation erfolgreich als Solisten, Stimmführer oder Leiter herausragender Kammerorchester sowie als Tutoren und Professoren arbeiten, gehört zu den besten Kammerorchestern unserer Zeit. Seine Auftritte zeichnen sich durch eine ganz eigene Programmatik aus, in der die Musik der Wiener Klassik eine tragende Säule bildet.

Haydn und Mendelsohn

Zu seinen Berliner Konzerten, die von der Aventis Foundation unterstützt werden, bringt das Chamber Orchestra of Europe zwei großartige Solisten mit: den Pianisten Sir András Schiff und den Geiger Renaud Capuçon. Mit András Schiff verbindet das COE eine fast 35-jährige künstlerische Freundschaft. »Es ist ein einzigartiges Ensemble, in dem es keine Routine gibt«, schwärmt der Pianist. »Die Musiker kommen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern und haben unterschiedliche Spieltraditionen gelernt, und dennoch haben sie einen spezifischen Klang entwickelt. Außerdem ist es ein unglaublich intelligentes Orchester. Die kollektive Intelligenz und Sensibilität dieser Gruppe ist bewundernswert. Gemeinsam repräsentieren sie die Essenz Europas, davon könnten die EU-Politiker einiges lernen.« Das gemeinsame Konzert in Berlin ist das hundertste Konzert, das András Schiff und das Chamber Orchestra of Europe zusammen geben. Der Pianist ist mit je einem Klavierkonzert von Joseph Haydn und Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy zu erleben, außerdem dirigiert er eine Symphonie von Haydn und die berühmte Italienische von Mendessohn Bartholdy.

Beethoven und Schubert

Mit dem Geiger Renaud Capuçon realisiert das COE ein ungewöhnliches Projekt und präsentieren zwei ursprünglich sehr intime Kammermusikwerke in Arrangements für größere Besetzung: Beethovens berühmte Kreutzer-Sonate in einer Bearbeitung für Violine und Streicher sowie Franz Schuberts Streichquartett Der Tod und das Mädchen in einer Bearbeitung für Streichorchester von Gustav Mahler. Ein Programm, so ganz nach Geschmack des Chamber Orchestra of Europa, das als 60-köpfiges Ensemble eine kammermusikalisch transparente Spielkultur pflegt.

Sir András Schiff
(Foto: Nicolas Brodard)
Renaud Capuçon
(Foto: Simon Fowler)

Konzerte

Montag,

25. Mai 2020,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik | Aboserie: O - Internationale Kammerorchester

Mo, 25. Mai 2020, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Renaud Capuçon Violine

Werke von Ludwig van Beethoven und Franz Schubert

mehr lesen