Beethoven’s entire cosmos

The Berliner Philharmoniker in Beethoven year 2020

The works of Ludwig van Beethoven are part of the Berliner Philharmonikerʼs musical DNA. Hans von Bülow, the first great chief conductor of the Philharmoniker, regarded the composer as the “sun at the centre of the solar system of modern music”. Each of the Philharmoniker’s chief conductors after him distinguished himself by his own approach to the works of Ludwig van Beethoven.

Free spirit, humanist, revolutionary

Audiences already had the opportunity to hear Kirill Petrenko as a Beethoven interpreter at the beginning of the 2019/2020 season. He conducted performances of the Ninth Symphony with its revolutionary choral finale – a visionary apotheosis on the brotherhood of all people. Two other works performed by Kirill Petrenko and the Berliner Philharmoniker represent Beethoven’s humanity and love of freedom: the opera Fidelio and his Missa solemnis. All three works – said the chief conductor in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall – contain “Beethoven’s entire cosmos”. The Missa solemnis, which represents a magnificent synthesis of the symphony and the liturgy of the mass, can be heard at the Easter Festival in Baden-Baden. His only opera, Fidelio, which the Berliner Philharmoniker will perform under the direction of Kirill Petrenko with Marlis Petersen as Leonore at the Easter Festival and in concert in Berlin, is a great hymn to freedom – and love.

In Berlin and on tour

But the orchestra will also pay tribute to Ludwig van Beethoven in concerts with other conductors: Sir Simon Rattle presents performances of the oratorio Christus am Ölberge, a relatively unknown work of the composer. The National Youth Orchestra of Germany presents its own interpretation of the Eroica. At the end of the season there is another Ninth, this time at a guest appearance in Japan with Gustavo Dudamel.

Brilliant chamber music composer

The composer is also represented in the chamber music concerts: the highlight is a two-day Beethoven Marathon in the Chamber Music Hall, during which, among other things, all the string quartets can be heard, from the early opus 18 to his final contribution to the genre. Not to forget the Philharmoniker’s chamber music series: whether the jazz or organ series, piano or chamber music evenings, they all pay tribute to the anniversary of the composer’s birth in very different ways. The chamber concerts in Baden-Baden are also dedicated to Beethoven. Our theme is complimented by an exhibition at the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, which has the world’s most extensive collection of Beethoven autograph scores. With the title Diesen Kuss der ganzen Welt, the most important pieces of this collection can be viewed in the Wilhelm-von-Humboldt-Saal at Unter den Linden between March and June 2020.

Looking ahead to next season

The beginning of the next concert season is also largely dedicated to Beethoven: at the end of August and the beginning of September, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Kirill Petrenko will tour the music festivals in Salzburg, Lucerne and London – together with pianist Daniil Trifonov, who will be the soloist in the Third Piano Concerto. As part of Musikfest Berlin, pianist Igor Levit will play all of the composer’s piano sonatas. In October, the Berliner Philharmoniker, conducted by Marc Minkowski, give Beethoven fans the rare opportunity to hear the complete ballet Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus. The Philharmoniker’s Beethoven year ends with a chamber music highlight: violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann and pianist Martin Helmchen perform all the Violin Sonatas – another exciting facet in the cosmos of Ludwig van Beethoven.


25 and 26 April 2020

Beethoven Marathon

A feast for Beethoven fans: ensembles of the Berliner Philharmoniker will perform all of Beethoven’s string quartets.

Read more

Marlis Petersen
(Photo: Yorgos Mavropoulos)
Gustavo Dudamel
(Photo: Mark Hanauer)
Sir Simon Rattle
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
Frank Peter Zimmermann
(Photo: Irène Zandel)
Igor Levit
(Photo: Felix Broede)

Looking ahead to the 2020/2021 season

Musikfest Berlin 2020

30 August to 27 September
Igor Levit plays all of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas

Festival tour Salzburg, Lucerne, London

30 August, 2 and 5 September 2020
Berliner Philharmoniker, Kirill Petrenko and Daniil Trifonov with Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Minor op. 37

Philharmonie Berlin

15/16 /17 October 2020
Berliner Philharmoniker and Marc Minkowski perform Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus op. 43

Chamber Music Hall of the Philharmonie Berlin

12 October and 8 December 2020
Complete Violin Sonatas by the composer with Frank Peter Zimmermann and Martin Helmchen

18 and 25 October 2020
Philharmonic Salon: Beethoven and the princes Lobkowicz

Der ganze Kosmos Beethovens

Die Berliner Philharmoniker im Beethoven-Jahr 2020

Die Werke Ludwig van Beethovens gehören zur musikalischen DNA der Berliner Philharmoniker. Für Hans von Bülow, den ersten großen Chefdirigenten der Philharmoniker, galt der Komponist als »Centralsonne der modernen Tonwelt«. Nach ihm zeichnete sich jeder der philharmonischen Chefdirigenten durch seine eigene Sichtweise auf die Werke Ludwig van Beethovens aus.

Freigeist, Humanist, Revolutionär

Kirill Petrenko durften wir bereits zum Beginn der Saison 2019/2020 als Beethoven-Interpreten kennenlernen. Er dirigierte Aufführungen der Neunten Symphonie mit ihrem revolutionären Chorfinale, das eine visionären Apotheose auf die Brüderlichkeit aller Menschen ist. Zwei weitere Werke, die Kirill Petrenko und die Berliner Philharmoniker interpretieren, stehen für Beethovens Humanität und Freiheitsliebe: seine Oper Fidelio und die Missa solemnis. Alle drei Werke – so der Chefdirigent in einem Gespräch für die Digital Concert Hall – enthalten »den gesamten Kosmos Beethovens«. Die Missa solemnis, die eine großartige Synthese zwischen Symphonie und Messliturgie darstellt, erklingt bei den Osterfestspielen in Baden-Baden. Seine einzige Oper Fidelio, die die Berliner Philharmoniker unter der Leitung von Kirill Petrenko mit Marlis Petersen als Leonore ebenfalls bei den Osterfestspielen und konzertant in Berlin aufführen, ist eine große Hymne auf die Freiheit – und die Liebe.

In Berlin und auf Tournee

Aber auch in Konzerten mit anderen Dirigenten erweist das Orchester Ludwig van Beethoven seine Reverenz. Sir Simon Rattle stellt uns mit der Aufführung des Oratoriums Christus am Ölberge ein eher unbekanntes Werk des Wiener Klassikers vor. Eine besondere Sichtweise auf die Eroica präsentiert das Bundesjugendorchester. Am Ende der Saison gibt es noch einmal die Neunte, dieses Mal beim Japan-Gastspiel mit Gustavo Dudamel.

Genialer Kammermusikkomponist

In den Kammermusikkonzerten ist der Komponist gleichfalls präsent: Den Höhepunkt bildet ein zweitägiger Beethoven-Marathon im Kammermusiksaal, bei dem unter anderem sämtliche Streichquartette erklingen, angefangen vom frühen Opus 18 bis hin zum letzten Gattungsbeitrag. Nicht zu vergessen die philharmonischen Kammermusikserien: Egal, ob Jazz- oder Orgelreihe, Klavier- oder Kammermusikabend, auf ganz unterschiedliche Weise würdigen sie den Geburtstag des Komponisten. Auch die Kammerkonzerte in Baden-Baden stehen ganz im Zeichen Beethovens. Abgerundet wird unser Schwerpunkt durch die Ausstellung der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, die weltweit die umfangreichste Sammlung an Beethoven-Autografen besitzt. Unter dem Motto Diesen Kuss der ganzen Welt kann man im Wilhelm-von-Humboldt-Saal im Haus Unter den Linden zwischen März und Juni 2020 die wichtigsten Stücke dieser Sammlung besichtigen.

Ausblick auf die nächste Saison

Auch der Beginn der nächsten Konzertsaison ist wesentlich Beethoven gewidmet: Ende August und Anfang September reisen die Berliner Philharmoniker und Kirill Petrenko zu den Musikfestivals in Salzburg, Luzern und London – zusammen mit dem Pianisten Daniil Trifonov, der den Solopart im Dritten Klavierkonzert übernimmt. Im Rahmen des Musikfest Berlin spielt der Pianist Igor Levit sämtliche Klaviersonaten des Komponisten. Im Oktober bieten die Berliner Philharmoniker unter der Leitung von Marc Minkowski Beethoven-Fans die seltene Gelegenheit, das Ballett Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus komplett zu hören. Das philharmonische Beethoven-Jahr endet mit einem kammermusikalischem Higlight: Der Geiger Frank Peter Zimmermann und der Pianist Martin Helmchen führen alle Violinsonaten auf – eine weitere spannende Facette im Kosmos Ludwig van Beethovens.


25. und 26. April 2020

Beethoven-Marathon

Ein Fest für Beethoven-Fans: sämtliche Streichquartette sowie weitere Kammermusikwerke des Komponisten, interpretiert von Ensembles der Berliner Philharmoniker

Mehr erfahren

Marlis Petersen
(Foto: Yorgos Mavropoulos)
Gustavo Dudamel
(Foto: Mark Hanauer)
Sir Simon Rattle
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
Frank Peter Zimmermann
(Foto: Irène Zandel)
Igor Levit
(Foto: Felix Broede)

Education-Programm


Aufführungen und Konzerte

Sonntag,

01. Nov 2020,
20.00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Kammermusik | Aboserie: P - Jazz at Berlin Philharmonic

So, 01. Nov 2020, 20.00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Jazz at Berlin Philharmonic

STEGREIF.orchester

Jazzrausch Bigband

Nils Landgren Posaune

mehr lesen


Ausblick auf die Saison 2020/2021

Musikfest Berlin 2020

30. August bis 27. September
Igor Levit spielt sämtliche Klaviersonaten Ludwig van Beethovens

Festivaltournee Salzburg, Luzern, London

30. August, 2. und 5. September 2020
Berliner Philharmoniker, Kirill Petrenko und Daniil Trifonov mit dem Klavierkonzert Nr. 3 c-Moll op. 37

Philharmonie Berlin

15./16./17. Oktober 2020
Berliner Philharmoniker und Marc Minkowski interpretieren Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus op. 43

Kammermusiksaal der Philharmonie Berlin

12. Oktober und 8. Dezember 2020
Sämtliche Violinsonaten des Komponisten mit Frank Peter Zimmermann und Martin Helmchen

18. und 25. Oktober 2020
Der Philharmonische Salon: Beethoven und die Fürsten Lobkowicz