As open to the new as on the first day

35 years of the Scharoun Ensemble Berlin

Our video shows double bass player Peter Riegelbauer, one of the founding members of the Scharoun Ensemble Berlin, in converstaion with Gerhard Forck

The Scharoun Ensemble Berlin owes its existence to a single work: Franz Schubert’s Octet for clarinet, horn, bassoon, string quartet and double bass. In 1983, some young musicians of the Philharmoniker decided to found an ensemble in order to rehearse and perform this inspired composition. Violinist Alessandro Cappone, double bass player Peter Riegelbauer, horn player Stefan de Leval Jezierski and violinist Madeleine Carruzzo – who for this project was happy to play the viola – were still among the newcomers in the orchestra and were united in their irrepressible passion for chamber music. For their project, they were able to involve two musicians who had long been in the service of the Philharmoniker: violinist Armin Brunner and clarinetist Peter Geisler. Cello and bassoon were taken on by two “outsiders”.

Passion for chamber music

It was a courageous undertaking, because within the orchestra there was already had a well-established chamber music ensemble with the identical line-up: the Philharmonic Octet. They had to be able to hold their own against this other group. “For weeks, we did nothing but practice,” says Peter Riegelbauer. “We approached the public rather cautiously. Our first concert took place in a community centre in Steglitz in Berlin, a place that was not in the limelight.” This was followed by several private concerts, then an appearance at an event in the Max Planck Institute. Gradually, Berlin concert promoters became aware of the musicians. Then it was time to find a suitable name. That was not an easy thing. “Philharmonic Ensemble” or something like that was out of the question. “On the one hand, we did not want to live off the back of the Philharmoniker name, but to build up our own reputation. On the other hand, we were looking for a succinct term with which we could develop a distinctive profile.” However, they wanted the name to have a certain connection to the Philharmonie, and that’s how the idea came about to name themselves after its architect: the Scharoun Ensemble. “In retrospect, the choice turned out to be very beneficial,” admits Peter Riegelbauer.

From duo to chamber orchestra

Over the years, the Scharoun Ensemble has been joined by a whole range of Philharmoniker musicians. Of the original line-up, only Peter Riegelbauer and Stefan de Leval Jezierski remain. The ensemble sees itself as a flexible group – both in terms of line-up, which varies from duo and trio to quartet and quintet to chamber orchestra, as well as its repertoire, whose central pillars are formed by Schubert’s Octet and Beethoven’s Septet, but which ranges from Baroque to contemporary pieces. The ensemble has also commissioned and premiered many works. Renowned instrumentalists, singers and conductors have often worked with the ensemble, including Heinz Holliger, Thomas Quasthoff, Annette Dasch, Simon Keenlyside and Barbara Hannigan as well as Claudio Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Boulez, Peter Eötvös and – long before his time as the Philharmoniker’s chief conductor – Simon Rattle. The collaboration with great composers of our time has also been particularly inspiring: Hans Werner Henze, Isang Yun, György Ligeti, Wolfgang Rihm, Matthias Pintscher, Thomas Adès, Jörg Widmann and George Benjamin. And of course the encounter with the German comedian Loriot and their numerous concerts together! The great humourist read his texts between the movements of Camille Saint-Saëns’ Carnival of Animals – a delightful memory for all the musicians who participated at that time, and a great success with the public.

In search of the ideal sound balance

To merge eight instrumentalists into a single ensemble was and is no easy task. It is important to find the ideal sound balance between the strings and the winds. The same music is often interpreted very differently by the two groups. But working on it together – as the members unanimously agree – enriches all of them. Within the Scharoun Ensemble, the rehearsals are democratic. Every interpretative approach is given serious and careful consideration. Although this working method costs time and energy, the result is ultimately rewarding. For the musicians, it is both an honour and a challenge to be able to perform with in the Scharoun Ensemble.

An ensemble with its own festival

The Scharoun Ensemble is today one of the most successful chamber music groups on the international music scene. It appears throughout Germany and tours Europe, Japan and the USA, giving on average around 25 to 30 concerts per year. It performs regularly at international festivals and can be heard in Berlin as part of the Philharmoniker’s chamber music concert series. Another artistic highlight is the Zermatt Music Festival, founded by the ensemble in 2005, where it not only gives concerts, but in the Zermatt Festival Academy, the members also pass on their experience and knowledge to young musicians and chamber music groups and show them new ways of interpretation. They also support young musical talent at the American Academy in Rome and the European Krzysztof Penderecki Music Center in Lusławice. After 35 years, the Scharoun Ensemble is as open and eager to explore new things as on the first day. There is much it still wants to discover and develop. For example, the musicians want to work even more intensively on the repertoire, to increase the artistic quality, to acquire new, unknown works and to commission works from young composers. And finally there is still the inexhaustible Schubert Octet. “In such a piece,” beams Peter Riegelbauer, “there is always something new to discover”.

The newly founded Scharoun Ensemble Berlin
(Photo: Cordula Groth)
The ensemble in the 1990s
(Photo: Archiv Scharoun Ensemble)
25 years of the Scharoun Ensemble: A concert with Pierre Boulez
(Photo: Markus Weidmann)
Recording Beethoven’s septet
(Photo: Archiv Scharoun Ensemble)
With the students of the Academy in Zermatt
(Photo: Archiv Scharoun Ensemble)
The ensemble today
(Photo: Felix Broede)

Neugierig wie am ersten Tag

35 Jahre Scharoun Ensemble Berlin

Unser Video zeigt den Kontrabassisten Peter Riegelbauer, eines der Gründungsmitglieder des Scharoun Ensembles Berlin, im Gespräch mit Gerhard Forck 

Das Scharoun Ensemble Berlin verdankt seine Existenz einem einzigen Werk: Franz Schuberts Oktett für Klarinette, Horn, Fagott, Streichquartett und Kontrabass. Um diese geniale Komposition einzustudieren und aufzuführen, beschlossen 1983 einige junge Philharmoniker, ein Ensemble zu gründen. Der Geiger Alessandro Cappone, der Kontrabassist Peter Riegelbauer, der Hornist Stefan de Leval Jezierski und die Violinistin Madeleine Carruzzo, die für dieses Projekt gerne zur Bratsche griff, zählten damals noch zu den Neulingen im Orchester und sie verband die unbändige Lust am kammermusikalischen Spiel. Für ihr Vorhaben konnten sie noch zwei Musiker gewinnen, die schon länger im Dienst der Philharmoniker standen: den Geiger Armin Brunner und den Klarinettisten Peter Geisler. Cello und Fagott wurden mit zwei »Externen« besetzt.

Begeisterung für Kammermusik

Es war ein mutiges Unterfangen, weil es innerhalb des Orchesters bereits mit dem Philharmonischen Oktett eine traditionsreiche Kammermusikvereinigung in identischer Besetzung gab. Gegen diese Formation galt es zu bestehen. »Wir haben wochenlang nur geübt«, erzählt Peter Riegelbauer. »An die Öffentlichkeit haben wir uns eher vorsichtig herangetastet. Unser erstes Konzert fand in einem Steglitzer Gemeindehaus statt, also an einem Ort, der nicht so im Rampenlicht stand.« Es folgten einige Hauskonzerte, dann ein Auftritt bei einer Veranstaltung im Max-Planck-Institut; allmählich wurden Berliner Konzertveranstalter auf die Künstler aufmerksam. Nun hieß es, einen passenden Namen zu finden. Das war keine einfache Sache. »Philharmonisches Ensemble« oder ähnliches kam nicht in Frage. »Einerseits wollten wir nicht einfach die philharmonischen Vorschusslorbeeren einstecken, sondern unser Renommee selbst erarbeiten. Andererseits suchten wir nach einem prägnanten Begriff, mit dem wir ein markantes Profil entwickeln können.« Einen gewissen Bezug zur Philharmonie sollte der Name aber doch haben, und so entstand die Idee, sich nach ihrem Architekten zu benennen: Scharoun Ensemble. »Im Nachhinein hat sich die Wahl als sehr vorteilhaft herausgestellt,« bekennt Peter Riegelbauer.

Vom Duo bis bis Kammerorchester

Im Laufe der Jahre haben im Scharoun Ensemble eine ganze Reihe von Philharmonikern mitgewirkt. Von der Erstbesetzung sind heute noch Peter Riegelbauer und Stefan de Leval Jezierski dabei. Das Ensemble versteht sich als flexible Gruppe – sowohl hinsichtlich der Besetzung, die von Duo und Trio über Quartett und Quintett bis hin zum Kammerorchester variiert, als auch bezüglich des Repertoires, dessen Säulen zwar Schuberts Oktett und Beethovens Septett bilden, das jedoch von Kompositionen des Barock bis zu zeitgenössischen Stücken reicht. Außerdem hat das Ensemble viele Werke in Auftrag gegeben und uraufgeführt. Häufig wurden namhafte Instrumentalisten, Sängerinnen und Sänger sowie Dirigenten mit einbezogen, beispielsweise Heinz Holliger, Thomas Quasthoff, Annette Dasch, Simon Keenlyside und Barbara Hannigan sowie Claudio Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Boulez, Peter Eötvös und – lange vor seiner Zeit als philharmonischer Chefdirigent – Simon Rattle. Besonders inspirierend gestaltete sich außerdem die Zusammenarbeit mit großen Komponisten unserer Zeit: Hans Werner Henze, Isang Yun, György Ligeti, Wolfgang Rihm, Matthias Pintscher, Thomas Adès, Jörg Widmann und George Benjamin. Und natürlich die Begegnung mit Loriot sowie die zahlreichen gemeinsamen Konzerte! Der große Humorist las seine Zwischentexte in Camille Saint-Saënsʼ Karneval der Tiere – eine wunderbare Erinnerung für alle Musiker, die damals mitwirkten, und ein großer Publikumserfolg.

Auf der Suche nach der idealen Klangbalance

Acht Instrumentalisten zu einem einheitlichen Ensemble zu verschmelzen war und ist keine leichte Aufgabe. Es gilt, die ideale Klangbalance zwischen den Streichern und den Bläsern zu finden. Derselbe Notentext wird von den beiden Gruppen oft sehr unterschiedlich interpretiert. Doch die gemeinsame Auseinandersetzung – so die Mitglieder einstimmig – sei eine Bereicherung. Im Scharoun Ensemble geht es bei den Proben demokratisch zu. Jeder Deutungsansatz wird ernst genommen und abgewogen. Diese Streitkultur kostet zwar Zeit und Energie, letztlich erwies sie sich jedoch als lohnend. Im Scharoun Ensemble mitwirken zu dürfen bedeutet für die Musiker Ehre und Herausforderung zugleich.

Ensemble mit eigenem Festival

Das Scharoun Ensemble gehört heute zu den erfolgreichsten Kammermusikgruppen der internationalen Musikszene. Es gastiert in ganz Deutschland, unternimmt Tourneen durch Europa, Japan und die USA. 25 bis 30 Konzerte pro Jahr sind der Schnitt. Regelmäßig tritt es bei internationalen Festivals auf und ist in Berlin im Rahmen der philharmonischen Kammermusikreihen zu erleben. Ein weiterer künstlerischer Fixpunkt ist das von der Formation 2005 gegründete Zermatt Music Festival, bei dem es nicht nur selbst konzertiert, sondern die Mitglieder auch in der Zermatt Festival Academy ihre Erfahrung und ihr Wissen an junge Musiker und Kammermusikgruppen weitergeben und ihnen neue Wege der Interpretation aufzeigen. Zudem widmen sie sich an der American Academy in Rom und im Europäischen Krzysztof-Penderecki-Musikzentrum in Lusławice der Förderung junger Musiktalente. Nach 35 Jahren ist das Scharoun Ensemble so offen, aufgeschlossen und neugierig wie am ersten Tag. Vieles möchte es noch entdecken und ausbauen. So streben die Musiker danach, noch intensiver am Repertoire zu arbeiten, die künstlerische Qualität zu steigern, sich neue, unbekannte Werke anzueignen und Auftragswerke an junge Komponisten zu vergeben. Und schließlich gibt es dann ja noch immer dieses unerschöpfliche Schubert Oktett. »An solch einem Stück«, strahlt Peter Riegelbauer »kann man immer noch Neues entdecken.«

Das neugegründete Scharoun Ensemble Berlin
(Foto: Cordula Groth)
Das Ensemble in den 1990er-Jahren
(Foto: Archiv Scharoun Ensemble)
25 Jahre Scharoun Ensemble: Konzert mit Pierre Boulez
(Foto: Markus Weidmann)
Bei der Aufnahme von Beethovens Septett
(Foto: Archiv Scharoun Ensemble)
Mit den Akademisten in Zermatt
(Foto: Archiv Scharoun Ensemble)
Das Ensemble heute
(Foto: Felix Broede)