Quartet: The supreme discipline of chamber music

The ensembles of the concert series

Quatuor Arod
(Photo: Marco Borggreve)

A string quartet evening is always something special and has its own particular appeal: four string instruments – two violins, viola and cello – are enough to create a unique, sonorous cosmos for the listener. This season, our Quartet concert series starts with a promising newcomer: the Quatuor Arod. In 2013, four students of the Conservatoire de Paris came together to form this ensemble and immediately won numerous prizes at competitions, the most prestigious being 1st prize at the ARD International Music Competition in 2016. Their secret recipe: to merge the sound so that the impression is created that only one person is playing. For its debut in the Philharmoniker’s concert series, the French ensemble will perform works by Joseph Haydn and Anton Webern plus Alexander Zemlinsky’s Second String Quartet, one of the most challenging compositions of the genre.

Classical, Romantic, Contemporary

The JACK Quartet is also appearing for the first time in concerts of the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation. The formation owes its origins to a “service concept”: in 2005, four young students from the Eastman School of Music wanted to make a quartet available to contemporary composers to make it easier for them to have their new works performed. A highly successful concept – because today, the JACK Quartet is regarded as one of the most important contemporary music ensembles. Its concert in the chamber music hall features pieces by Zosha Di Castri, Morton Feldman, Elliott Carter, Liza Lim and Iannis Xenakis.

In contrast, the Hagen Quartet, consisting of three siblings and the second violinist Rainer Schmidt, which has been performing regularly in this concert series since 2007, turns to the Classical-Romantic core repertoire on this occasion: in its programme, it presents the Third String Quartet from Schumann’s Opus 41 and the String Quartet no 8 by the 17-year-old Franz Schubert which are juxtaposed by a work by Joseph Haydn, showing clearly how strongly the First Viennese School influenced the two younger composers.

Philharmoniker home fixture

The last two chamber music formations of this series give a kind of “home fixture”, so to speak: the musicians of the Philharmonia Quartet and the Varian Fry Quartet are all members of the Philharmoniker and as such are well used to performing with each other. A homogeneous and simultaneously transparent sound is regarded by these string players as their ideal. In the past, the Philharmonia Quartet has often caused a sensation with its Beethoven interpretations. Now with Op. 18 No. 6, it has programmed one of the composer’s early works for his concert, alongside Karol Szymanowski’s Second String Quartet and Leoš Janáček’s Intimate Letters, a musical declaration of love to the 38 years younger Kamilla Stösslova.

While the Philharmonia Quartet can look back on more than 35 years of performing together, the Varian Fry Quartet, which was founded in the 2012/2013 season, is still relatively new. The four musicians discovered their mutual love for string quartet playing during their time as students of the Karajan Academy. At that time, their musical mentor was Jan Diesselhorst, cellist of the Berliner Philharmoniker and the Philharmonia Quartet, whose premature death was a great loss to all. For its appearance in the chamber music hall, the Varian Fry Quartet has invited a guest: the Philharmoniker’s principal cello, Bruno Delepelaire, with whom it performs Franz Schubert’s famous String Quintet C major D 965.

JACK Quartet
(Photo: Shervin Lainez)
Hagen Quartett
(Photo: Harald Hoffmann)
Philharmonia Quartett
(Photo: Stefan Röhl)
Varian Fry Quartett
(Photo: Privat)

Guest artist

1st Principal Cello Bruno Delepelaire
(Photo: Sebastian Hänel)

Concerts

Tuesday,

06 Nov 2018,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Serie: T

Tue, 06 Nov 2018, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

JACK Quartet

Works by Zosha Di Castri, Morton Feldman, Elliott Carter, Liza Lim and Iannis Xenakis

read more

Monday,

04 Feb 2019,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Serie: T

Mon, 04 Feb 2019, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Hagen Quartett

Works by Joseph Haydn, Franz Schubert and Robert Schumann

read more

Sunday,

31 Mar 2019,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Serie: T

Sun, 31 Mar 2019, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Philharmonia Quartett

Works by Karol Szymanowski, Ludwig van Beethoven and Leoš Janáček

read more

Friday,

26 Apr 2019,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Serie: T

Fri, 26 Apr 2019, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Varian Fry Quartett

Bruno Delepelaire cello

Works by Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy and Franz Schubert

read more

Quartett: Die Königsdisziplin der Kammermusik

Die Ensembles der Konzertreihe

Quatuor Arod
(Foto: Marco Borggreve)

Ein Streichquartettabend ist stets etwas Besonderes und besitzt eine eigene Sogwirkung: Vier Streichinstrumente – zwei Violinen, Viola und Violoncello – genügen, um für den Hörer einen einzigartigen, klanglichen Kosmos zu schaffen. Unsere Konzertreihe Quartett startet in dieser Saison mit einem vielversprechenden Newcomer: dem Quatuor Arod. Zu diesem Ensemble fanden sich 2013 vier Studenten des Pariser Konservatoriums zusammen und heimsten sofort bei Wettbewerben zahlreiche Preise ein, als wohl renommiertesten den 1. Preis des ARD-Musikwettbewerb 2016. Ihr Geheimrezept: Klanglich so zu verschmelzen, dass der Eindruck entsteht, es würde nur eine einzige Person spielen. Bei ihrem Debüt in der philharmonischen Konzertreihe spielt das französische Ensemble neben Werken von Joseph Haydn und Anton Webern auch das Zweite Streichquartett von Alexander Zemlinsky, das mit zu den herausforderndsten Kompositionen des Genres gehört.

Klassisch, romantisch, zeitgenössisch

Auch das JACK Quartet tritt zum ersten Mal in Konzerten der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker auf. Die Formation verdankt ihre Entstehung einem »Servicegedanken«: 2005 wollten sich vier junge Studenten der Eastman School of Music zeitgenössischen Komponisten als Quartett zur Verfügung stellen, mit dem diese ihre neuen Werke auf relativ unkomplizierte Weise aufführen können. Ein höchst erfolgreiches Konzept. Denn heute gilt das JACK Quartet als eines der wichtigsten Ensembles für Neue Musik. Bei seinem Auftritt im Kammermusiksaal ist es mit Stücken von Zosha Di Castri, Morton Feldman, Elliott Carter, Liza Lim und Iannis Xenakis zu hören.

Das aus drei Geschwistern und dem zweiten Geiger Rainer Schmidt bestehende Hagen Quartett hingegen, das seit 2007 regelmäßig in dieser Konzertreihe auftritt, hingegen bedient dieses Mal das klassisch-romantische Kernrepertoire: In seinem Programm stellt es das dritte Streichquartett aus Schumanns Opus 41 und das Streichquartett Nr. 8 des 17-jährigen Franz Schubert einem Werk von Joseph Haydn gegenüber und macht dadurch deutlich, wie stark der Wiener Klassiker die beiden Jüngeren beeinflusst hat.

Philharmonisches Heimspiel

Die zwei letzten Kammermusikformationen dieser Reihe geben sozusagen ein »Heimspiel«: Die Musiker des Philharmonia Quartetts und des Varian Fry Quartetts sind alle Mitglieder der Philharmoniker und somit bestens aufeinander eingespielt. Ein homogener und gleichzeitig transparenter Klang gilt den Streichern als Ideal. In der Vergangenheit hat das Philharmonia Quartett immer wieder durch seine Beethoven-Interpretationen Aufsehen erregt. Nun hat es mit Op. 18 Nr. 6 ein frühes Werk des Komponisten auf das Programm seines Konzerts gesetzt, neben dem Zweiten Streichquartett von Karol Szymanowski und Leoš Janáčeks Intimen Briefen, einem musikalischen Liebesbekenntnis an die 38 Jahre jüngere Kamilla Stösslova.

Während das Philharmonia Quartett bereits auf eine mehr als 35-jährige Zusammenarbeit zurückblicken kann, ist das Varian Fry Quartett, das sich in der Saison 2012/2013 gründete, noch relativ jung. Ihre gemeinsame Liebe zum Streichquartettspiel entdeckten die vier Musiker bereits während ihrer Zeit als Stipendiaten der Karajan-Akademie. Ihr musikalischer Mentor war damals Jan Diesselhorst, der so früh verstorbene Cellist der Berliner Philharmoniker und des Philharmonia Quartetts. Für seinen Auftritt im Kammermusiksaal hat das Varian Fry Quartett noch einen Gast eingeladen: den philharmonischen Solocellisten Bruno Delepelaire, mit dem es Franz Schuberts berühmtes Streichquintett C-Dur D 965 aufführt.

JACK Quartet
(Foto: Shervin Lainez)
Hagen Quartett
(Foto: Harald Hoffmann)
Philharmonia Quartett
(Foto: Stefan Röhl)
Varian Fry Quartett
(Foto: Privat)

Als Gast

Erster Solocellist Bruno Delepelaire
(Foto: Sebastian Hänel)

Konzerte

Dienstag,

06. Nov 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik | Aboserie: T

Di, 06. Nov 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

JACK Quartet

Werke von Zosha Di Castri, Morton Feldman, Elliott Carter, Liza Lim und Iannis Xenakis

mehr lesen

Montag,

04. Feb 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik | Aboserie: T

Mo, 04. Feb 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Hagen Quartett

Werke von Joseph Haydn, Franz Schubert und Robert Schumann

mehr lesen

Sonntag,

31. Mär 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik | Aboserie: T

So, 31. Mär 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Philharmonia Quartett

Werke von Karol Szymanowski, Ludwig van Beethoven und Leoš Janáček

mehr lesen

Freitag,

26. Apr 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik | Aboserie: T

Fr, 26. Apr 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Varian Fry Quartett

Bruno Delepelaire Violoncello

Werke von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy und Franz Schubert

mehr lesen