Kirill Petrenko and the German National Youth Orchestra

The future chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker at the helm of the Philharmoniker's “adopted” orchestra

Kirill Petrenko
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Although Kirill Petrenko doesn’t take up his new post as the new chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker until next season, audiences this season have already had, and will again have the opportunity to get to know him from quite different perspectives: following the season opening concert at the Berlin Philharmonie and the open air event at the Schlüterhof of the Berlin Palace – plus the festival tour to Salzburg, Lucerne and London in August and September 2018, Petrenko returns to Berlin in January 2019. Not, however, to lead his future orchestra, but rather to appear together with the German National Youth Orchestra, which has the Berliner Philharmoniker as its patron, and which also celebrates its 50th birthday this year.

Training ground for orchestral talent

Founded by the German Music Council in 1969, the orchestra is regarded as a training ground for the next generation of orchestral talent. It provides skilled instrumentalists between the ages of 14 and 19 with the opportunity to experience the life of an orchestra – at a professional level. More than 80 percent of the young people who play in the German National Youth Orchestra opt for a career as a professional musician. It is understandable that the collaboration with the orchestra is of particular significance to Kirill Petrenko and the Berliner Philharmoniker. As early as 2009, the conductor and the youth orchestra rehearsed and performed a both exciting and challenging programme: Arthur Honegger’s musical portrayal of a steam locomotive Pacific 231, while Tan Dun’s Paper Concerto and Igor Stravinsky’s mystical Firebird formed a musical journey from Russia to China. “Kirill Petrenko showed himself to be the ideal conductor, both programmatically and educationally, a leader who was able to inspire passion in his team,” as the Neue Musikzeitung reported.

Captivating programme

The programme once again includes a work by Stravinsky: his provocative, scandalous ballet Le Sacre du printemps, whose appeal lies above all in its rhythmic intensity. Dance music of a completely different kind can be heard in the Symphonic Dances from Leonard Bernstein’s hit musical West Side Story with its congenial mixture of jazz, classical music and Latin American rhythms. In addition to the dance-inspired compositions by Bernstein and Stravinsky, the German National Youth Orchestra under the baton of Kirill Petrenko also performs a contemporary work: the Concerto for Timpani and Orchestra No. 1 by William Kraft, a self-taught timpanist who exploits the possibilities of his instrument to full effect. The soloist is the Philharmoniker’s principal timpanist, Wieland Welzel.

German National Youth Orchestra 2018
(Photo: Selina Pfrüner)
2009: Kirill Petrenko rehearses with the German National Youth Orchestra
(Photo: Peter Adamik)
2013: The Berliner Philharmoniker take over patronage of the German National Youth Orchestra
(Photo: Peter Adamik)

Kirill Petrenko und das Bundesjugendorchester

Der designierte Chefdirigent der Berliner Philharmoniker am Pult des philharmonischen Patenkinds

Kirill Petrenko
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)

Kirill Petrenko tritt sein Amt als neuer Chefdirigent der Berliner Philharmoniker erst in der nächsten Saison an, doch das Publikum konnte und kann ihn bereits in dieser Spielzeit aus ganz unterschiedlichen Perspektiven kennenlernen: Nach dem Saisoneröffnungskonzert in der Berliner Philharmonie und der Open-Air-Veranstaltung im Schlüterhof des Berliner Schlosses sowie der Festivaltournee nach Salzburg, Luzern und London im August und September 2018, kehrt Petrenko im Januar 2019 nach Berlin zurück. Und zwar nicht, um sein zukünftiges Orchester zu leiten, vielmehr präsentiert er sich mit dem Bundesjugendorchester, dem Patenkind der Berliner Philharmoniker, das in diesem Jahr seinen 50. Geburtstag feiert.

Talentschmiede des Orchesternachwuchses

1969 vom Deutschen Musikrat gegründet, gilt der Klangkörper als Talentschmiede des Orchesternachwuchses. In ihm haben begabte Instrumentalisten zwischen 14 und 19 Jahren die Gelegenheit, die Arbeit in einem Orchester kennenzulernen – auf professionellem Niveau. Mehr als 80 Prozent der Jugendlichen, die im Bundesjugendorchester spielen, entscheiden sich für die Laufbahn des Berufsmusikers. Nur zu verständlich, dass die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Orchester für Kirill Petrenko und die Berliner Philharmoniker einen besonderen Stellenwert besitzt. Bereits 2009 hatte der Dirigent mit dem BJO ein ebenso spannendes wie herausforderndes Programm einstudiert und aufgeführt: Arthur Honeggers musikalische Schilderung einer Dampflokomotive Pacific 231, Tan Duns Paper Concerto sowie Igor Strawinskys mystischer Feuervogel bildeten eine Klangreise von Russland nach China. »Kirill Petrenko erwies sich in programmatischer und pädagogischer Hinsicht als Idealbesetzung, ein Lokführer, der das Feuer seiner Mannschaft zu entfachen verstand«, hieß es in der Besprechung der Neuen Musikzeitung.

Mitreißendes Programm

Auch dieses Mal steht ein Werk Strawinskys auf dem Programm: sein provokantes, skandalträchtiges Balletts Le Sacre du printemps, das vor allem durch seine rhythmische Intensität besticht. Tanzmusik ganz anderer Art sind die Symphonischen Tänze aus Leonard Bernsteins Erfolgsmusical West Side Story mit ihrer kongenialen Mischung aus Jazz, Klassik und lateinamerikanischen Rhythmen. Neben den vom Tanz inspirierten Kompositionen von Bernstein und Strawinsky führt das Bundesjugendorchester unter der Leitung von Kirill Petrenko noch ein zeitgenössisches Werk auf: das Konzert für Pauke und Orchester Nr. 1 von William Kraft, der selbst gelernter Pauker ist und die Möglichkeiten seines Instruments wirkungsvoll ausreizt. Solist ist der philharmonische Solopauker Wieland Welzel.

Bundesjugendorchester 2018
(Foto: Selina Pfrüner)
2009: Kirill Petrenko probt mit dem Bundesjugendorchester
(Foto: Peter Adamik)
2013: Die Berliner Philharmoniker übernehmen die Patenschaft für das Bundesjugendorchester
(Foto: Peter Adamik)