The PalaisPopulaire of the Deutsche Bank

A place for critical discourse, a think tank and a cultural laboratory

(Photo: PalaisPopulaire/Deutsche Bank/Mathias Schormann)

The address could not sound more prestigious: Unter den Linden 5. Commonly known as the “Prinzessinnenpalais” (princesses palace), the building has been home to Deutsche Bank’s PalaisPopulaire for nine months. The renowned architectural firm of Kuehn Malvezzi was commissioned to redesign the building. The architects retained the Baroque facade and designed modern exhibition rooms in the interior. The PalaisPopulaire is a real eye-catcher. In an interview with Oliver Hilmes, Thorsten Strauß, who as Global Head Art, Culture & Sports is responsible for Deutsche Bank’s international activities in these three areas, Svenja von Reichenbach, the director of the PalaisPopulaire, and her deputy, Sara Bernshausen, introduce the concept of this unusual space.

128: Mr Strauß, you are the head of the Art, Culture & Sports unit at Deutsche Bank. The combination of art, culture and sports is unusual. What do you expect to achieve with this combination?
Thorsten Strauß
: When this area was established three years ago, the focus was on creating synergies. We want to consolidate our activities in the three areas of art, culture and sports in order to provide completely new experiences for the public, our customers and employees. Our goal is to bring people together and in this way help shape our community. Art, culture and sports play an important role in this context.

Which role...?
Thorsten Strauß:
To begin with, it is about critical discourse, creativity and inspiration. Anyone who is involved in art and culture thinks outside the box. Art is a very effective instrument with which one can question one’s own views. Suddenly many things seem possible if one only has the courage to imagine new things. Art can do that.

And what significance does sports have in these considerations?
Thorsten Strauß:
In sports, people also enter into an exchange; in the end, they compare their achievements with each other. However, social factors like motivation and fairness are also important. We can learn a great deal from sports.

Ms von Reichenbach, in 1997, Deutsche Bank opened the Deutsche Guggenheim in cooperation with New York’s Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, an exhibition space which continued from 2013 as the Deutsche Bank KunstHalle. How does the PalaisPopulaire differ from the former KunstHalle?
Svenja von Reichenbach:
The KunstHalle, as the name indicates, was a traditional exhibition hall. The PalaisPopulaire, on the other hand, offers an exciting mixture of art, culture and sports. We have around 900 square metres at our disposal, approximately three times as much space as before. As a result, in addition to changing exhibitions with international partners, at the same time we can present exhibitions from Deutsche Bank’s collection. However, the PalaisPopulaire is much more than a museum or art gallery. In addition to our exhibition spaces, we have two event rooms in which we can offer a wide-ranging supporting programme – from education workshops and artists’ talks to concerts, readings and film screenings. Thus the Palais is also a place for critical discourse, a think tank and a cultural laboratory.

And what is “popular” about the PalaisPopulaire?
Sara Bernshausen:
We are popular in the sense that we are inviting and not exclusive. We focus on artistically and socially relevant themes and explore them in various ways. The PalaisPopulaire is also synonymous with modern forms of presentation. In addition to a wide range of talks and workshop programmes, we also make use of digital communication. We have developed the PalaisPopulaire app for smartphones. It is a multimedia accompaniment to your visit to the PalaisPopulaire and provides audio guides for adults and children. A calendar function is also integrated into the app, with which the dates of our programmes can easily be stored in your own calendar. Another app – the PalaisPopulaire TimeMachine – invites you take a journey through time and experience the history of the building using augmented reality.

The PalaisPopulaire is housed in a historic building, the former Prinzessinnenpalais...
Svenja von Reichenbach:
This historic location on the boulevard Unter den Linden makes our concept even more exciting. Built as a Rococo palace during the 18th century, the property initially belonged to the Prussian monarchy. After the First World War it was already used as a museum. Completely destroyed during the Second World War, it was restored as an opera cafe during the 1960s by the Bauhaus-trained architect Richard Paulick. German and European history becomes more concrete as a result of this diverse usage. We are pleased and proud that this building, which originally served as the residence of the ruling family, as the PalaisPopulaire is now a modern relay station for cultural and social dialogue.

The PalaisPopulaire was opened to the public in September 2018 with the fascinating show The World on Paper. What is next on the agenda? What are your further plans for 2019?
Thorsten Strauß:
On 20 June we will open the exhibition summer of love – art, fashion, and rock and roll. It is an homage to the year 1967, when hundreds of thousands of people flocked to San Francisco to celebrate the summer of love there. In cooperation with the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, we will present costumes, record covers, posters and photographs, along with interactive music and light shows and avant-garde films. This show, which I am very much looking forward to, again demonstrates the goal of the PalaisPopulaire very clearly: to think outside the box and make an entire era – the late 1960s – come alive for all the senses. In mid-November, we will introduce Beirut-born Caline Aoun, Deutsche Bank’s Artist of the Year. We will also continue to develop new formats and new international partnerships in 2019.

Deutsche Bank has been the partner of the Berliner Philharmoniker since 1989.

 

This interview originally appeared in the magazine 128 (in German), which is available in our online shop and at the Philharmonie.

Das PalaisPopulaire der Deutschen Bank

Ein Ort für kritischen Diskurs, Kreativität und Inspiration

(Foto: PalaisPopulaire/Deutsche Bank/Mathias Schormann)

Die Adresse könnte nicht glanzvoller klingen: Unter den Linden 5. Im Volksmund heißt das hier stehende Gebäude »Prinzessinnenpalais«, seit einem dreiviertel Jahr beheimatet es das PalaisPopulaire der Deutschen Bank. Mit der Umgestaltung wurde das renommierte Architekturbüro Kuehn Malvezzi beauftragt: Die Architekten behielten die barocke Fassade bei und entwarfen im Inneren moderne Ausstellungsräume. Das PalaisPopulaire ist ein echter Hingucker. Im Gespräch mit Oliver Hilmes stellen Thorsten Strauß, der als Global Head Art, Culture & Sports das weltweite künstlerische, kulturelle und sportliche Engagement der Deutschen Bank verantwortet, sowie Svenja von Reichenbach, die Leiterin des PalaisPopulaire und ihre Stellvertreterin Sara Bernshausen das Konzept dieses ungewöhnlichen Orts vor.

Herr Strauß, Sie leiten bei der Deutschen Bank den Bereich Art, Culture & Sports. Die Kombination von Kunst, Kultur und Sport ist ungewöhnlich. Was versprechen Sie sich von dieser Zusammenfassung?
Thorsten Strauß
: Als der Bereich vor drei Jahren eingerichtet wurde, stand die Schaffung von Synergien im Mittelpunkt. Wir wollen unser Engagement in den drei Feldern Kunst, Kultur und Sport bündeln, um der Öffentlichkeit, unseren Kunden und Mitarbeitern ganz neue Erfahrungen zu ermöglichen. Ziel ist es, Menschen zusammenzubringen und so unser Gemeinwesen mitzugestalten. Kunst, Kultur und Sport spielen in diesem Zusammenhang wichtige Rollen.

Welche …?
Thorsten Strauß:
Es geht zunächst um den kritischen Diskurs, um Kreativität und Inspiration. Wer sich mit Kunst und Kultur auseinandersetzt, denkt eher über den Tellerrand hinaus. Kunst ist ein sehr wirksames Instrument, mit dessen Hilfe man die eigenen Positionen hinterfragen kann. Vieles scheint auf einmal möglich, wenn man nur den Mut hatte, Neues zu denken. Kunst ist dazu in der Lage.

Und welche Bedeutung hat der Sport bei diesen Überlegungen?
Thorsten Strauß
: Auch beim Sport treten Menschen in einen Austausch, schließlich messen sie ihre Leistungen miteinander. Wichtig sind aber auch soziale Faktoren wie Motivation und Fairness. Wir können viel von Sportlern lernen.

Frau von Reichenbach, 1997 eröffnete die Deutsche Bank in Zusammenarbeit mit der New Yorker Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation die Ausstellungshalle Deutsche Guggenheim, die seit 2013 als Deutsche Bank KunstHalle weitergeführt wurde. Wodurch unterscheidet sich das PalaisPopulaire von der bisherigen KunstHalle?
Svenja von Reichenbach
: War die KunstHalle, wie der Name schon sagt, eine klassische Ausstellungshalle, bietet das PalaisPopulaire eine spannende Mischung aus Kunst, Kultur und Sport. Dabei steht uns mit rund 900 Quadratmetern ungefähr dreimal so viel Fläche wie bisher zur Verfügung. Dadurch können wir neben wechselnden Ausstellungen mit internationalen Partnern gleichzeitig Ausstellungen aus der Sammlung Deutsche Bank zeigen. Doch das PalaisPopulaire ist weit mehr als ein Museum oder eine Kunsthalle. Zusätzlich zur Ausstellungsfläche haben wir zwei Veranstaltungsräume, in denen wir ein breit gefächertes Rahmenprogramm anbieten – von Education-Workshops und Künstlergesprächen über Konzerte, Lesungen bis zu Filmvorführungen. Das Palais ist also auch ein Ort des kritischen Diskurses, eine Ideenwerkstatt und ein kulturelles Labor.

Und was ist das »Populäre« am Palais-Populaire?
Sara Bernshausen
: Wir sind populär im Sinne von einladend und nicht ausgrenzend. Wir setzen auf künstlerisch und gesellschaftlich relevante Themen und vermitteln diese auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise. Dabei steht das PalaisPopulaire auch für zeitgemäße Präsentationsformen. Neben vielfältigen Talk- und Workshopangeboten setzen wir auch auf digitale Vermittlung. Wir haben die »PalaisPopulaire App« für Smartphones entwickelt. Sie ist der multimediale Begleiter für den Besuch im Haus und bietet Audioguides für Erwachsene und Kinder. Darüber hinaus ist in die App eine Kalenderfunktion integriert, mit deren Hilfe man unsere Programmtermine problemlos in den eigenen Kalender übertragen kann. Eine weitere App – die »PalaisPopulaire TimeMachine« – lädt mithilfe von Augmented Reality zu einer Zeitreise in die Geschichte des Hauses ein und lässt diese miterleben.

Das PalaisPopulaire ist in einem historischen Gebäude, dem einstigen Prinzessinnenpalais, zu Hause …
Svenja von Reichenbach
: Diese historische Verortung auf dem Boulevard Unter den Linden verleiht unserem Konzept zusätzlich Spannung. Im 18. Jahrhundert als Rokoko-Palais erbaut, war das Anwesen zunächst Teil der preußischen Monarchie. Dann, nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg, wurde es schon einmal als Museum genutzt. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg komplett zerstört, erfolgte in den 1960er-Jahren der Wiederaufbau durch den Bauhaus-Schüler Richard Paulick als Operncafé. In dieser vielfältigen Nutzung kristallisiert sich deutsche und europäische Geschichte. Dass ein Gebäude, das ursprünglich der Herrscherfamilie als Wohnhaus diente, heute als PalaisPopulaire eine moderne Relaisstation des kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Dialogs darstellt, freut uns und macht uns stolz.

Das PalaisPopulaire wurde im September 2018 mit der faszinierenden Schau The World on Paper der Öffentlichkeit übergeben. Was steht demnächst auf dem Programm? Wie sind die weiteren Pläne für 2019?
Thorsten Strauß
: Am 20. Juni eröffnen wir die Ausstellung summer of love – art, fashion, and rock and roll. Dabei geht es um eine Hommage an das Jahr 1967, als Hunderttausende nach San Francisco kamen, um dort den »Summer of Love« zu feiern. In Zusammenarbeit mit den Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco präsentieren wir Kostüme, Plattencover, Poster und Fotografien. Wir zeigen aber auch interaktive Musik- und Lichtshows sowie Avantgardefilme. Diese Schau, auf die ich mich sehr freue, macht noch einmal sehr schön den Anspruch des PalaisPopulaire deutlich: über den Tellerrand schauen und eine ganze Epoche – hier die der späten 1960er-Jahre – mit allen Sinnen erlebbar machen. Und Mitte November präsentieren wir mit der in Beirut geborenen Caline Aoun den »Artist of the Year« der Deutschen Bank. Außerdem arbeiten wir 2019 weiter an neuen Formaten und neuen internationalen Kooperationen.

Die Deutsche Bank ist seit 1989 Partner der Berliner Philharmoniker.

Das Interview ist ein Originalbeitrag für das Magazin 128, das in unserem Online-Shop und in der Philharmonie erhältlich ist.