The Unconventional

Paavo Järvi conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi
(Photo: Julia Baier)

“I grew up with recordings of the Berliner Philharmoniker. We listened to them almost every day,” says Paavo Järvi in an interview with at the Digital Concert Hall. It is no surprise that the native Estonian comes from a famous family of musicians. Both father Neeme and brother Kristjan are conductors. He grew up in the profession, so to speak. And not only that: thanks to his father’s profession, he met many great musicians and composers of the Soviet Union as a child in his parents’ house: Dmitri Shostakovich, David Oistrakh, Mstislav Rostropovich, Gennady Rozhdestvensky ... Estonia, especially the resort Pärnu, where the Järvi family went on holiday, was a favourite destination for artists of the former Soviet Union. Paavo’s childhood and youth were marked by the strict rules and rituals of Soviet everyday life. “I’m definitely a Soviet kid, if you can say that,” he says. In 1980, the family left Estonia and emigrated to the United States. The then 17-year-old consequently had the opportunity to study at the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia and to attend summer courses with Leonard Bernstein.

Offspring of a family of conductors

In 2004, he became head of the Kammerphilharmonie Bremen where he caused a sensation with his fresh, unconventional approach to the standard repertoire – and enchanted audiences with his interpretations of Beethoven at first, then later of Brahms. Järvi, who is also head of the NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokyo and the Estonia Festival Orchestra and principal conductor and artistic director designate of the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2000 at the age of 38. “If I had known then what I know today, I would not have agreed,” he confides with a smile. In recent years, the collaboration between orchestra and conductor has intensified. In the 2017/2018 season, he conducted the traditional European concert on 1 May, which took place in the Margravial Opera House in Bayreuth. To be able to conduct the orchestra at this event was a great honour: “I’m a big fan of the European concerts, I’ve actually been watching it throughout years, and always look where the next location is.” He then gave a guest performance in Berlin which included Sibelius’ Violin Concerto with Lisa Batiashvili as the soloist.

Two times in Berlin

In this season too, Paavo Järvi makes two guest appearances with the orchestra: in October 2018, he conducts Witold Lutosławski’s Concerto for Orchestra, and the Second Symphony by Johannes Brahms. At the end of May 2019, he returns to conduct Johann Sebastian Bach’s Musical Offering in a transcription by Anton Webern, Alban Berg’s Seven Early Songs with Hanna-Elisabeth Müller as the soloist, and Anton Bruckner’s Second Symphony. He enjoys his time with the Berliner Philharmoniker – as he also revealed in the Digital Concert Hall – because every single member of this orchestra is a master of their craft.

Concerts

Thursday,

23 May 2019,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: I

Thu, 23 May 2019, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller soprano

Works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Alban Berg and Anton Bruckner

read more

Friday,

24 May 2019,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: L

Fri, 24 May 2019, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller soprano

Works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Alban Berg and Anton Bruckner

read more

Saturday,

25 May 2019,
19:00

Philharmonie

Serie: N

Sat, 25 May 2019, 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller soprano

Works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Alban Berg and Anton Bruckner

read more watch online

Der Unkonventionelle

Paavo Järvi am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi
(Foto: Julia Baier)

»Ich wuchs mit Aufnahmen der Berliner Philharmoniker auf. Wir haben sie fast täglich gehört«, erzählt Paavo Järvi in einem Gespräch in der Digital Concert Hall. Kein Wunder, stammt der gebürtige Este doch  aus einer berühmten Musikerfamilie. Sowohl Vater Neeme als auch Bruder Kristjan sind Dirigenten. Er ist sozusagen mit diesem Metier aufgewachsen. Und nicht nur das: Dank des Berufs des Vater lernte er viele große Musiker und Komponisten der Sowjetunion als Kind in seinem Elternhaus persönlich kennen: Dmitri Schostakowitsch, David Oistrach, Mstislaw Rostropowitsch, Gennadi Roschdestwenski… Estland, vor allem der Kurort Pärnu, wo die Familie Järvi Ferien machte, war für Künstler der damaligen Sowjetunion ein beliebtestes Reiseziel. Paavos Kindheit und Jugend war von den strengen Regeln und Ritualen des sowjetischen Alltags geprägt. »Ich bin definitiv ein sowjetisches Kind, wenn man das so sagen kann«, meint er. 1980 verließ die Familie Estland und emigrierte in die USA. Der damals 17-Jährige erhielt dadurch die Gelegenheit am Curtis Institute in Philadelphia zu studieren und Sommerkurse bei Leonard Bernstein zu besuchen.

Spross einer Dirigentenfamilie

2004 wurde er Chef der Kammerphilharmonie Bremen und sorgte in dieser Funktion für Aufsehen, weil er mit frischem, unkonventionellen Blick an das Standardrepertoire heranging und zunächst als Beethoven- und später als Brahms-Interpret begeisterte. Järvi, zudem Chef des NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokio und des Estonia Festival Orchestra sowie designierter Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Tonhalle-Orchesters Zürich, gab im Jahr 2000 im Alter von 38 Jahren sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern. »Wenn ich damals gewusst hätte, was ich heute weiß, hätte ich mich noch nicht darauf eingelassen«, gesteht er schmunzelnd. In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Orchester und Dirigent intensiviert. In der Saison 2017/2018 leitete er das traditionelle Europakonzert am 1. Mai, das im Markgräflichen Opernhaus Bayreuth stattfandet. Bei diesem Ereignis am Pult des Orchesters stehen zu dürfen, empfand er als große Ehre: »Ich bin ein großer Fan der Europakonzerte, verfolge immer die Fernsehübertragungen und schaue stets, wo das nächste stattfindet.« Im Anschluss gab er noch ein Gastspiel in Berlin u.a. mit Sibelius’ Violinkonzert und Lisa Batiashvili als Solistin.

Zweimal zu Gast

Auch in dieser Saison ist Paavo Järvi zweimal Gast des Orchesters: Im Oktober 2018 dirigiert er Witold Lutosławskis Konzert für Orchester und die Zweite Symphonie von Johannes Brahms. Ende Mai 2019 kehrt er zurück und dirigiert Johann Sebastian Bachs Musikalisches Opfer, arrangiert von Anton Webern, Alban Bergs Sieben frühe Lieder mit Hanna-Elisabeth Müller als Solistin und Anton Bruckners Zweite Symphonie. Die Zeit mit den Berliner Philharmonikern – auch das verriet er in der Digital Concert Hall – genieße er besonders, weil jedes einzelne Mitglied in diesem Orchester, ein Meister seines Fachs sei.

Konzerte

Donnerstag,

23. Mai 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: I

Do, 23. Mai 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi Dirigent

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller Sopran

Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach, Alban Berg und Anton Bruckner

mehr lesen

Freitag,

24. Mai 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: L

Fr, 24. Mai 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi Dirigent

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller Sopran

Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach, Alban Berg und Anton Bruckner

mehr lesen

Samstag,

25. Mai 2019,
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: N

Sa, 25. Mai 2019, 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi Dirigent

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller Sopran

Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach, Alban Berg und Anton Bruckner

mehr lesen online sehen