Alan Gilbert, Marek Janowski and Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Conduct the Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin
(Photo: Hans van der Woerd)

In the coming weeks, three guest conductors who could hardly be more different in temperament take the helm of the Philharmoniker: Alan Gilbert, Marek Janowski and Yannick Nézet-Séguin. What they all have in common is that their collaboration with the orchestra has intensified more and more in recent years.

From New York to the Elbe

Since Alan Gilbert stepped in at short notice for an indisposed Bernard Haitink in February 2006, the native New Yorker has been one of the orchestra’s regular guests. As he revealed in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, the biggest challenge facing him as a conductor is how to strike a balance between the overall architecture and the details of a composition. Only then is it possible to make the music really flow. What fascinates him about the Berliner Philharmoniker is that each musician has the character of a soloist who nevertheless manages to merge seamlessly with the overall sound. "As a result of this, a very special kind of group energy is created." In his concert programs, he likes to include composers and works that are rarely performed in concerts, such as Bohuslav Martinů's Fourth Symphony, Leoš Janáček's violin concerto Putování dušičky (The Wandering of a Little Soul), Magnus Lindberg's composition Kraft or pieces by his fellow American John Adams. During his last visit, Alan Gilbert, who from 2009 to 2017 was the first New Yorker to lead the New York Philharmonic and from 2019 is the head of the NDR Elbphilharmonie orchestra, conducted works by Thomas Adès and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart plus Claude Debussy's Images pour orchestre. It was an evening full of high tension. According to the Berliner Zeitung, Gilbert knew “how to unfold the music with both power and subtlety”. On this occasion too, he will conduct an unusual programme with the European premiere of Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s Metacosmo, Sergei Prokofiev’s Second Violin Concerto with Lisa Batiashvili as the soloist, and Richard Strauss’ Symphonia domestica.

Bruckner specialist

Marek Janowski, who was born in Warsaw and grew up in Germany, is associated in the minds of Berlin audiences with one orchestra in particular: the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, whose chief conductor he was between was between 2002-2016. Less well-known, however, is his work together with the Berliner Philharmoniker, with whom Janowski made his debut in 1976 at the age of 37. The then chief conductor of the Dortmunder Philharmoniker introduced himself as a compelling interpreter of the First Viennese School and German Romanticism with works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Carl Mariavon Weber and Felix Mendelssohn. Until the mid-1990s, his concert programmes focused predominantly on the Classical-Romantic repertoire. After a break of more than 20 years, Marek Janowski returned to the Philharmoniker in 2017 and conducted performances of Giuseppe Verdi’s Messa da Requiem, standing in for an indisposed Riccardo Chailly. Only a few months later, he impressed audiences and press alike with three orchestral preludes from Hans Pfitzner’s opera Palestrina and Anton Bruckner’s Fourth Symphony, whose monumental architectonics and contrasting moods he knew how to make both touching and effective. This season, he returns to conduct Bruckner: he will perform the Sixth, which the composer described as his “boldest” symphony, plus the E minor Mass, whose orchestration, consisting entirely of wind instruments, evokes a uniquely archaic atmosphere.

A rising star

The 43-year-old Yannick Nézet-Séguin can already look back on a remarkable career: born in Canada, and a pupil of Carlo Maria Giulinis, he has been music director of the Metropolitan Opera New York since the beginning of this season; moreover, since 2012 he has been head of the Philadelphia Orchestra and artistic director and principal conductor of the Orchestre Métropolitain in Montreal since 2000. The young conductor also receives regular invitations to appear with international orchestras such as the Vienna Philharmonic, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Orchestre National de France and the Los Angeles Philharmonic, as well as at major opera houses such as Covent Garden in London and La Scala in Milan. He introduced himself at the Berlin Philharmonie on 21 October 2010 with works by Olivier Messiaen, Sergei Prokofiev and Hector Berlioz. Like Alan Gilbert, he has shown a penchant for unusual programming in his performances with the Philharmoniker: for example, at his last appearance in October 2017, he juxtaposed Johannes Brahms’ Deutsches Requiem with the cantata Heilig by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. His next programme is composed of Maurice Ravel’s Menuet antique, Claude Debussy’s La Mer and Sergei Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony. The great appreciation the Philharmoniker show for him is also demonstrated by the fact that Yannick Nézet-Séguin then goes on a short tour with the orchestra to Hamburg, Wrocław, Katowice and Paris. As the conductor revealed in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, he is very happy about the collaboration with the orchestra: “I feel there is a certain level of trust we have together. I think that is the most beautiful thing to treasure and go deeper and deeper into the music when we know each other.”

Alan Gilbert
(Photo: Peter Hundert)
Marek Janowski
(Photo: Felix Broede)

Listen


The conductors in the Digital Concert Hall

Alan Gilbert, Marek Janowski und Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin
(Foto: Hans van der Woerd)

In den kommenden Wochen stehen drei Gastdirigenten am Pult der Philharmoniker, die vom Temperament wohl kaum unterschiedlicher sein könnten: Alan Gilbert, Marek Janowski und Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Alle drei verbindet, dass sich die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Orchester in den letzten Jahren immer mehr intensiviert hat.

Von New York an die Elbe

Seit Alan Gilbert im Februar 2006 kurzfristig für den erkrankten Bernard Haitink eingesprungen ist, zählt der gebürtige New Yorker zu den regelmäßigen Gästen des Orchesters. Wie er in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall verriet, liegt für ihn als Dirigent die größte Herausforderung darin, eine ausgewogene Balance zwischen der Gesamtarchitektur und den Details einer Komposition zu schaffen. Nur dann gelinge es, die Musik wirklich zum Fließen zu bringen. An den Berliner Philharmonikern fasziniere ihn, dass jeder Musiker die Persönlichkeit eines Solisten besitze, sich aber dennoch problemlos in den Gesamtklang einfügen könne. »Dadurch entsteht eine ganz besondere Art von Gruppenenergie.« In seinen Konzertprogrammen widmet er sich gerne Komponisten und Werken, die eher selten im normalen Konzertbetrieb erklingen, beispielsweise Bohuslav Martinůs Vierte Symphonie, Leoš Janáčeks Violinkonzert Putování dušičky (Wanderung einer kleinen Seele), Magnus Lindbergs Komposition Kraft oder Stücken seines Landsmann John Adams. Bei seinem letzte Besuch dirigierte Alan Gilbert, der von 2009 bis 2017 als erster New Yorker Chef der New York Philharmonic war und ab 2019 das NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester leitet, neben Werken von Thomas Adès und Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart auch Claude Debussys Images pour orchestre. Ein Abend voller Hochspannung – so die Berliner Zeitung – sei es gewesen. Gilbert wusste »die Musik subtil wie zupackend zu entfalten.« Auch dieses Mal leitet er mit der europäischen Erstaufführung von Anna Thorvaldsdottirs Metacosmo, Sergej Prokofjews Zweitem Violinkonzert mit Lisa Batiashvili als Solistin und Richard Straussʼ Symphonia domestica ein ungewöhnliches Programm.

Spezialist für Bruckner

Den Namen Marek Janowski verbindet das Berliner Publikum vor allem mit einem Klangkörper: dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, dessen Chef der in Warschau geborene und in Deutschland aufgewachsene Dirigent von 2002 bis 2016 war. Weniger präsent hingegen ist seine Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, bei denen Janowski 1976 im Alter von 37 Jahren debütierte. Der damalige Chefdirigent der Dortmunder Philharmoniker stellte sich mit Werken von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Carl Maria von Weber und Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy als überzeugender Interpret der Wiener Klassik und der deutschen Romantik vor. Bis Mitte der 1990er-Jahre bediente er in seinen Konzerten überwiegend das klassisch-romantische Repertoire. Nach einer Pause von mehr als 20 Jahren kehrte Marek Janowski 2017 zu den Philharmonikern zurück und dirigierte anstelle des erkrankten Riccardo Chailly die Aufführungen von Giuseppe Verdis Messa da Requiem. Nur wenige Monate später beeindruckte er Publikum wie Presse mit Orchestervorspielen aus Hans Pfitzners Oper Palestrina und Anton Bruckners Vierter Symphonie, deren monumentale Architektonik und kontrastierende Stimmungen er berührend und wirkungsvoll zu gestalten wusste. In dieser Saison ist er wieder als Bruckner-Interpret zu erleben: So widmet er sich der Sechsten, die der Komponist als seine »keckste« Symphonie bezeichnete, sowie der e-Moll-Messe, deren ausschließlich aus Blasinstrumenten bestehender Orchestersatz eine ganz eigene, archaische Atmosphäre heraufbeschwört.

Ein Shooting-Star

Der 43-jährige Yannick Nézet-Séguin kann bereits auf eine bemerkenswerte Karriere zurückblicken: Der gebürtige Kanadier, ein Zögling Carlo Maria Giulinis, ist seit Beginn dieser Spielzeit  Musikdirektor der Metropolitan Opera New York; darüber hinaus seit 2012 Chef des Philadelphia Orchestra sowie seit 2000 Artistic Director und Principal Conductor des Orchestre Métropolitain in Montreal. Auch internationale Spitzenorchester wie die Wiener Philharmoniker, die Staatskapelle Dresden, das Orchestre National de France oder das Los Angeles Philharmonic und große Opernhäuser wie der Londoner Covent Garden und die Mailänder Scala laden den jungen Dirigenten immer wieder ein. Bei den Berliner Philharmonikern stellte er sich am 21. Oktober 2010 mit Werken von Olivier Messiaen, Sergej Prokofjew und Hector Berlioz vor. Wie Alan Gilbert beweist er bei seinen philharmonischen Auftritten ein Faible für ungewöhnliche Programmzusammenstellungen: Bei seinem letzten Auftritt im Oktober 2017 beispielsweise stellte er das Deutsche Requiem von Johannes Brahms der Kantate Heilig von Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach gegenüber. Sein nächstes Programm setzt sich aus Maurice Ravels Menuet antique, Claude Debussys La Mer und Sergej Prokofjews Fünfter Symphonie zusammen. Wie groß die Wertschätzung ist, die ihm die Philharmoniker entgegenbringen, zeigt sich auch darin, dass Yannick Nézet-Séguin mit dem Orchester anschließend auf eine kleine Tournee geht, die nach Hamburg, Breslau, Kattowitz und Paris führt. Der Dirigent ist wie er in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall verriet über die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Orchester sehr beglückt: »Es hat sich ein gewisses Vertrauen aufgebaut. Und je besser man sich kennt, desto intensiver kann man sich mit der Musik auseinandersetzen.«

Alan Gilbert
(Foto: Peter Hundert)
Marek Janowski
(Foto: Felix Broede)

Hören Sie rein!


Die Dirigenten in der Digital Concert Hall

Konzerte

Freitag,

22. Feb 2019,
20:30 Uhr

Philharmonie, Paris

Konzertreise

Fr, 22. Feb 2019, 20:30 Uhr
Philharmonie, Paris

Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Dirigent

Werke von Claude Debussy und Sergej Prokofjew

mehr lesen