Composer in Residence 2018/2019

George Benjamin

George Benjamin
(Photo: Matthew Lloyd)

During the 2018/2019 season the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation will place a major focus on the English composer and conductor George Benjamin, covering the full artistic spectrum of his works for the first time in Berlin. Seven concerts will be devoted to operatic, piano, chamber and orchestral works by the composer, three of which will be presented in collaboration with the Musikfest Berlin.

Composer and conductor

George Benjamin, a student of Olivier Messiaen and Alexander Goehr, felt a calling to music at a very early age. He began composing when he was seven and as a twelve-year-old already had only one goal: to write operas. His success as a composer began with an instrumental work in 1980, however: Ringed by the Flat Horizon, which he dedicated to his teacher, Olivier Messiaen. His studies with Messiaen made a deep impression on him: the humanity of his teacher, his boundless passion for music, his feeling for harmonies and his novel ideas on rhythm were an inspiration to George Benjamin, although – as he points out – he has since diverged considerably from the aesthetic standpoint of his teacher. George Benjamin combines two passions which are completely different in his opinion: conducting and composing. “Conducting is very sociable and almost a physical activity,” he explains. “Composing, on the other hand, is purely in the head. It has to be very quiet, and you need unending patience for it. But I love both!” During the coming season the Berlin concert public will be able to experience Benjamin in these two very different roles.

Superimposed musical layers

Benjamin made his debut conducting the Berliner Philharmoniker with Ringed by the Flat Horizon in 2006, an occasion he recalls with pleasure. “I still remember the exceptional quality of the orchestra’s sound, the resonance and depth of sound from the bass! It is extraordinary.” Together with the Philharmoniker Benjamin will present his two-part orchestral work Palimpsests, in which he creates a fascinating soundscape of superimposed musical layers. When one considers George Benjamin’s oeuvre in its entirety it is obvious that each of his works tends to differ significantly in character from the previous work. According to the English musicologist and composer David Wright, “His characteristically slow method of working is connected to a detailed analysis of the material created and his understanding of the consequences it has for the compositional process and the musical result of each individual work.” Moreover, Benjamin has a keen instinct for surprising, often ingenious combinations of instruments.

Brilliant fusion of music and language

He was not able to fulfil his heart’s desire to compose operas until relatively late. The decisive moment for him was his meeting with the English playwright Martin Crimp, who supplied him with the ideal librettos. Benjamin’s chamber opera Into the Little Hill, based on the myth of the Pied Piper of Hamelin, was premiered in 2006. It was followed in 2012 by the opera Written on Skin, which was drawn from a medieval legend and tells a moving story of love, power and cruelty. Although both works are set in the distant past, the subject matter is incredibly current. “The way Martin Crimp combines the very modern with the very old has a magical charm for me.” What distinguishes the two stage works, which will be heard in Berlin for the first time, is their brilliant fusion of music and language. Written on Skin was composed for the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, whose transparent sound and marvellous articulation Benjamin had in mind while composing the work. The Mahler Chamber Orchestra will present both operas in the Philharmonie, with George Benjamin conducting.

During the Philharmonic chamber concert series the Scharoun Ensemble Berlin will perform his Octet, and the Musikfest Berlin will devote a matinee to Benjamin featuring pianist Florent Boffard. The Education Programme of the Berliner Philharmoniker will also contribute to the focus on Benjamin and is developing a creative project based on Into the Little Hill.

(Photo: A. Bofill)

Concerts

Saturday,

08 Sep 2018,
19:00

Philharmonie

Serie: B

Sat, 08 Sep 2018, 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

George Benjamin conductor

ChorWerk Ruhr

Cédric Tiberghien piano

Works by Pierre Boulez, Maurice Ravel, György Ligeti and George Benjamin

read more

Sunday,

09 Sep 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: L

Sun, 09 Sep 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

George Benjamin conductor

ChorWerk Ruhr

Cédric Tiberghien piano

Works by Pierre Boulez, Maurice Ravel, György Ligeti and George Benjamin

read more

Wednesday,

12 Sep 2018,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Musikfest Berlin

Wed, 12 Sep 2018, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Isabelle Faust violin

Anne Katharina Schreiber violin

Antoine Tamestit viola

Danusha Waskiewicz viola

Jean-Guihen Queyras cello

Marie-Elisabeth Hecker cello

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

George Benjamin conductor

Susanna Andersson soprano

Krisztina Szabó contralto

Works by Arnold Schoenberg and George Benjamin

read more

Monday,

12 Nov 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Chamber Music | Non-subscription concert chamber music

Mon, 12 Nov 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

George Benjamin conductor

Evan Hughes bass baritone (The Protector)

Georgia Jarman soprano (Agnes)

Bejun Mehta Countertenor (Angel 1/The Boy)

Victoria Simmonds mezzo-soprano (Angel 2/Marie)

Robert Murray tenor (Angel 3/John)

Benjamin Davis stage direction

George Benjamin Written on Skin

read more

Sunday,

20 Jan 2019,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Karajan Academy | Serie: KA

Sun, 20 Jan 2019, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Scholars of the Karajan Academy

Gregor Mayrhofer conductor

Sophie Klußmann soprano

Works by Luigi Dallapiccola, Claudio Ambrosini, Stefano Gervasoni, George Benjamin, Gregor Mayrhofer and Franz Schreker

read more

Saturday,

16 Feb 2019,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Serie: Q

Sat, 16 Feb 2019, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Scharoun Ensemble Berlin

and Guests

Rinnat Moriah soprano

Works by George Benjamin, Arnold Schoenberg, Mark Andre and Sofia Gubaidulina

read more

Monday,

15 Apr 2019,
11:00

Museum Frieder Burda

Tour

Mon, 15 Apr 2019, 11:00
Museum Frieder Burda

Scholars of the Karajan Academy

Gregor Mayrhofer conductor

Sophie Klußmann soprano

Works by Luigi Dallapiccola, Claudio Ambrosini, Stefano Gervasoni, George Benjamin, Gregor Mayrhofer and Franz Schreker

read more

Composer in Residence 2018/2019

George Benjamin

George Benjamin
(Foto: Matthew Lloyd)

In der Spielzeit 2018/2019 widmet die Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker dem Komponisten und Dirigenten George Benjamin einen großen Schwerpunkt, der den gebürtigen Engländer zum ersten Mal in seiner künstlerischen Bandbreite in Berlin präsentiert: Von den insgesamt sieben Konzerten mit Opern, Klavier-, Kammermusik- und Orchesterwerken von ihm, finden drei in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Musikfest Berlin statt.

Komponist und Dirigent

George Benjamin, ein Schüler von Olivier Messiaen und Alexander Goehr, fühlte seine musikalische Berufung schon früh. Mit sieben Jahren begann er zu komponieren, bereits als Zwölfjähriger kannte er nur ein Ziel: Opern schreiben. Seinen Erfolg als Komponist begründete er 1980 allerdings mit einem Instrumentalwerk: Ringed by the Flat Horizon, das er seinem Lehrer Olivier Messiaen widmete. Die Studienzeit bei Messiaen hinterließ tiefe Eindrücke: Die Menschlichkeit seines Lehrers, dessen bedingungslose Leidenschaft für Musik, sein Gespür für Harmonien und seine neuartigen Ideen zur Rhythmik inspirierten George Benjamin, auch wenn er sich heute – wie er betont – von dem ästhetischen Standpunkt seines Lehrers weit entfernt hat. George Benjamin vereint zwei für ihn vollkommen gegensätzliche Leidenschaften, Dirigieren und Komponieren. »Das Dirigieren ist sehr gesellig und eine physische Tätigkeit«, erklärt er. »Das Komponieren geschieht hingegen hauptsächlich im Kopf. Man braucht sehr viel Ruhe und Geduld dazu. Ich liebe beides!« In der kommenden Saison kann das Berliner Konzertpublikum Benjamin auch in den so unterschiedlichen Funktionen erleben.

Faszinierende Klanggewebe

Mit Ringed by the Flat Horizon gab Benjamin 2006 sein Debüt als Dirigent bei den Berliner Philharmonikern, ein Ereignis, auf das er gerne zurückblickt: »Ich erinnere mich noch gut an die außergewöhnliche Klangqualität des Orchesters, diese Klangfülle aus der Tiefe heraus! Das ist unvergleichlich.« Gemeinsam mit den Philharmonikern führt Benjamin nun sein zweiteiliges Orchesterwerk Palimpsests auf, in dem er aus sich überlagernden musikalischen Schichten ein faszinierendes Klanggewebe schafft. Betrachtet man George Benjamins Schaffen im Ganzen, fällt auf, dass sich jedes seiner Werke im Charakter tendenziell vom vorangegangenen Stück merklich unterscheidet. »Seine bezeichnend langsame Schaffensweise«, so der englische Musikwissenschaftler und Komponist David Wright, »hängt mit der detaillierten Analyse des hervorgebrachten Materials zusammen und mit seinem Sinn für die Auswirkungen, die es für den kompositorischen Prozess und das musikalische Resultat jedes einzelnen Werks hat.« Hinzu kommt Benjamins feines Gespür für überraschende, oft raffinierte Kombinationen von Instrumenten.

Kongeniale Durchdringung von Musik und Sprache

Seinen Herzenswunsch, Opern zu komponieren, konnte er sich erst relativ spät erfüllen. Entscheidend dafür wurde für ihn die Begegnung mit dem englischen Dramatiker Martin Crimp, der ihm die idealen Libretti lieferte. 2006 erschien seine auf der Sage vom Rattenfänger von Hameln basierende Kammeroper Into the Little Hill. Es folgte 2012 das Bühnenwerk Written on Skin, das nach einem mittelalterlichen Sagenstoff entstand und eine ergreifende Geschichte um Liebe, Macht und Grausamkeit erzählt. Obwohl in weit zurückliegenden Zeiten angesiedelt, sind beide Stoffe doch von ungeheurer Aktualität. »Die Art wie Martin Crimp das Moderne mit dem Alten mischt, hat für mich einen magischen Zauber«. Was beide Bühnenwerke auszeichnet, die zum ersten Mal überhaupt in Berlin erklingen werden, ist die kongeniale Durchdringung von Musik und Sprache. Written on Skin entstand 2012 für das Mahler Chamber Orchestra, dessen transparenter Klang und wunderbare Artikulationsfähigkeit Benjamin beim Komponieren im Ohr hatte. Das Mahler Chamber Orchestra führt nun beide Opern mit George Benjamin am Pult in der Philharmonie auf.

Im Rahmen der philharmonischen Kammerkonzerte interpretiert das Scharoun Ensemble Berlin sein Oktett, und das Musikfest Berlin widmet Benjamin eine Matinee mit dem Pianisten Florent Boffard. Auch das Education-Programm der Berliner Philharmoniker beteiligt sich am Benjamin-Schwerpunkt und entwickelt ein kreatives Projekt zu Into the Little Hill.

(Foto: A. Bofill)

Konzerte

Samstag,

08. Sep 2018,
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: B

Sa, 08. Sep 2018, 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

George Benjamin Dirigent

ChorWerk Ruhr

Cédric Tiberghien Klavier

Werke von Pierre Boulez, Maurice Ravel, György Ligeti und George Benjamin

mehr lesen

Sonntag,

09. Sep 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: L

So, 09. Sep 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

George Benjamin Dirigent

ChorWerk Ruhr

Cédric Tiberghien Klavier

Werke von Pierre Boulez, Maurice Ravel, György Ligeti und George Benjamin

mehr lesen

Mittwoch,

12. Sep 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Musikfest Berlin

Mi, 12. Sep 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Isabelle Faust Violine

Anne Katharina Schreiber Violine

Antoine Tamestit Viola

Danusha Waskiewicz Viola

Jean-Guihen Queyras Violoncello

Marie-Elisabeth Hecker Violoncello

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

George Benjamin Dirigent

Susanna Andersson Sopran

Krisztina Szabó Alt

Werke von Arnold Schönberg und George Benjamin

mehr lesen

Montag,

12. Nov 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Kammermusik | Sonderkonzert Kammermusik

Mo, 12. Nov 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

George Benjamin Dirigent

Evan Hughes Bassbariton (The Protector)

Georgia Jarman Sopran (Agnes)

Bejun Mehta Countertenor (Angel 1/The Boy)

Victoria Simmonds Mezzosopran (Angel 2/Marie)

Robert Murray Tenor (Angel 3/John)

Benjamin Davis Regie

George Benjamin Written on Skin

mehr lesen

Sonntag,

20. Jan 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Karajan-Akademie | Aboserie: KA

So, 20. Jan 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Stipendiaten der Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Gregor Mayrhofer Dirigent

Sophie Klußmann Sopran

Werke von Luigi Dallapiccola, Claudio Ambrosini, Stefano Gervasoni, George Benjamin, Gregor Mayrhofer und Franz Schreker

mehr lesen

Samstag,

16. Feb 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik | Aboserie: Q

Sa, 16. Feb 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Scharoun Ensemble Berlin

und Gäste

Rinnat Moriah Sopran

Werke von George Benjamin, Arnold Schönberg, Mark Andre und Sofia Gubaidulina

mehr lesen

Montag,

15. Apr 2019,
11:00 Uhr

Museum Frieder Burda

Konzertreise

Mo, 15. Apr 2019, 11:00 Uhr
Museum Frieder Burda

Stipendiaten der Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Gregor Mayrhofer Dirigent

Sophie Klußmann Sopran

Werke von Luigi Dallapiccola, Claudio Ambrosini, Stefano Gervasoni, George Benjamin, Gregor Mayrhofer und Franz Schreker

mehr lesen