Yuja Wang and Seong-Jin Cho

With the Berliner Philharmoniker in Berlin and on tour

Yuja Wang
(Photo: Kirk Edward)

“I had a talent for jumping in for others, to do something quickly,” said Yuja Wang recently in an interview with Stern magazine. And, according to the pianist, this talent has played a decisive role in her successful career. Today, the Chinese-born pianist is one of the global stars of her instrument, but standing in for others is still her metier: after Lang Lang had to cancel his concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker scheduled for November 2017, Yuja Wang agreed to step in for the concerts in Guangzhou, Wuhan, Shanghai and Tokyo, in which she will be the soloist in Béla Bartók’s Second Piano Concerto.

Virtuoso, brilliant, enthralling

Her mother actually wanted Yuja Wang to be a dancer. But the artist from Beijing knew that the only parts of her that could dance were her fingers. And these allowed the Chinese pianist, who studied at the music conservatory in her home town, at Mount Royal College in Calgary and at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia, to fly over the keyboard at breathtaking speed. Yuja Wang has already shown in Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation concerts that in addition to her stupendous technique, she also has an extraordinary flair for musical nuance: both at her debut recital in 2013 and at her orchestral debut in 2015 when she performed Sergei Prokofiev’s Second Piano Concerto. The tenor of the reviews was that her confident performance of the demanding work was wild and impetuous but at the same time totally effortless. The pianist will also perform the Russian composer’s third piano concerto in April 2018 under the direction of Kirill Petrenko. In addition, she makes two appearances this season at the Philharmonie with a piano recital and a chamber music concert.

In search of the perfect sound

For Seong-Jin Cho, who replaces Lang Lang in performances of Maurice Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G major in Berlin and on tour in Frankfurt, Hong Kong and Seoul, this will be the first time he has worked together with the Berliner Philharmoniker. The career of the musician, who comes from Seoul, was launched with two spectacular competition wins: in 2011, he won third prize at the Tchaikovsky competition in Moscow – at just 17 years of age. Four years later, he won the prestigious Chopin competition in Warsaw – the first Korean to do so. He is regarded as one of the most promising pianists of his generation and now performs all over the world. Seong-Jin Cho, whose role models include Krystian Zimerman and Radu Lupu, impresses with his immaculate technique, but for him, this is not what counts most: “For me, it is the sound that is most important,” as he said in an interview for radio station BR-Klassik. “Sometimes it’s very hard to figure out the right sound. It’s something that needs a lot of experience and a lot of time.”

Seong-Jin Cho
(Photo: Harald Hoffmann)

Concerts

Saturday,

04 Nov 2017,
19:00

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert

Sat, 04 Nov 2017, 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Seong-Jin Cho piano

Works by Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel and Johannes Brahms

read more watch online

Monday,

06 Nov 2017,
20:00

Alte Oper Frankfurt

Tour

Mon, 06 Nov 2017, 20:00
Alte Oper Frankfurt

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Seong-Jin Cho piano

Works by Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel and Johannes Brahms

read more

Friday,

10 Nov 2017,
20:00

Hong Kong Cultural Centre

Tour

Fri, 10 Nov 2017, 20:00
Hong Kong Cultural Centre

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Seong-Jin Cho piano

Works by Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel and Johannes Brahms

read more

Sunday,

12 Nov 2017,
20:00

Guangzhou Opera House, Guangzhou

Tour

Sun, 12 Nov 2017, 20:00
Guangzhou Opera House, Guangzhou

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Yuja Wang piano

Works by Richard Strauss, Béla Bartók and Johannes Brahms

read more

Monday,

13 Nov 2017,
20:30

Wuhan Qintai Concert Hall, Wuhan

Tour

Mon, 13 Nov 2017, 20:30
Wuhan Qintai Concert Hall, Wuhan

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Yuja Wang piano

Works by Richard Strauss, Béla Bartók and Johannes Brahms

read more

Thursday,

16 Nov 2017,
19:30

Shanghai Oriental Art Center

Tour

Thu, 16 Nov 2017, 19:30
Shanghai Oriental Art Center

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Yuja Wang piano

Works by Richard Strauss, Béla Bartók and Johannes Brahms

read more

Sunday,

19 Nov 2017,
17:00

Seoul Arts Center

Tour

Sun, 19 Nov 2017, 17:00
Seoul Arts Center

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Seong-Jin Cho piano

Works by Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel and Johannes Brahms

read more

Friday,

24 Nov 2017,
19:00

Suntory Hall, Tokio

Tour

Fri, 24 Nov 2017, 19:00
Suntory Hall, Tokio

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Yuja Wang piano

Works by Richard Strauss, Béla Bartók and Johannes Brahms

read more

Yuja Wang und Seong-Jin Cho

Mit den Berliner Philharmonikern in Berlin und auf Tournee

Yuja Wang
(Foto: Kirk Edward)

»Ich hatte Talent darin, für andere einzuspringen, etwas schnell umzusetzen«, bekannte Yuja Wang unlängst in einem Interview der Zeitschrift Stern. Und dieses Talent – so die Pianistin – habe maßgeblich zu ihrer erfolgreichen Karriere beigetragen. Heute zählt die gebürtige Chinesin zu den pianistischen Weltstars, aber das Einspringen ist immer noch ihr Metier: Nachdem Lang Lang die für den November 2017 geplanten Konzerte mit den Berliner Philharmonikern absagen musste, erklärte sich Yuja Wang bereit, seine Auftritte in Guangzhou, Wuhan, Shanghai und Tokio zu übernehmen, wo sie den Solopart von Béla Bartóks Zweitem Klavierkonzert spielt.

Virtuos, brillant, mitreißend

Ihre Mutter wollte eigentlich aus Yuja Wang eine Tänzerin machen. Doch die aus Peking stammende Künstlerin wusste, an ihr kann nur eines tanzen: ihre Finger. Diese lässt die chinesische Pianistin, die am Musikkonservatorium ihrer Heimatstadt, am Mount Royal College in Calgary und am Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia studierte, in atemberaubender Schnelligkeit über die Klaviertasten eilen. Dass sie neben einer stupenden Technik auch ein außerordentliches Gespür für Klangnuancen hat, bewies Yuja Wang bereits in Konzerten der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker: bei ihrem Debüt-Recital 2013 sowie ihrem Orchesterdebüt 2015, bei dem sie Sergej Prokofjews Zweites Klavierkonzert interpretierte. Wild, ungestüm aber gleichzeitig sehr souverän – so der Tenor der Presse – habe sie dieses anspruchsvolle Werk gemeistert. Das Dritte Klavierkonzert des russischen Komponisten wird die Pianistin zudem im April 2018 unter der Leitung von Kirill Petrenko aufführen. Außerdem ist sie in dieser Saison noch mit einem Klavier- und einem Kammermusikabend in der Philharmonie zu erleben.

Auf der Suche nach dem perfekten Klang

Für Seong-Jin Cho, der in Berlin sowie auf Tournee in Frankfurt, Hong Kong und Seoul mit Maurice Ravels Klavierkonzert G-Dur für Lang Lang einspringt, ist es das erste Mal, dass er mit den Berliner Philharmonikern zusammenarbeitet. Die Karriere des aus Seoul stammenden Musikers begann mit zwei spektakulären Wettbewerbsgewinnen: 2011 erspielte er sich – gerade 17-Jährig – den Dritten Preis beim Moskauer Tschaikowsky Wettbewerb, vier Jahre später gewann er den renommierten Chopin-Wettbewerb in Warschau – als erster Koreaner. Er gilt als einer der vielversprechendsten Pianisten seiner Generation und konzertiert mittlerweile auf der ganzen Welt. Seong-Jin Cho, der Krystian Zimerman und Radu Lupu zu seinen großen Vorbildern zählt, beeindruckt durch seine makellose Technik, gleichwohl ist diese für ihn nicht die Hauptsache: »Für mich ist der Klang das wichtigste«, verriet er in einem Interview für BR-Klassik. »Es ist manchmal sehr schwer, den richtigen Klang zu herauszufinden. Man braucht dazu sehr viel Erfahrung und sehr viel Zeit.«

Seong-Jin Cho
(Foto: Harald Hoffmann)

Konzerte

Samstag,

04. Nov 2017,
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert

Sa, 04. Nov 2017, 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Seong-Jin Cho Klavier

Werke von Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen online sehen

Montag,

06. Nov 2017,
20:00 Uhr

Alte Oper Frankfurt

Konzertreise

Mo, 06. Nov 2017, 20:00 Uhr
Alte Oper Frankfurt

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Seong-Jin Cho Klavier

Werke von Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen

Freitag,

10. Nov 2017,
20:00 Uhr

Hong Kong Cultural Centre

Konzertreise

Fr, 10. Nov 2017, 20:00 Uhr
Hong Kong Cultural Centre

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Seong-Jin Cho Klavier

Werke von Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen

Sonntag,

12. Nov 2017,
20:00 Uhr

Guangzhou Opera House, Guangzhou

Konzertreise

So, 12. Nov 2017, 20:00 Uhr
Guangzhou Opera House, Guangzhou

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Yuja Wang Klavier

Werke von Richard Strauss, Béla Bartók und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen

Montag,

13. Nov 2017,
20:30 Uhr

Wuhan Qintai Concert Hall, Wuhan

Konzertreise

Mo, 13. Nov 2017, 20:30 Uhr
Wuhan Qintai Concert Hall, Wuhan

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Yuja Wang Klavier

Werke von Richard Strauss, Béla Bartók und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen

Donnerstag,

16. Nov 2017,
19:30 Uhr

Shanghai Oriental Art Center

Konzertreise

Do, 16. Nov 2017, 19:30 Uhr
Shanghai Oriental Art Center

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Yuja Wang Klavier

Werke von Richard Strauss, Béla Bartók und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen

Sonntag,

19. Nov 2017,
17:00 Uhr

Seoul Arts Center

Konzertreise

So, 19. Nov 2017, 17:00 Uhr
Seoul Arts Center

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Seong-Jin Cho Klavier

Werke von Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen

Freitag,

24. Nov 2017,
19:00 Uhr

Suntory Hall, Tokio

Konzertreise

Fr, 24. Nov 2017, 19:00 Uhr
Suntory Hall, Tokio

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Yuja Wang Klavier

Werke von Richard Strauss, Béla Bartók und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen