Looking back on our Open Day

A day full of highlights

Horn flashmob with Sir Simon Rattle
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Whit Monday: sunny weather and summer-like temperatures – an ideal day to go out into the countryside. But lots of people had other plans. More than 10,000 visitors came to the Philharmonie, the Chamber Music Hall and the Musical Instrument Museum for the Open Day. Those who approached the Philharmonie from Potsdamer Platz were greeted by an LED screen which broadcast the events in the two halls. Even those who were not physically there could still enjoy the fun: almost 6,000 spectators followed the event live in the Digital Concert Hall, and almost 200,000 watched it on Facebook.

17 hours of music

From the concert in the square at the entrance with which the brass of the Karajan Academy welcomed the first visitors, to the finale in the main auditorium where the Berliner Philharmoniker performed Antonín Dvořák’s Slavonic Dances op. 72 under the direction of Sir Simon Rattle, a total of 45 events took place, large and small, providing 17 hours of music. Ensembles of the Berliner Philharmoniker and the Karajan Academy plus guests performed in the main auditorium of the Philharmonie, the Chamber Music Hall, in the foyers and in otherwise inaccessible public spaces such as the room backstage for the string players. The foyer of the chamber music hall focused on the education programme and its creative offerings. Among the highlights were the appearance of the BE PHIL Orchestra, in which around 100 music lovers from 30 countries performed Johannes Brahms’ First Symphony under the direction of Simon Rattle, a surprise concert by the 12 Cellists, and a sing-along concert with the vocal heroes. Among the attractions in the musical instrument museum were the “Mighty Wurlitzer” cinema organs and a contribution by the Stradivari Soloists Berlin. Almost all styles of music were represented: classical, jazz, pop and world music. And of course, the visitors were able to participate actively in projects with such exciting titles as “Giant Orchestra”, “Dance in the Rainforest” and “beatboxing”. Guided tours also gave an insight into the building which visitors do not get during a normal concert.

For a good cause

In collaboration with the Karajan Academy and the WWF, the Insect Concerto was premiered under the baton of composer Gregor Mayrhofer to raise awareness of the dying out of insects. There was also a raffle with prizes for the lucky winners. The proceeds of the ticket sales went to the UNICEF emergency relief for Yemen, for which a total of € 8,400 was raised. General manager Andrea Zietzschmann: “The Open Day was characterised by a great atmosphere, the desire to discover new things and, of course, a wide range of wonderful music. We are particularly delighted that so many people came who are otherwise not among our regular visitors. All in all, the overwhelming response and the performance of the BE PHIL Orchestra in particular, impressively demonstrated how classical music can bring people together and inspire them.”

Im Rückblick: Der Tag der offenen Tür

Ein Tag voller Höhepunkte

Horn-Flashmob mit Sir Simon Rattle
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)

Pfingstmontag, sonniges Wetter, sommerliche Temperaturen – ein idealer Tag, um ins Grüne zu fahren. Doch viele hatten ganz etwas anderes vor: Weit über 10.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher kamen zum Tag der offenen Tür in die Philharmonie, den Kammermusiksaal und das Musikinstrumenten-Museum. Wer vom Potsdamer Platz auf die Philharmonie zukam, den empfing eine LED-Leinwand, die die Veranstaltungen in den beiden Sälen übertrug. Auch wer nicht vor Ort war, konnte mit dabei sein: Fast 6.000 Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer verfolgten das Ereignis im Livestream der Digital Concert Hall, nahezu 200.000 sahen es sich bei Facebook an.

17 Stunden Musik

Angefangen von dem Platzkonzert am Eingang, mit dem die Blechbläser der Karajan-Akademie die ersten Besucher empfingen, bis hin zum Finale im Großen Saal, bei dem die Berliner Philharmoniker unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle Antonín Dvořáks Slawische Tänze op. 72 zum Besten gaben, fanden insgesamt 45 kleine und große Veranstaltungen mit 17 Stunden Musik statt. Ensembles der Berliner Philharmoniker und der Karajan-Akademie sowie Gäste musizierten im Großen Saal der Philharmonie, dem Kammermusiksaal, in den Foyers und in sonst für die Öffentlichkeit nicht zugänglichen Räumen wie dem Streicherzimmer hinter der Bühne. Das Foyer des Kammermusiksaals stand ganz im Zeichen des Education-Programms mit seinen kreativen Angeboten. Zu den Höhepunkten gehörten der Auftritt des BE PHIL Orchestra, in dem rund 100 Musikliebhaberinnen und Musikliebhaber aus 30 Ländern unter Simon Rattles Leitung die Erste Symphonie von Johannes Brahms aufführen, ein Überraschungskonzert der 12 Cellisten und ein Mitsingkonzert der Vokalhelden. Zu den Attraktionen im Musikinstrumenten-Museum zählten die Kinoorgel »Mighty Wurlitzer« und eine Einlage der Stradivari-Solisten Berlin. Es erklangen fast sämtliche Stilrichtungen der Musik: Klassik, Jazz, Pop und Weltmusik. Und natürlich konnten sich die Besucher aktiv beteiligen, in Projekten mit so spannenden Titeln wie »Gigantenorchester«, »Tanz im Regenwald« oder »Beatboxing«. Führungen gaben außerdem Einblicke in das Haus, die der Besucher bei einem normalen Konzertbesuch nicht bekommt

Für einen guten Zweck

In Zusammenarbeit der Karajan-Akademie mit dem WWF kam The Insect Concerto unter der Leitung des Komponisten Gregor Mayrhofer zur Uraufführung, mit dem auf das Insektensterben aufmerksam gemacht werden soll. Außerdem gab es eine Tombola, bei der jedes Los gewann. Der Erlös der Losverkäufe ging an die die UNICEF-Nothilfe für den Jemen, für die insgesamt 8.400 Euro eingenommen wurde. Intendantin Andrea Zietzschmann meinte abschließend: »Großartige Stimmung, Entdeckerlust und natürlich wunderbare, vielfältige Musik haben diesen Tag der offenen Tür geprägt. Besonders freut uns, dass wir viele Menschen angesprochen haben, die sonst nicht zu unseren regelmäßigen Besuchern zählen. Insgesamt hat die überwältigende Resonanz und vor allem der Auftritt des BE PHIL Orchestra eindrucksvoll gezeigt, wie klassische Musik Menschen zusammenführen und begeistern kann.«