Sir Antonio Pappano and Mikko Franck

Conduct the Berliner Philharmoniker

Antonio Pappano
(Photo: Musacchio & Ianniell0/EMI-Classics)

Two “returnees” will be conducting the Berliner Philharmoniker in the coming weeks: Sir Antonio Pappano and Mikko Franck. Pappano last conducted the orchestra in June 2005. “He showed himself to be a musical bundle of energy, from a head full of passion down to his rhythm-obsessed feet,” as the Tagesspiegel wrote afterwards. The conductor, who was born in Britain to Italian parents and grew up in the United States, impresses with a combination of precision and emotionality, analytical clarity and electrifying vitality. Not without reason is he one of the most sought after conductors of our time.

Precision and emotionality

He learned his craft from the bottom up: after studying music, Pappano initially worked as a répétiteur, and later he was assistant to Daniel Barenboim at Bayreuth among others, before he started his conducting career. In the role of music director, this has taken him from Norwegian Opera via the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brussels to the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London, which he has headed since 2002. Since 2005, he has also been music director of the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome 2005. In addition, he makes guest appearances at many major opera houses and with top international orchestras. For his return to the Philharmoniker, he will conduct a Franco-Russian programme: works by Maurice Ravel and orchestral songs by Henri Duparc with Véronique Gens as the soloist, Modest Mussorgsky’s St. John’s Night on the Bare Mountain and Alexander Scriabin’s Poème de l'extase. Despite his many engagements as a conductor, Antonio Pappano is also the piano accompanist of singers such as Ian Bostridge, Joyce DiDonato and Jonas Kaufmann. In this capacity he appeared in December 2016 in the Philharmoniker’s Singers concert series in a recital with Gerald Finley.

Finnish whiz kid

Mikko Franck, born in Helsinki in 1979, knew as a five-year-old that he wanted to become a conductor. He first studied violin at the Sibelius Academy, then in 1995 he began conducting classes with Jorma Panula, who has trained a number of famous Finnish conductors, including Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sakari Oramo and Jukka-Pekka Saraste. “There is something in this profession that suits the Finnish mentality,” as Mikko Franck once said in an interview. “We come from the forest. And this is one of the loneliest occupations in the world, so we don’t have a problem always being alone.” When he made his debut with the Philharmoniker conducting works by Maurice Ravel and Dmitri Shostakovich in 2003, he was only 23 years of age and was then considered a whiz kid from Finland. His artistic career led him to the Orchestre National de Belgique as chief conductor, and as general music director and artistic director of Finnish National Opera. In September 2015, Franck, who conducts while sitting due to back problems, took over the musical direction of the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France. Standing in for Seiji Ozawa, he returns to the Berliner Philharmoniker this season to conduct the concertante performance of Maurice Ravel’s opera L'Enfant et les sortilèges.

Concert

Friday,

19 Jan 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: F

Fri, 19 Jan 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Noah Bendix-Balgley violin and direction

Mikko Franck conductor

Emily Fons mezzo-soprano

Paul Gay bass baritone

Elodie Méchain contralto

Kiera Duffy soprano

Marie Lenormand mezzo-soprano

Mathias Vidal tenor

Elliot Madore baritone

Kanae Fujitani soprano

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars chorus master

Kinderchor der Komischen Oper Berlin

Dagmar Fiebach chorus master

Works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Camille Saint-Saëns and Maurice Ravel

read more

Sunday,

21 Jan 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: L

Sun, 21 Jan 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Noah Bendix-Balgley violin and direction

Mikko Franck conductor

Emily Fons mezzo-soprano

Paul Gay bass baritone

Elodie Méchain contralto

Kiera Duffy soprano

Marie Lenormand mezzo-soprano

Mathias Vidal tenor

Elliot Madore baritone

Kanae Fujitani soprano

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars chorus master

Kinderchor der Komischen Oper Berlin

Dagmar Fiebach chorus master

Works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Camille Saint-Saëns and Maurice Ravel

read more watch online

Sir Antonio Pappano und Mikko Franck

Am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker

Antonio Pappano
(Foto: Musacchio & Ianniell0/EMI-Classics)

Zwei »Rückkehrer« stehen in den kommenden Wochen am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker: Sir Antonio Pappano und Mikko Franck. Pappano dirigierte das Orchester zuletzt im Juni 2005. »Er zeigte sich als musikalisches Energiebündel, bis zum Hals voller Leidenschaft, bis zum Fuß hinunter besessen von Rhythmus«, hieß es anschließend in der Kritik des Tagesspiegels. Der gebürtige Brite italienischer Herkunft, der in den USA aufwuchs, besticht durch eine Mischung aus Präzision und Emotionalität, aus analytischer Klarheit und elektrisierender Vitalität. Nicht von ungefähr gehört er zu den gefragtesten Dirigenten unserer Zeit.

Präzision und Emotionalität

Er erlernte sein Handwerk von der Pike auf: Nach dem Musikstudium arbeitete Pappano zunächst als Korrepetitor, später war er u. a. Assistent von Daniel Barenboim in Bayreuth, ehe er selbst seine Dirigentenkarriere startete. Diese führte ihn in der Funktion eines Musikdirektors von der Norwegischen Oper über das Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brüssel zum Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, in London, das er seit 2002 leitet. Außerdem ist er seit 2005 Musikdirektor des Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom. Daneben gastiert er an vielen großen Opernhäusern und bei internationalen Spitzenorchestern. Bei seinem philharmonischen Comeback leitet er ein französisch-russisches Programm: Werke von Maurice Ravel und Orchesterlieder von Henri Duparc mit Véronique Gens als Solistin sowie Modest Mussorgskys Johannisnacht auf dem kahlen Berge und Alexander Skrjabins Poème de l’extase. Trotz seiner vielen dirigentischen Verpflichtungen tritt Antonio Pappano regelmäßig als Klavierbegleiter mit Sängerinnen und Sängern wie Ian Bostridge, Joyce DiDonato oder Jonas Kaufmann auf. In dieser Eigenschaft konnte man ihn im Dezember 2016 in der philharmonischen Konzertreihe Umsungen in einem Liederabend mit Gerald Finley erleben.

Finnischer Senkrechtstarter

Mikko Franck, 1979 in Helsinki geboren, wusste schon als Fünfjähriger, dass er Dirigent werden will. Er studierte zunächst Geige an der Sibelius-Akademie seiner Heimatstadt; 1995 begann er mit dem Dirigierunterricht bei Jorma Panula, der eine Reihe berühmter finnischer Dirigenten ausgebildet hat, u. a. auch Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sakari Oramo und Jukka-Pekka Saraste. »Es gibt etwas in diesem Beruf, das zur finnischen Mentalität passt«, meine Mikko Franck einmal in einem Interview. »Wir kommen aus dem Wald. Und das ist einer der einsamsten Berufe der Welt, so kommen wir damit klar, immer allein zu sein.« Sein philharmonisches Debüt 2003, bei dem er Werke von Maurice Ravel und Dmitri Schostakowitsch leitete, gab er im Alter von nur 23 Jahren und galt damals als Senkrechtstarter aus Finnland. Sein künstlerischer Werdegang führte ihn als Chefdirigent zum Orchestre National de Belgique und als Generalmusikdirektor sowie künstlerischem Leiter an die Finnische Nationaloper. Im September 2015 übernahm Franck, der wegen eines Rückenleidens sitzend dirigiert, die musikalische Leitung des Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France. Bei den Berliner Philharmonikern dirigiert er als Einspringer für Seiji Ozawa in dieser Saison die konzertante Aufführung von Maurice Ravels Oper L’Enfant et les sortilèges.

Konzerte

Sonntag,

21. Jan 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: L

So, 21. Jan 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Noah Bendix-Balgley Violine und Leitung

Mikko Franck Dirigent

Emily Fons Mezzosopran (Das Kind)

Paul Gay Bassbariton (Der Sessel, der Baum)

Elodie Méchain Alt (Die Mutter, die chinesische Tasse, die Libelle)

Kiera Duffy Sopran (Das Feuer, die Prinzessin, die Nachtigall)

Marie Lenormand Mezzosopran (Die Katze, das Eichhörnchen)

Mathias Vidal Tenor (Der kleine alte Mann, der Frosch, die Teekanne)

Elliot Madore Bariton (Die Standuhr, der Kater)

Kanae Fujitani Sopran (Der Louis-XV-Stuhl, die Fledermaus)

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars Chor-Einstudierung

Kinderchor der Komischen Oper Berlin

Dagmar Fiebach Chor-Einstudierung

Werke von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Camille Saint-Saëns und Maurice Ravel

mehr lesen online sehen