Orchestral musicians in training

Guest appearance in Berlin by the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie

Junge Deutsche Philharmonie
(Photo: Achim Reissner)

It is seen as a training ground for young orchestral musicians: the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie gives instrumentalists aged 18 to 28 the opportunity to gain their first experience in an orchestra at a professional level. The members, who have to pass an audition to qualify and who all study at German conservatories, are among the best in their field and all want to be orchestra musicians. But that's not all: according to violist Gabriel Müller, the musicians want to inspire their peers in particular with their enthusiasm: “We see it as our mission – and also an opportunity – to make classical music more accessible to young people and to familiarise them with the instruments and the orchestra.” Several times a year, the orchestra comes together for intensive rehearsals in preparation for their spring and autumn tour programmes. In this way, the young musicians can prepare themselves for their future careers. The Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, founded in 1974, is also an orchestra in which the members are democratically involved in the programming and the choice of conductors and soloists. Contemporary music is an important focus of the repertoire and a must for almost every concert programme.

Distinctive programming

The concerts that the orchestra has given in the Berlin Philharmonie are a testament to the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie’s distinctive programming. For its first appearance at the invitation of the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation in 2002, the programme included excerpts from Richard Wagner's Tristan and Isolde and Hans Werner Henze’s Tristan Préludes in addition to Joseph Haydn's Symphony No. 45. Last season, the orchestra performed twice in the Philharmonie: after a guest appearance at Musikfest 2016 with a programme including György Ligeti's Violin Concerto, and as part of their spring tour in March 2017, the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie returned with works by Gustav Mahler, Dmitri Shostakovich and Maurice Ravel.

More than willing

This year too, the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie is stopping off in Berlin on its spring tour – with an all-French programme entitled Dreams and Reality. In addition to Hector Berlioz’ passionate Symphonie fantastique, which was composed as an expression of the composer's initially unrequited love for the actress Harriett Smithson, the young musicians also present two works of French Modernism: Olivier Messiaen’s seminal instrumental meditation Les Offrandes oubliées and Henri Dutilleux’s cello concerto Tout un monde lointain ... with Steven Isserlis as the soloist. The musical direction is in the hands of David Afkham who conducted the Junge Deutsch Philharmonie in 2013. What does he find so inspiring about working with the young musicians? “For us conductors, it is wonderful to be able to try everything with an ensemble. There is no such thing as ʻwe can’tʼ or ʻwe don’t want toʼ in this orchestra, only around 100 individuals who are more than willing to take risks.”



20 Mar 2018,



Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 20:00

Junge Deutsche Philharmonie

David Afkham conductor

Steven Isserlis cello

Works by Olivier Messiaen, Henri Dutilleux and Hector Berlioz

read more

Auf dem Weg zum Orchesterprofi

Die Junge Deutsche Philharmonie gastiert in Berlin

Junge Deutsche Philharmonie
(Foto: Achim Reissner)

Sie gilt als Kaderschmiede für den Orchestermusikernachwuchs: Die Junge Deutsche Philharmonie ermöglicht Instrumentalisten im Alter von 18 bis 28 Jahren, auf professionellem Niveau erste Erfahrungen in einem Klangkörper zu sammeln. Die Mitglieder, die sich durch ein Probespiel qualifizieren müssen, studieren an deutschen Musikhochschulen, gehören  zu den Besten ihres Fachs und wollen alle Orchestermusiker werden. Doch nicht nur das: Ihr Enthusiasmus – so Bratscher Gabriel Müller – soll vor allem auch Altersgenossen entflammen: »Für uns ist es ein besonderer Auftrag und gleichzeitig eine Chance, jungen Leuten klassische Musik näherzubringen und sie mit den Instrumenten und dem Orchester vertraut zu machen.« Mehrmals jährlich kommt das Orchester zu intensiven Probenphasen zusammen, um das Programm seiner Frühjahrs- und Herbsttourneen einzustudieren. Auf diese Weise können sich die jungen Instrumentalisten auf ihren zukünftigen Beruf vorbereiten. Darüber hinaus versteht sich die 1974 gegründete Junge Deutsche Philharmonie als Orchester, in dem die Mitglieder demokratisch an der Programmplanung sowie der Wahl der Dirigenten und Solisten beteiligt sind. Zeitgenössische Musik bildet einen wichtigen Schwerpunkt des Repertoires und darf in fast keinem Konzertprogramm fehlen.

Ganz eigene Programmgestaltung

Von der speziellen Programmkonzeption der Jungen Deutschen Philharmonie zeugen auch die Konzerte, die das Orchester in der Berliner Philharmonie gab. Beim ersten Auftritt auf Einladung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker 2002 erklangen neben Joseph Haydns Symphonie Nr. 45 und Ausschnitten aus Richard Wagners Tristan und Isolde auch Hans Werner Henzes Tristan Préludes. In der vergangenen Saison gastierte das Orchester gleich zwei Mal in der Philharmonie: Nach einem Gastauftritt beim Musikfest 2016, bei dem u.a. György Ligetis Violinkonzert erklang, kehrte die Junge Deutsche Philharmonie im März 2017 im Rahmen ihrer Frühjahrstournee mit Werken von Gustav Mahler, Dmitri Schostakowitsch und Maurice Ravel zurück.

Voller Begeisterung

Auch in diesem Jahr macht die Junge Deutsche Philharmonie während Ihrer Frühjahrstournee Station in Berlin – mit einem rein französischen Programm, das den Titel Wahn und Wirklichkeit trägt. Neben Hector Berlioz‘ leidenschaftlicher Symphonie fantastique, die als Ausdruck der zunächst unerwiderten Liebe des Komponisten zu der Schauspielerin Harriett Smithson entstand, präsentieren die jungen Musiker zwei Werke der französischen Moderne: Olivier Messiaens klangsinnliche Instrumentalmeditation Les Offrandes oubliées und Henri Dutilleux‘ Cellokonzert Tout un monde lointain ... mit Steven Isserlis als Solist. Die musikalische Leitung hat David Afkham, der die Junge Deutsche Philharmonie bereits 2013 dirigiert hat. Was ihn an der Zusammenarbeit mit den jungen Musikern begeistert? »Für unsereinen ist es wunderbar, mit einem Klangkörper alles ausprobieren zu können. In diesem Orchester gibt es nicht ›wir können nicht‹ oder ›wir wollen nicht‹, sondern es kommt einem von fast 100 Individuen die Begeisterung entgegen, etwas zu wagen.«