Welcome in the New Year with Joyce DiDonato

The mezzo-soprano is the guest star of the 2017 New Year's Eve Concert

(Photo: Simon Pauly)

“It’s a dream for me to perform with this orchestra,” said Joyce DiDonato enthusiastically in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall. “I love it when the music spreads its wings and we fly together.” And the Berliner Philharmoniker also greatly appreciate the Kansas-born mezzo-soprano. Her great capital: a warm, nuanced and flexible voice, which impressively masters virtuoso coloratura just as well as intimate, lyrical phrases. The most recent demonstration of the intensity of her artistry in the Philharmonie was in June 2017, when Joyce DiDonato recreated the last thoughts and feelings of the dying Egyptian queen Cleopatra in Hector Berlioz’ Scène lyrique La Mort de Cléopâtre. Now the artist is the guest star of the New Year’s Eve concert, in which she presents a selection of orchestral songs by Richard Strauss under the direction of Sir Simon Rattle, including Zueignung, the composer’s first published song, and Morgen, the famous piece that Strauss gave to his wife Pauline, a singer and gifted performer of his works, for their wedding.

Berlin success

Joyce DiDonato, who not only has a captivating voice, but also mesmerising dramatic skills and an irresistible charm, is a familiar face to Berlin audiences. In October 2010, she made her debut at Berlin’s Deutsche Oper as Rosina in Katharina Thalbach’s production of Rossini's Il Barbiere di Siviglia. In Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation concerts, the singer gave a recital in the Chamber Music Hall of the Philharmonie in June 2013. The theme of the recital was A Venetian Journey. That evening, she proved not only to be a gifted recital singer, but also revealed herself to be a football fan. Because at the same time, the German national team was fighting to get into the next round of the European Championships. Every time she came on stage, she informed the audience about the current state of play before continuing her performance.

Radiant, intense, multi-faceted

She made her orchestral debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2015 at the Easter Festival Baden-Baden as Marguerite in Hector Berlioz’ La Damnation de Faust. She also appeared with this work – a very particular and very French adaptation of Goethe’s play – after the festival in the Berlin Philharmonie. In the Baden-Baden Live Lounge, the singer spoke enthusiastically about working with the orchestra: “What took my breath away in rehearsals was this incredible pianissimo. When the orchestra suddenly becomes very quiet, it is as if heaven opens.” In May 2017, in a recital in the chamber music hall, entitled In War and Peace – Harmony through Music, she presented yet another facet of her skills – as a performer of highly virtuoso arias of the Baroque period.

Mit Joyce DiDonato ins neue Jahr

Die Mezzosopranistin ist Stargast des Silvesterkonzerts 2017

(Foto: Simon Pauly)

»Für mich ist es ein Traum, mit diesem Orchester zu musizieren«, schwärmte Joyce DiDonato in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall. »Ich liebe es, wenn die Musik ihre Flügel ausspannt und wir gemeinsam fliegen.« Und auch die Berliner Philharmoniker schätzen die aus Kansas stammende Mezzosopranistin sehr. Das großes Kapital der Sängerin: eine warme, nuancenreiche und biegsame Stimme, die virtuose Koloraturen genauso berückend meistert wie innige, lyrische Phrasen. Von der Intensität ihrer Interpretationskunst konnte man sich bei den Philharmonikern zuletzt im Juni 2017 überzeugen, als Joyce DiDonato in Hector Berlioz‘ Scène lyrique La Mort de Cléopâtre die letzten Gedanken und Gefühlen der sterbenden ägyptischen Königin Kleopatra nachempfand. Nun ist die Künstlerin Stargast des Silvesterkonzerts, in dem sie unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle eine Auswahl an Orchesterliedern von Richard Strauss präsentiert, darunter Zueignung, das erste veröffentlichte Lied des Komponisten, und Morgen, jenes berühmte Stück, das Strauss seiner Frau Pauline, einer Sängerin und begnadeten Interpretin seiner Werke, zur Hochzeit schenkte.

Berliner Erfolge

Den Berlinern ist Joyce DiDonato, die nicht nur über eine betörende Stimme, sondern auch über ein mitreißendes komödiantisches Talent und unwiderstehlichen Charme verfügt, längst keine Unbekannte mehr. Im Oktober 2010 debütierte sie an der Deutschen Oper Berlin als Rosina in Katharina Thalbachs Inszenierung von Rossinis Il barbiere di Seviglia und ist dort seither ein umjubelter und gern gesehener Gast. Im Rahmen der Konzerte der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker trat die Sängerin im Juni 2012 mit einem Liederabend im Kammermusiksaal in der Philharmonie auf. Venezianische Reise lautete das Motto dieses Konzerts. An diesem Abend erwies sie sich nicht nur als begnadete Liedinterpretin, sondern outete sich auch als Fußballfan. Denn zeitgleich kämpfte die deutsche Nationalmannschaft bei der Europameisterschaft um das Weiterkommen. Jedes Mal wenn sie auf die Bühne kam, informierte sie das Publikum über den aktuellen Spielstand, ehe sie mit ihrem Vortrag begann.

Strahlend, intensiv, facettenreich

Ihr Orchesterdebüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern gab sie 2015 bei den Osterfestspielen Baden-Baden als Margeruite in Hector Berlioz’ La Damnation de Faust. Mit diesem Werk, das eine ganz eigene und sehr französische Adaption von Goethes Schauspiel ist, konnte man sie nach den Festspielen auch in der Berliner Philharmonie erleben. Über die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Orchester äußerte sich die Künstlerin in der Baden-Badener Live-Lounge begeistert: »Das was mir bei den Proben den Atem raubte, war dieses unglaubliche Pianissimo. Wenn das Orchester plötzlich ganz leise wird, ist es so, als ob sich der Himmel öffnet.« Im Mai 2017 zeigte sie in einem Liederabend im Kammermusiksaal, der den Titel »In Krieg und Frieden – Harmonie durch Musik« trug, noch eine weitere Facette ihres Könnens – als Interpretin hochvirtuoser Arien der Barockzeit.