Happy Birthday, Mariss Jansons!

Celebrating the 75th birthday of the conductor

(Photo: Martin Walz)

Mariss Jansons, who celebrates his 75th birthday on 14 January, is one of those conductors who feel a special connection to the Berliner Philharmoniker thanks to their continuous and long-term collaboration. When the native Latvian stands in front of the orchestra, you can see in his face an enthusiastic sense of expectation, a positive energy that carries all the musicians along. “It’s always a great pleasure to come here,” as Jansons said in an interview at the Digital Concert Hall. “The orchestra is absolutely fabulous. There is a special spirit here. Every musician is not only first-class, but also full of passion and commitment.” The first encounter between Mariss Jansons and the Berliner Philharmoniker was in 1971. The then 28-year-old had won second prize at the “Herbert von Karajan” International Conducting Competition and conducted Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé in the closing concert. “I was very nervous. Karajan was sitting in the auditorium and I was not satisfied with the musical results of my conducting. I wasn’t able to show what I wanted to get out of the work.” The orchestra musicians, however, immediately felt that there was an exceptional talent in front of them. And the press also noted that Jansons, although he had “only” won second prize, made the “most mature impression” of all the winners at this final concert.

Music in his blood

Mariss Jansons was born into a family of musicians: the son of conductor Arvids Jansons and singer Iraida Jansons knew very early that he wanted to follow in his father's footsteps. As a child, he would conduct orchestras of paperclips and buttons, teddy bears and other stuffed toys. The opera house in Riga, his parents’ workplace, became his second home. It was there that he learned early on not only the major operas and ballets, but also how the music profession worked. In 1952, the family moved to Leningrad (now St. Petersburg), because Arvids Jansons became assistant to Yevgeny Mravinsky, the head of the Leningrad Philharmonic. Mariss initially studied violin, piano and conducting at the local conservatory, then later in Vienna under Hans Swarowsky and in Salzburg under Herbert von Karajan. In 1971, the year of his competition win, Mravinsky made him his assistant. From Leningrad, Mariss Jansons launched his global career. After holding leading positions with the Oslo Philharmonic and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, he has been chief conductor of Bayerischer Rundfunk’s symphony orchestra and choir since 2003. From 2004 to March 2015, he also headed the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam in the same capacity.

Lots of Shostakovich

Mariss Jansons made his “official” debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 1976. Since 1988, he has been a frequent and regular guest of the Philharmoniker, accompanying them on tours and conducting their Waldbühne and European concerts. His programmes are characterised by unusual selections of works which usually include at least one piece by composers from Northern and Eastern Europe. The works of Dmitri Shostakovich in particular were – and are – very close to his heart. And with good reason: after all, as a child he discovered and learned to appreciate his compositions at first hand from his father, a friend of Shostakovich. In addition, he is regarded as a specialist in the Romantic repertoire of the 19th century. In 2007, he conducted a Mahler work for the first time within the context of his many years’ collaboration with the orchestra. This season too, he appears with a composer he has never conducted with the Philharmoniker before: Anton Bruckner, whose Sixth Symphony he performs with the orchestra in a concert which also includes Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto with Daniil Trifonov as the soloist. What is it that Mariss Jansons values most about the Berliner Philharmoniker? “The high quality of the orchestra. It makes me happy as a conductor, because I can achieve everything I want.”


1971: Mariss Jansons, one of the winners of the Herbert von Karajan International Conducting Competition
(Photo: Reinhard Friedrich)
2017: European Concert in Pafos
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)

Concerts

Thursday,

25 Jan 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: A

Thu, 25 Jan 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons conductor

Daniil Trifonov piano

Works by Robert Schumann and Anton Bruckner

read more

Friday,

26 Jan 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: M

Fri, 26 Jan 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons conductor

Daniil Trifonov piano

Works by Robert Schumann and Anton Bruckner

read more

Saturday,

27 Jan 2018,
19:00

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert

Sat, 27 Jan 2018, 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons conductor

Daniil Trifonov piano

Works by Robert Schumann and Anton Bruckner

read more watch online

Happy Birthday, Mariss Jansons!

Zum 75. Geburtstag des Dirigenten

(Foto: Martin Walz)

Mariss Jansons, der am 14. Januar seinen 75. Geburtstag feiert, gehört zu jenen Dirigenten, die sich den Berliner Philharmonikern dank ihrer kontinuierlichen und langjährigen Zusammenarbeit auf besondere Weise verbunden fühlen. Wenn der gebürtige Lette vor das Orchester tritt, spiegelt sich in seinem Gesicht eine erwartungsfrohe Begeisterung, eine positive Energie, die sämtliche Musiker mitreißt. »Ich komme immer mit großer Freude«, bekannte Jansons in einem Interview der Digital Concert Hall. »Das Orchester ist absolut fabelhaft. Hier herrscht ein spezieller Geist. Jeder Musiker ist nicht nur erstklassig, sondern auch voller Leidenschaft und Engagement.« Die erste Begegnung zwischen Mariss Jansons und den Berliner Philharmonikern fand 1971 statt. Der damals 28-Jährige hatte den Zweiten Preis beim Internationalen Dirigentenwettbewerb »Herbert-von-Karajan« gewonnen und dirigierte im Schlusskonzert Ravels Daphnis et Chloé. »Ich war sehr nervös. Karajan saß im Saal und ich war mit dem musikalischen Ergebnis meines Dirigats nicht zufrieden. Das, was ich aus dem Werk herausholen wollte, konnte ich nicht zeigen.« Die Orchestermusiker fühlten allerdings sofort, dass hier ein Ausnahmetalent vor ihnen stand. Und auch die Presse konstatierte, dass Jansons, obwohl er »nur« den zweiten Preis gewonnen hatte, bei diesem Abschlusskonzert von allen Gewinnern den »reifsten Eindruck« machte.

Musik im Blut

Mariss Jansons wurde in eine Musikerfamilie hineingeboren: Der Sohn des Dirigenten Arvids Jansons und der Sängerin Iraida Jansons wusste schon sehr früh, dass er den gleichen Beruf wie sein Vater ausüben wollte. Als Kind dirigierte er Knöpfe, Teddybären und Stofftiere. Das Opernhaus in Riga, die Arbeitsstätte seiner Eltern, wurde sein zweites Zuhause. Dort lernte er nicht nur früh die wichtigsten Opern und Ballette, sondern auch die Gesetzmäßigkeiten des Musikerberufs kennen. 1952 übersiedelte die Familie nach Leningrad (heute: St. Petersburg), weil Arvids Jansons Assistent von Jewgenij Mrawinsky wurde, dem Chef der Leningrader Philharmoniker. Mariss studierte zunächst am dortigen Konservatorium Violine, Klavier und Dirigieren, später ging er nach Wien zu Hans Swarowsky und nach Salzburg zu Herbert von Karajan. 1971, im Jahr seines Wettbewerbsgewinns, machte ihn Mrawinsky zu seinem Assistenten. Von Leningrad aus startete Mariss Jansons seine Weltkarriere. Nach Chefpositionen beim Philharmonischen Orchester Oslo und beim Pittsburg Symphony Orchestra ist er seit 2003 Chefdirigent von Symphonieorchester und Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks. Zudem leitete er in gleicher Position von 2004 bis März 2015 das Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam.

Immer wieder Schostakowitsch

Sein »offizielles« Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern gab Mariss Jansons 1976. Seit 1988 ist er ein häufiger und regelmäßiger Gast der Philharmoniker, begleitete sie auch auf Reisen und stand am Pult bei Waldbühnen- und Europakonzerten. Seine Programme zeichnen sich durch ungewöhnliche Werkauswahl aus, meist enthalten sie mindestens ein Stück von Komponisten aus dem nord- und osteuropäischen Raum. Vor allem die Werke Dmitri Schostakowitschs lagen und liegen ihm sehr am Herzen. Mit gutem Grund. Hat er doch dessen Kompositionen durch seinen Vater, einem Freund Schostakowitschs, bereits als Kind aus erster Hand kennen- und schätzen gelernt. Darüber hinaus gilt er auch als Experte für das romantische Repertoire des 19. Jahrhunderts. 2007 war er erstmals im Rahmen seiner langjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit den Berlinern als Mahler-Dirigent zu erleben. Und auch in dieser Saison präsentiert er sich mit einem Komponisten, den er bei den Philharmonikern noch nie dirigiert hat: Anton Bruckner, dessen Sechste Symphonie er mit dem Orchester aufführt. Außerdem erklingt Robert Schumanns Klavierkonzert mit Daniil Trifonov als Solisten. Was Mariss Jansons an den Berliner Philharmonikern am meisten schätzt? »Die hohe Qualität dieses Orchesters. Sie beglückt mich als Dirigent, weil ich alles verwirklichen kann, was ich möchte.«


1971: Mariss Jansons, einer der Gewinner des Karajan-Wettbewerbs
(Foto: Reinhard Friedrich)
2017: Europakonzert in Pafos
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)

Konzerte

Donnerstag,

25. Jan 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: A

Do, 25. Jan 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons Dirigent

Daniil Trifonov Klavier

Werke von Robert Schumann und Anton Bruckner

mehr lesen

Freitag,

26. Jan 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: M

Fr, 26. Jan 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons Dirigent

Daniil Trifonov Klavier

Werke von Robert Schumann und Anton Bruckner

mehr lesen

Samstag,

27. Jan 2018,
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert

Sa, 27. Jan 2018, 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons Dirigent

Daniil Trifonov Klavier

Werke von Robert Schumann und Anton Bruckner

mehr lesen online sehen