Alan Gilbert, Paavo Järvi and Tugan Sokhiev

At the conductor’s desk of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert
(Photo: Peter Hundert)

This spring is the season for guest conductors. Before Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker conclude the season with a series of concerts and the traditional Waldbühne concert, there are still four respected guest conductors at the podium: After Daniel Harding, an interview with whom can be read on our website, Alan Gilbert, Paavo Järvi and Tugan Sokhiev all come to the Berliner Philharmoniker.

The man from New York

Since Alan Gilbert stepped in at short notice for an indisposed Bernard Haitink in February 2006, the native New Yorker has been one of the orchestra’s regular guests. As he revealed in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, the biggest challenge for him as a conductor is to create a balance between the architecture as a whole and the details of a composition. Only then is it possible to really make the music flow. What fascinates him about the Berliner Philharmoniker is that each musician has the character of a soloist who nevertheless manages to merge seamlessly with the overall sound. “This creates a very special kind of group energy.” In the concert programmes which he has already conducted with the Philharmoniker, works by Czech composers have played an important role: Antonín Dvořák’s symphonic poem The Noon Witch and his Cello Concerto, Bohuslav Martinů’s Fourth Symphony and Leoš Janáček’s Violin Concerto Putování dušičky (The Wandering of a Little Soul). On his most recent visit, he turned to other symphonic regions and conducted two works by his fellow American John Adams, 2016/2017 composer in residence, plus Béla Bartók’s Violin Concerto with Peter Zimmermann as the soloist and Piotr Illych Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony. This time around, Alan Gilbert, who was chief of the New York Philharmonic from 2009 to 2017 and takes over the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra from 2019, presents Thomas Adès’ Three Studies from Couperin, plus Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto with the Philharmoniker’s principal clarinettist Wenzel Fuchs and Claude Debussy’s Images pour orchestre.

A family of conductors

“I grew up with recordings of the Berliner Philharmoniker. We listened to them almost every day,” said Paavo Järvi in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall. It is no surprise that native Estonian comes from a famous family of musicians: both his father Neeme and brother Kristjan are also conductors. Paavo Järvi, currently head of the Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, the NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokyo and the Estonia Festival Orchestra as well as principal conductor and artistic director designate of the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2000 at the age of 38. “If I had known then what I know today, I would not have agreed,” he confides with a smile. In recent years, the collaboration between orchestra and conductor has intensified. This season, the Estonian will conduct the traditional European concert on 1 May which this year takes place in the Margravial Opera House in Bayreuth. He then makes a guest appearance in Berlin, in which in addition to a tone poem and the Violin Concerto by Jean Sibelius (soloist: Janine Jansen), he has also programmed Shostakovich’s Sixth Symphony, a musical reflection on the Stalin era.

Conductor of the Russian school

The 40-year-old Tugan Sokhiev is one of the shooting stars of his generation. He leads two renowned orchestras: the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse and the orchestra of the Bolshoi Theatre. From 2012 to 2016, he was also artistic director of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. In the concerts he has given since his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in January 2010, his programmes have mostly included a delightful mix of French and Russian music. His most recent performance testifies to this: it included César Franck’s Le Chasseur maudit, Sergei Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody on a theme by Paganini for piano and orchestra (soloist: Nikolai Lugansky) and Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s Symphonic Suite Scheherazade. On this occasion, he will present a work by Ludwig van Beethoven with the Berliner Philharmoniker for the first time, his Third Piano Concerto with Yefim Bronfman as the soloist. In addition, he will conduct two popular compositions from the Russian repertoire: Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphonie classique and Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures from an Exhibition. Born in north Ossetian, not only his repertoire but also his conducting style is rooted in the Russian tradition. Tugan Sokhiev is a student of the legendary Ilya Musin: “That was the greatest good fortune that ever happened to me. Musin was already in his early 90s, but he was tremendous. Everything has changed since I was with him and I would not be here at all today if I had not studied with him.”

Paavo Järvi
(Photo: Kaupo Kikkas)
Tugan Sokhiev
(Photo: Marco Borggreve)

Listen to the music!


The conductors in the Digital Concert Hall

Concerts

Thursday,

26 Apr 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: I

Thu, 26 Apr 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert conductor

Wenzel Fuchs clarinet

Works by Thomas Adès, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Claude Debussy

read more

Friday,

27 Apr 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: L

Fri, 27 Apr 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert conductor

Wenzel Fuchs clarinet

Works by Thomas Adès, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Claude Debussy

read more watch online

Saturday,

05 May 2018,
19:00

Philharmonie

Serie: K

Sat, 05 May 2018, 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Works by Jean Sibelius and Dmitri Shostakovich

read more

Sunday,

06 May 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: D

Sun, 06 May 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Works by Jean Sibelius and Dmitri Shostakovich

read more watch online

Thursday,

10 May 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: C

Thu, 10 May 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev conductor

Yefim Bronfman piano

Works by Sergei Prokofiev, Ludwig van Beethoven and Modest Mussorgsky

read more

Friday,

11 May 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: B

Fri, 11 May 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev conductor

Yefim Bronfman piano

Works by Sergei Prokofiev, Ludwig van Beethoven and Modest Mussorgsky

read more

Saturday,

12 May 2018,
19:00

Philharmonie

Serie: G

Sat, 12 May 2018, 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev conductor

Yefim Bronfman piano

Works by Sergei Prokofiev, Ludwig van Beethoven and Modest Mussorgsky

read more watch online

Alan Gilbert, Paavo Järvi und Tugan Sokhiev

Am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert
(Foto: Peter Hundert)

Dieses Frühjahr ist die Zeit der Gastdirigenten. Denn bevor Sir Simon Rattle und die Berliner Philharmoniker die Saison mit einer Reihe von Konzerten und dem traditionellen Walbühnenkonzert ausklingen lassen, stehen noch vier geschätzte Gastdirigenten am Pult des Orchesters: Nach Daniel Harding, von dem Sie auf unserer Website ein Interview lesen können, kommen Alan Gilbert, Paavo Järvi und Tugan Sokhiev zu den Berliner Philharmonikern.

Der Mann aus New York

Seit Alan Gilbert im Februar 2006 kurzfristig für den erkrankten Bernard Haitink eingesprungen ist, zählt der gebürtige New Yorker zu den regelmäßigen Gästen des Orchesters. Wie er in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall verriet, liegt für ihn als Dirigent die größte Herausforderung darin, eine ausgewogene Balance zwischen der Gesamtarchitektur und den Details einer Komposition zu schaffen. Nur dann gelinge es, die Musik wirklich zum Fließen zu bringen. An den Berliner Philharmonikern fasziniere ihn, dass jeder Musiker die Persönlichkeit eines Solisten besitze, sich aber dennoch problemlos in den Gesamtklang einfügen könne. »Dadurch entsteht eine ganz besondere Art von Gruppenenergie.« In den Konzertprogrammen, die er bislang bei den Philharmonikern dirigierte, nahmen die Werke tschechischer Komponisten einen großen Raum ein: Antonín Dvořáks Symphonische Dichtung Die Mittagshexe und sein Cellokonzert, Bohuslav Martinůs Vierte Symphonie oder Leoš Janáčeks Violinkonzert Putování dušičky (Wanderung einer kleinen Seele). Bei seinem letzten Besuch wandte er sich anderen symphonischen Regionen zu und dirigierte zwei Werke seines Landsmanns John Adams, Composer in Residence 2016/2017, sowie Béla Bartóks Violinkonzert mit Frank Peter Zimmermann als Solist und Peter Tschaikowskys Vierte Symphonie. Dieses Mal stellt Alan Gilbert, der von 2009 bis 2017 als erster New Yorker Chef der New York Philharmonic war und ab 2019 das NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester leitet, Thomas Adès' Three Studies from Couperin vor, außerdem stehen Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Klarinettenkonzert mit dem philharmonischen Soloklarinettisten Wenzel Fuchs und Claude Debussys Images pour orchestre auf dem Programm.

Spross einer Dirigentenfamilie

»Ich wuchs mit Aufnahmen der Berliner Philharmoniker auf. Wir haben sie fast täglich gehört«, erzählt Paavo Järvi in einem Gespräch in der Digital Concert Hall. Kein Wunder, stammt der gebürtige Este aus einer berühmten Musikerfamilie. Sowohl Vater Neeme als auch Bruder Kristjan gehören zur Zunft der Dirigenten. Paavo Järvi, zur Zeit Chef der Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, des NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokio und des Estonia Festival Orchestra sowie designierter Chefdirigent und Künstlerische Leiter des Tonhalle-Orchesters Zürich, gab im Jahr 2000 im Alter von 38 Jahren sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern. »Wenn ich damals gewusst hätte, was ich heute weiß, hätte ich mich noch nicht darauf eingelassen«, gesteht er schmunzelnd. In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Orchester und Dirigent intensiviert. In dieser Saison leitet er das traditionelle Europakonzert am 1. Mai, das im Markgräflichen Opernhaus Bayreuth stattfindet. Anschließend gibt er noch ein Gastspiel in Berlin, bei dem er neben einer Tondichtung und dem Violinkonzert (Solistin: Janine Jansen) von Jean Sibelius auch die Sechste Symphonie von Schostakowitsch interpretiert, die eine musikalische Reflexion über die Stalin-Ära ist.

Dirigent russischer Schule

Der 40-jährige Tugan Sokhiev zählt zu den Shooting-Stars seiner Generation. Er ist Chef zweier renommierter Klangkörper: des Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse und des Orchesters des Moskauer Bolschoi-Theaters. Von 2012 bis 2016 war er zudem Künstlerische Leiter des  Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin. In den Konzerten, die er seit seinem Debüt im Januar 2010 bei den Berliner Philharmonikern gegeben hat, stand meist eine reizvolle Mischung von französischer und russischer Musik auf dem Programm. Davon zeugte auch sein letzter Auftritt, bei dem César Francks Le Chasseur maudit, Sergej Rachmaninows Rhapsodie über ein Thema von Paganini für Klavier und Orchester (Solist: Nikolai Lugansky) und Nikolaj Rimsky-Korsakows Symphonische Suite Scheherazade erklangen. Dieses Mal präsentiert er sich erstmals bei den Berliner Philharmonikern mit einem Werk Ludwig van Beethovens, dem Drittem Klavierkonzert mit Yefim Bronfman als Solist. Außerdem dirigiert er zwei populäre Kompositionen des russischen Repertoires: Sergej Prokofjews Symphonie classique und Modest Mussorgskys Bilder einer Ausstellung. Nicht nur im Repertoire, sondern auch in seinem Dirigierstil wurzelt der gebürtige Nordossete in der russischen Tradition. Tugan Sokhiev ist ein Schüler des legendären Ilya Musin: »Das war das größte Glück, das mir bisher widerfahren ist. Musin war schon Anfang 90, aber er war großartig. Alles hat sich verändert, seit ich bei ihm war und wir würden heute garantiert nicht hierstehen, wenn ich nicht bei ihm studiert hätte.«

Paavo Järvi
(Foto: Kaupo Kikkas)
Tugan Sokhiev
(Foto: Marco Borggreve)

Hören Sie rein!


Die Dirigenten in der Digital Concert Hall

Konzerte

Donnerstag,

26. Apr 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: I

Do, 26. Apr 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert Dirigent

Wenzel Fuchs Klarinette

Werke von Thomas Adès, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart und Claude Debussy

mehr lesen

Freitag,

27. Apr 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: L

Fr, 27. Apr 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert Dirigent

Wenzel Fuchs Klarinette

Werke von Thomas Adès, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart und Claude Debussy

mehr lesen online sehen

Samstag,

05. Mai 2018,
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: K

Sa, 05. Mai 2018, 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi Dirigent

Lisa Batiashvili Violine

Werke von Jean Sibelius und Dmitri Schostakowitsch

mehr lesen

Sonntag,

06. Mai 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: D

So, 06. Mai 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi Dirigent

Lisa Batiashvili Violine

Werke von Jean Sibelius und Dmitri Schostakowitsch

mehr lesen online sehen

Donnerstag,

10. Mai 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: C

Do, 10. Mai 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev Dirigent

Yefim Bronfman Klavier

Werke von Sergej Prokofjew, Ludwig van Beethoven und Modest Mussorgsky

mehr lesen

Freitag,

11. Mai 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: B

Fr, 11. Mai 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev Dirigent

Yefim Bronfman Klavier

Werke von Sergej Prokofjew, Ludwig van Beethoven und Modest Mussorgsky

mehr lesen

Samstag,

12. Mai 2018,
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: G

Sa, 12. Mai 2018, 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev Dirigent

Yefim Bronfman Klavier

Werke von Sergej Prokofjew, Ludwig van Beethoven und Modest Mussorgsky

mehr lesen online sehen