Happy Birthday, Daniel Barenboim!

Marking the 75th birthday of the pianist, conductor and long-time friend of the Berliner Philharmoniker

(Photo: Peter Adamik)

On 15 November 2017, Daniel Barenboim celebrates his 75th birthday. To describe him as one of our great conductors and pianists does not do him justice: Barenboim is a universal musician – someone who wants to understand the greatness of his art in its entirety, and who places music, which has the power to connect both people and peoples, at the service of his humanitarian ideals. This aim is most visible is in the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, founded by him and the literary scholar Edward Said, which consists equally of Israeli and Arab musicians. But Barenboim has also left his mark on the great, venerable institutions of classical music: the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Bayreuth Festival, La Scala in Milan and, of course, the Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, where he has been in charge for a quarter of a century. Barenboim also enjoys a genuine friendship with the Berliner Philharmoniker – and has done so for over five decades.

Friend of the Berliner Philharmoniker for 53 years

On 12 June 1964, the then 21-year-old pianist appeared with the orchestra for the first time as the soloist in Béla Bartók’s Piano Concerto No. 1. The event was reported in the press rather fleetingly because the reviewers focused their attention on Pierre Boulez, who was making his debut conducting one of his own works that evening. Nevertheless, they bore witness to Daniel Barenboim’s great technical mastery. “Whether he is more than just a good technician, he would have to show in other music,” wrote one critic. This opportunity soon presented itself. Only a few months later, Barenboim played Wilhelm Furtwängler’s Symphonic Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in B minor under the baton of Zubin Mehta, on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the death of the composer and conductor. The intensity of his playing and the heartfelt expression delighted both the audience and press alike. Barenboim, who admired Furtwängler from an early age, feels a special connection to him to this day. Furtwängler had heard him a decade earlier and had invited the talented boy to perform in Berlin. But Barenboim’s father refused – on the grounds that a Jewish family could not come to Germany just nine years after the end of the Second World War.

A dual talent: pianist and conductor

Right from the start, Daniel Barenboim loved the way the Berliner Philharmoniker played: “The incredible warmth in the strings with a vibrancy I had never heard before,” he said in an interview with 128 – the Berliner Philharmoniker Magazine. “They didn’t yet have the solo characteristic they have today through their great soloist personalities.” Daniel Barenboim made his mark not only as a pianist but also as a conductor. In 1969 he first led the Berliner Philharmoniker, conducting Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 95 in C minor, Schumann’s Fourth Symphony and Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto with Sir Clifford Curzon as the soloist. An event that caused a sensation and made it clear what great musical potential he had in him. But there was more: From 1976, audiences of the Philharmoniker also experienced Daniel Barenboim on several occasions in the dual role of conductor and soloist. The then 33-year-old performed Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor and Anton Bruckner’s Fourth Symphony. One review described how he was no mere time beater, rather he followed in the grand tradition of the dynamic designer who creates freely using expressive gestures.

Emotional concert events

As a pianist, he has appeared in concert programmes of the Philharmoniker with the concertos of Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms. As a conductor, he has programmed works from Johann Sebastian Bach to Pierre Boulez. However, his focus is on the Classical and Romantic repertoire: Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Strauss and, on several occasions, Bruckner. Two highly emotional events stand out in the long fruitful collaboration between Daniel Barenboim and the Berliner Philharmoniker: the special concert he conducted on 12 November 1989, after the fall of the Berlin Wall for GDR citizens, and the orchestra’s first Israel tour in 1990, during which he accompanied the Philharmoniker as a conductor. On 18 June 2014, Daniel Barenboim and the Berliner Philharmoniker celebrated their 50th anniversary with a special concert, with Barenboim as the soloist in Johannes Brahms’ First Piano Concerto conducted by Sir Simon Rattle. This season too, in February 2018, Barenboim will be a guest of the orchestra – as the soloist in Bartók’s First Piano Concerto, the work with which he made his debut with the orchestra. A circle closes.

1964: Daniel Barenboim made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker as pianist
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
The conductor 1971
(Photo: Reinhard Friedrich)
1989: Concert on the occasion of the fall of the Berlin Wall
(Photo: Reinhard Friedrich)
In rehearsal
(Photo: Ludwig Schirmer)
2014: Applause after the concert, celebrating the 50th anniversary of the work together
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Concerts

Thursday,

22 Feb 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: H

Thu, 22 Feb 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Daniel Barenboim piano

Works by Antonín Dvořák, Béla Bartók and Leoš Janáček

read more

Friday,

23 Feb 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: K

Fri, 23 Feb 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Daniel Barenboim piano

Works by Antonín Dvořák, Béla Bartók and Leoš Janáček

read more

Saturday,

24 Feb 2018,
19:00

Philharmonie

Serie: C

Sat, 24 Feb 2018, 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Daniel Barenboim piano

Works by Antonín Dvořák, Béla Bartók and Leoš Janáček

read more watch online

Happy Birthday, Daniel Barenboim!

Zum 75. Geburtstag des Pianisten, Dirigenten und langjährigen Freundes der Berliner Philharmoniker

(Foto: Peter Adamik)

Am 15. November 2017 feiert Daniel Barenboim seinen 75. Geburtstag. Obwohl er zu den großen Dirigenten und Pianisten unserer Zeit zählt, greifen diese Bezeichnungen doch zu kurz. Denn Barenboim ist ein Universalmusiker – einer, der das Große, Ganze dieser Kunst erfassen will und der die Menschen und Völker verbindende Kraft der Musik in den Dienst seiner humanistischen Ideale stellt. Am sichtbarsten wird dieses Bestreben in dem von ihm und dem Literaturwissenschaftler Edward Said gegründeten West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, das zu gleichen Teilen aus israelischen und arabischen Musikern besteht. Aber auch an den großen, traditionsreichen Institutionen der klassischen Musik hat Barenboim tiefe Spuren hinterlassen: beim Chicago Symphony Orchestra, den Bayreuther Festspielen, der Mailänder Scala und natürlich an der Berliner Staatsoper Unter den Linden, die er seit einem Vierteljahrhundert leitet. Auch mit den Berliner Philharmonikern verbindet Barenboim eine tiefe Freundschaft – und das seit über fünf Jahrzehnten.

Seit 53 Jahren Freund der Berliner Philharmoniker

Am 12. Juni 1964 trat der damals 21-jährige Pianist als Solist von Béla Bartóks Klavierkonzert Nr. 1 erstmals mit dem Orchester auf. In der Presse wurde dieses Ereignis eher beiläufig erwähnt, denn die Rezensenten widmeten Pierre Boulez, der an diesem Abend als Dirigent eines eigenen Werks debütierte, die größere Aufmerksamkeit. Gleichwohl attestierten sie Daniel Barenboim eine große technische Meisterschaft. »Ob er mehr als ein guter Techniker ist, müsste er erst noch an anderer Musik kundtun«, meinte ein Kritiker. Dazu bot sich bald Gelegenheit. Nur wenige Monate später wirkte Barenboim unter Stabführung von Zubin Mehta als Interpret von Wilhelm Furtwänglers Symphonischem Konzert für Klavier und Orchesters mit, das anlässlich des 10. Todestages des Dirigenten und Komponisten aufgeführt wurde. Die Intensität seines Spiels, der tiefempfundene Ausdruck begeisterte Publikum und Presse gleichermaßen. Barenboim fühlt sich Furtwängler, den er von klein auf bewunderte, bis heute besonders verbunden. Dieser hatte ihn bereits zehn Jahre zuvor gehört und den hochtalentierten Knaben zu einem Auftritt nach Berlin eingeladen. Doch Barenboims Vater lehnte ab – mit der Begründung, dass eine jüdische Familie nur neun Jahre nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs nicht nach Deutschland kommen könne.

Eine Doppelbegabung: Pianist und Dirigent

Von Anfang an begeisterte Daniel Barenboim die Art, wie die Berliner Philharmoniker musizieren: »Diese unglaubliche Wärme in den Streichern, mit einem Vibrieren, wie ich es noch nie gehört hatte,« erzählte er in einem Interview der Zeitschrift 128 – das Magazin der Berliner Philharmoniker. »Sie hatten noch nicht diese solistische Charakteristik, die sie heute durch ihre großen Solisten-Persönlichkeiten haben.« Daniel Barenboim überzeugte nicht nur als Pianist, sondern auch als Dirigent. 1969 stand er erstmals am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker und dirigierte Joseph Haydns Symphonie Nr. 95 c-Moll, Robert Schumanns Vierte Symphonie und Ludwig van Beethovens Viertes Klavierkonzert mit Sir Clifford Curzon als Solist. Ein Ereignis, das Aufsehen erregte und deutlich machte, welch großes musikalisches Potenzial in ihm steckte. Aber nicht nur das: Ab 1976 konnte das philharmonische Publikum Daniel Barenboim auch immer wieder in Personalunion als Dirigent und Solist erleben. Der damals 33-Jährige interpretierte Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Klavierkonzert Nr. 20 d-Moll und Anton Bruckners Vierte Symphonie. Er sei kein Taktschläger, sondern nach großem Vorbild ein mit suggestiver Zeichengebung frei nachschaffender dynamischer Gestalter, hieß es in einer Rezension.

Emotionale Konzertereignisse

Als Pianist präsentierte er sich in den philharmonischen Programmen vor allem mit den Konzerten von Mozart, Beethoven und Brahms. Als Dirigent setzte er Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach bis Pierre Boulez auf das Programm. Gleichwohl liegt sein Schwerpunkt auf dem klassischen und romantischen Repertoire: Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Strauss und immer wieder Bruckner. Zwei hochemotionale Ereignisse ragen aus der langen fruchtbaren Zusammenarbeit zwischen Daniel Barenboim und den Berliner Philharmonikern heraus: das von ihm geleitete Sonderkonzert, das am 12. November 1989 nach dem Fall der Mauer für DDR-Bürger kurzfristig veranstaltet wurde, und 1990 die erste Israel-Tournee des Orchesters, bei der er die Philharmoniker als Dirigent begleitete. Ihre 50-jährige Freundschaft feierten Daniel Barenboim und die Berliner Philharmoniker im Juni 2014 mit einem Sonderkonzert am 18. Juni, bei dem Barenboim unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle den Solopart von Johannes Brahms’ Erstem Klavierkonzert spielte. Auch in dieser Saison, im Februar 2018, ist der Jubilar Gast des Orchesters – als Solist von Bartóks Erstem Klavierkonzert, jenem Werk, mit dem er bei dem Orchester debütierte. Ein Kreis schließt sich.

1964: Daniel Barenboim debütiert als Pianist bei den Berliner Philharmonikern
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
Der Dirigent 1971
(Foto: Reinhard Friedrich)
Mauerfallkonzert 1989
(Foto: Reinhard Friedrich)
Bei der Probe
(Foto: Ludwig Schirmer)
Schlussapplaus beim Jubiläumskonzert 2014
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)

Konzerte

Donnerstag,

22. Feb 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: H

Do, 22. Feb 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Daniel Barenboim Klavier

Werke von Antonín Dvořák, Béla Bartók und Leoš Janáček

mehr lesen

Freitag,

23. Feb 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: K

Fr, 23. Feb 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Daniel Barenboim Klavier

Werke von Antonín Dvořák, Béla Bartók und Leoš Janáček

mehr lesen

Samstag,

24. Feb 2018,
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: C

Sa, 24. Feb 2018, 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Daniel Barenboim Klavier

Werke von Antonín Dvořák, Béla Bartók und Leoš Janáček

mehr lesen online sehen