Brahms centre stage

The piano recitals of Sir András Schiff

Sir András Schiff
(Photo: Peter Fischli)

“I’m only interested in the best and greatest music. And there’s so much of it for piano. It’s a real gift!” as pianist Sir András Schiff said in his interview for the Philharmoniker’s magazine 128. The Berliner Philharmoniker and their concert series have benefited from this interest since 1989, when he made his debut with the orchestra under the direction of Seiji Ozawa with a performance of Brahms’ First Piano Concerto. Since then, he has performed almost all of the major piano concertos of the repertoire in the Philharmonie – and much more! For years, the native Hungarian, who has been a British citizen since 2001 and was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in June 2014, has continued to surprise audiences with unusual concert programmes.

New perspectives on well-known works

“I want us to breath new life into our concerts; this can be achieved educationally – in the best sense of the word – with good programming,” says the artist, who captivates audiences with his well-articulated and analytical but at the same time deeply felt playing. “Putting the programmes together gives me enormous pleasure. There is a lot of thought behind them, because they should not merely be entertaining. It is important to me that people feel comfortable at a concert - but it isn't enough to play only a few popular pieces, as is very often the case.”

In search of connections

In recent years, he has dedicated a series of concerts to the last Sonatas of Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert in a highly exciting cycle, linking these works to piano works by Bach, Bartók, Janáček and Schumann: “My job is to seek out and find the connections between the pieces.” In his two recitals this season, compositions by Johannes Brahms take centre stage. In the first concert, Schiff juxtaposes his Acht Klavierstücke op. 76 and Seven Fantasies, op. 116 with Felix Mendelssohn’s Fantasy in F sharp minor op. 28 Sonate écossaise, Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Sonata No. 24 in F sharp major, and Johann Sebastian Bach’s English Suite No. 6 – three composers who Brahms studied intensively. The programme of the second concert focuses on Brahms’ late piano works, complemented by pieces by Bach and Beethoven. Plus, in addition to works by Bach and Beethoven, there are also Robert Schumann’s Geistervariationen and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Rondo in A minor KV 511.

Im Mittelpunkt Brahms

Die Klavierabende von Sir András Schiff

Sir András Schiff
(Foto: Peter Fischli)

»Mich interessiert nur die beste und größte Musik. Und davon gibt es so viel für Klavier. Es ist ein Geschenk!«, bekannte der Pianist Sir András Schiff in seinem Interview für das philharmonische Magazin 128. Von diesem Interesse profitieren die Berliner Philharmoniker und ihre Konzertreihen bereits seit 1989. Damals debütierte er bei dem Orchester unter der Leitung von Seiji Ozawa mit dem Ersten Klavierkonzert von Johannes Brahms. Bis heute konnte man ihn mit nahezu allen großen Konzerten der Klavierliteratur in der Philharmonie erleben. Und nicht nur das! Seit Jahren überrascht der gebürtige Ungar, der seit 2001 britischer Staatsbürger ist und im Juni 2014 von Königin Elizabeth II in den Adelsstand erhoben wurde, mit ungewöhnlichen Konzertprogrammen.

Neue Sicht auf altbekannte Werke

»Ich möchte, dass wir neue Luft in unser Konzertleben bringen; mit guten Programmen lässt sich das im besten Sinne erzieherisch realisieren«, meint der Künstler, der durch sein wohl artikuliertes, analytisches und zugleich tief empfundenes Spiel die Zuhörer in seinen Bann zieht. »Die Programme zu gestalten, bereitet mir sehr große Freude. Dahinter steckt viel Nachdenken, weil es keine Unterhaltung sein soll. Es ist mir wichtig, dass die Menschen sich wohlfühlen im Konzert; aber nur ein paar beliebte Stücke zu spielen, wie es sehr oft geschieht, das reicht nicht.«

Auf der Suche nach Zusammenhängen

In den vergangenen Jahren widmete er eine Konzertreihe den Letzten Sonaten von Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven sowie Schubert und schmiedete Klavierwerke von Bach, Bartók, Janáček und Schumann zu einem hochspannenden Zyklus zusammen. »Meine Aufgabe ist es, darauf neugierig zu sein, die Zusammenhänge zwischen den Stücken zu suchen und zu finden.« In dieser Saison legt er an zwei Abenden den Schwerpunkt auf Kompositionen von Johannes Brahms. Im ersten Konzert stellt Schiff dessen Acht Klavierstücke op. 76 und Sieben Fantasien op. 116 der Sonate écossaise von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, der Klaviersonate Fis-Dur op. 78 von Ludwig van Beethoven und der Englischen Suite Nr. 6 von Johann Sebastian Bach gegenüber − drei Komponisten, mit denen sich Brahms sehr intensiv auseinandergesetzt hat. Das Programm des zweiten Konzerts kreist um das pianistische Spätwerk von Brahms. Ergänzend dazu erklingen neben Stücken von Bach und Beethoven auch Robert Schumanns Geistervariationen und Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Rondo a-Moll KV 511.