Across the Pond!

The Berliner Philharmoniker in the USA and Canada – a historical review

(Photo: Markus Weidmann)

When the Berliner Philharmoniker set off on their first tour of the USA and Canada in February 1955, the tour organisers had a few anxious, desperate and stressful weeks behind them. So much so, that the project had come close to being cancelled. Wilhelm Furtwängler, the chief conductor of the orchestra, who the American musical world had been much looking forward to, had died in November 1954, and a suitable “replacement” needed to be found in a hurry. For the Philharmoniker, the then 46-year-old Herbert von Karajan, who had also agreed to step in, appeared to be the most suitable. He saw this as his chance to qualify as Furtwängler’s successor as the orchestra’s chief conductor. But the involvement of Karajan brought new problems: An American industrialist who was going to cover the travelling expenses of the orchestra withdrew his offer. Also, indignant voices were raised in the USA. Ten years after the end of the Second World War, the horrors of the Nazi regime were still fresh in people’s minds and the appearance of the former Nazi party member Karajan was seen by the American Musicians Union and Jewish organisations as an affront. Against this background, it seemed questionable whether the tour would be a success. Was it worth the risk? The organisers, especially André Mertens, vice president of the American concert agency Columbia Artists Management, nevertheless went all out to make the tour a reality.

Musical Triumph

From their very first concert at Constitution Hall in Washington, the Berliner Philharmoniker’s artistic qualities convinced both press and public alike. “Even when playing quickly and quietly, the sound is always full. The strings have a precise, glowing tone of rare warmth and vitality. The woodwinds never play too loud,” wrote the Washington Post enthusiastically. Almost everywhere, critics praised the tonal and mental homogeneity of the orchestra as its outstanding feature. The tour made extreme demands on the musicians and conductor: Within five weeks, they gave 26 concerts in 21 cities in the USA and Canada. The concert programmes were created from a pool of 20 compositions, ranging from works by Handel, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms, Schumann, Tchaikovsky, Mahler, Berlioz and Strauss to Blacher and Barber. For financial reasons, the musicians travelled by bus, while trucks transported the instruments. But the effort was well worth it. This tour laid the foundation for the enthusiastic reaction the orchestra receives in the USA and Canada today. The tour also had a political dimension: It was considered a bridge building exercise to foster goodwill between Germany and the USA. As early as the October of the next, the Philharmoniker and Karajan undertook a second concert tour, and a third followed in 1961 during which Karajan and Karl Böhm shared the musical direction. They performed in such prestigious venues as Carnegie Hall in New York and Boston Symphony Hall as well as in university auditoriums in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, and East Lansing, Michigan. The musical baggage had become somewhat lighter: only 12 works, mainly from the Classical and Romantic repertoire, including Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto with Michel Schwalbé, then first concertmaster, as the soloist.

Welcome guests

From then on, the Berliner Philharmoniker toured North America on a regular basis – every three to five years on average. In 1986, the year in which Herbert von Karajan celebrated his 30th year as chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker, a tour was planned which included not only the USA, but also Japan, where the Philharmoniker were the first foreign orchestra invited to appear in the newly opened Suntory Hall in Tokyo. Although the tour schedule was kept relatively light in view of Karajan’s health – eight concerts in three weeks – the organisers had to pull out all the stops again: This time, Karajan had to cancel due to illness at short notice, and a feverish search began for replacements. “Will it be possible to sell the Philharmoniker without Karajan?” asked the critic of the Boston Globe. Under the shared direction of Seiji Ozawa and James Levine, the orchestra proved it was just as compelling without the participation of the legendary maestro.

Curiosity about the “new guy”

The Karajan era came to an end. The chief conductor of the Philharmoniker died in 1989. Following a guest appearance in New York, which the orchestra had given under the baton of Bernard Haitink in 1991 for the 100th anniversary of Carnegie Hall, they went to North America for the first time with their new chief, Claudio Abbado, in October 1993, and for the first time in 32 years, the Philharmoniker gave a guest performance in Toronto, Canada – with an all-Mahler programme. Expectations were as high as the black market prices for tickets. Of course, the “new guy” would be measured against Karajan. Critics reacted in different ways: some were enthusiastic, some more cautious while noticing the artistic spirit of new beginnings and found that the sound of the orchestra possessed more warmth than under Karajan. The presence of new, younger musicians was mentioned favourably time and again. In 1996 and 1998, the Philharmoniker made guest appearances with Abbado in New York, and in 1999 and 2001 he accompanied them to New York, Boston, Chicago, Ann Arbor and Costa Mesa (only in 2001). The 2001 tour took place under the shadow of the September 11 attacks and became a show of sympathy from the orchestra for the shocked country.

Modern times

The next tour in November 2003 was again expected with the greatest excitement in the USA: Sir Simon Rattle had then taken over the baton and the Americans were curious to see how the Philharmoniker would be under his direction. The completely new concert programming was the first thing to stand out. There was not the usual German-Romantic repertoire, rather Rattle focused on a combination of classical, modern and contemporary works. Alongside Joseph Haydn’s Symphonies Nos. 86 and 88, Claude Debussy’s La Mer and Franz Schubert’s “Great” C Major Symphony, programmes also included György Ligeti’s Violin Concerto, Heiner Goebbels’ Aus einem Tagebuch and Henri Dutilleux’ Correspondances, the latter two works were commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker and received their first American performances. So much avant-garde was something completely unaccustomed from the German orchestra. But Rattle’s energetic, captivating conducting style was highly acclaimed. The American tours have seen many highlights, such as the 2007 Residency in New York's Carnegie Hall when the orchestra was appointed a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador, or the Schumann and Beethoven cycles in 2014 and 2015, to name just a few. From 9 to 23 November, the Berliner Philharmoniker and their chief conductor are once again on tour in North America, performing in New York, Boston, Ann Arbor, Toronto, Los Angeles, Costa Mesa and San Francisco. On this occasion, they will perform two concert programmes: The first includes Pierre Boulez’ Éclat and Gustav Mahler’s Seventh Symphony, while the second includes orchestral pieces by Arnold Schoenberg, Anton Webern and Alban Berg and Johannes Brahms’ Second Symphony – two programmes which reflect the modern times that dawned with Simon Rattle. At the same time, this tour also marks the end of an era: It is the last time that Rattle will accompany the orchestra to the USA and Canada as their chief conductor.

Ready for first the American tour in 1955
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
Shadows of the past: Americans protest against the presence of the German orchestra
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
The musicians travelled by bus ...
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
... the instruments by truck Many happy returns: back to the USA in 1956
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1982: The orchestra visits Disneyland
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1993: With Claudio Abbado at Carnegie Hall for the first time
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
2003: Sir Simon Rattle introduces himself as the new chief conductor of the Philharmoniker in Chicago
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
New York 2007: Education programme dance project
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
2007: The blue cello case is the symbol of the newly appointed UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
2009: Rehearsal in Boston
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
On to the next concert
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
2015: Beethoven cycle in New York
(Photo: Davidson)

Über den Teich!

Die Berliner Philharmoniker in den USA und Kanada – ein historischer Rückblick

(Foto: Markus Weidmann)

Als die Berliner Philharmoniker im Februar 1955 zu ihrer ersten Tournee durch die USA und Kanada aufbrachen, lagen hinter den Organisatoren dieser Reise bange, verzweiflungsvolle und aufreibende Wochen. Fast wäre das Unternehmen gescheitert. Wilhelm Furtwängler, der Chefdirigent des Orchesters, auf den die amerikanische Musikwelt voller Neugier wartete, war im November 1954 gestorben und ein adäquater »Ersatz« musste auf die Schnelle gefunden werden. Am Geeignetsten erschien den Philharmonikern der damals 46-jährige Herbert von Karajan, der sich auch bereit erklärte einzuspringen. Er sah darin seine Chance, sich als Nachfolger Furtwänglers für das Amt des philharmonischen Chefdirigenten zu qualifizieren. Doch mit dem Engagement Karajans tauchten neue Probleme auf: Ein amerikanischer Industrieller, der die Reisekosten für das Orchester übernehmen wollte, zog seine Zusage wieder zurück. Außerdem erhoben sich in den USA unwillige Stimmen. Zehn Jahre nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs waren die Schrecken des Nazi-Regimes noch zu präsent und den Auftritt des ehemaligen NSDAP-Mitglieds Karajan empfanden die amerikanische Musikergewerkschaft sowie jüdische Organisationen als Affront. Ob die Reise vor diesem Hintergrund erfolgreich sein würde, schien fraglich. Sollte man das Risiko eingehen? Doch die Verantwortlichen, allen voran André Mertens, Vizepräsident der amerikanischen Konzertagentur Columbia Artists Management, setzten alles daran, die Tournee zu realisieren.

Musikalischer Triumph

Schon bei ihrem ersten Konzert in der Constitution Hall in Washington überzeugten die Berliner Philharmoniker und Herbert von Karajan Publikum und Presse von ihren künstlerischen Qualitäten. »Selbst bei schnellem und leisem Spiel bleibt der Klang immer voll. Die Streicher haben einen präzisen, glühenden Ton von seltener lebendiger Wärme. Die Holzbläser spielen nie zu laut«, schwärmte die Washington Post. Als hervorragendste Eigenschaft rühmten die Kritiker fast überall die klangliche und geistige Homogenität des Orchesters. Von Musikern und Dirigent verlangte diese Tournee das Äußerte: Innerhalb von fünf Wochen gaben sie 26 Konzerte in 21 amerikanischen und kanadischen Städten. Ihre Konzertprogramme stellten sie aus einem Pool von 20 Kompositionen zusammen, angefangen mit Werken von Händel über Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms, Schumann, Tschaikowsky, Mahler, Berlioz und Strauss bis hin zu Blacher und Barber. Die Musiker reisten aus finanziellen Gründen mit Bussen, während Trucks die Instrumente transportierten. Doch die Mühe lohnte sich. Diese Reise legte den Grundstein für die Begeisterung, die dem Orchester bis heute in den USA und Kanada entgegengebracht wird. Und mehr noch. Die Tournee hatte eine politische Dimension: Sie galt als Brückenschlag für eine freundschaftliche Verständigung zwischen Deutschland und den USA. Bereits im Oktober des nächsten Jahres unternahmen die Philharmoniker und Karajan die zweite Konzerttournee, 1961 folgte die dritte, auf der sich Karajan und Karl Böhm die musikalische Leitung teilten. Sie konzertierten dabei in so renommierten Sälen wie der New Yorker Carnegie Hall und der Bostoner Symphony Hall ebenso wie in den Universitätsaulen von Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, und East Lansing, Michigan. Das musikalische Reisegepäck war etwas leichter geworden: nur 12 Werke vorwiegend klassisch-romantischen Repertoires, darunter das Violinkonzert von Mendelssohn mit Michel Schwalbé, dem damaligen Ersten Konzertmeister, als Solist.

Gern gesehene Gäste

Von nun an kamen die Berliner Philharmoniker regelmäßig – im Schnitt alle drei bis fünf Jahre. 1986, Herbert von Karajan feierte sein 30. Jahr als Chefdirigent der Berliner Philharmoniker, stand eine Welttournee an, die nicht nur in die USA, sondern auch nach Japan führen sollte, wo die Philharmoniker als erstes ausländisches Orchester eingeladen waren, in der neueröffneten Suntory Hall in Tokio aufzutreten. Obwohl der Tourneeplan mit Rücksicht auf den gesundheitlichen Zustand Karajans relativ locker gehalten war – acht Konzerte in drei Wochen – , mussten die Organisatoren wieder sämtliche Register ihres Könnens ziehen: Dieses Mal sagte Karajan kurzfristig wegen Krankheit ab und es wurde fieberhaft nach Einspringern gesucht. »Wird es möglich sein, die Philharmoniker ohne Karajan zu verkaufen?« fragte der Kritiker des Boston Globe. Unter der Leitung von Seiji Ozawa und James Levine, die sich die Aufgabe teilten, bewies das Orchester, dass es auch ohne Mitwirkung des legendären Maestros überzeugt.

Neugierig auf den »Neuen«

Die Ära Karajan ging ihrem Ende zu. Der Chefdirigent der Philharmoniker starb 1989. Nach einem New Yorker Gastspiel, das das Orchester 1991 zum 100. Geburtstag der Carnegie Hall mit Bernard Haitink am Pult gegeben hatte, reiste es im Oktober 1993 erstmals mit seinem neuen Chef, Claudio Abbado, in die USA, und erstmals seit 32 Jahren gastierten die Philharmoniker wieder im kanadischen Toronto – mit einem reinen Mahler-Programm. Die Erwartungen waren hoch, so hoch wie die Schwarzmarktpreise für die Karten. Natürlich würde der »Neue« an Karajan gemessen werden. Die Kritik reagierte unterschiedlich, es gab enthusiastische Stimmen, aber auch zurückhaltende, man bemerkte jedoch die künstlerische Aufbruchstimmung und konstatierte, der Klang des Orchesters besitze mehr Wärme als unter Karajan. Auch die Verjüngung unter den Musikern wurde immer wieder wohlwollend erwähnt. 1996 und 1998 gastierten die Philharmoniker mit Abbado in New York, 1999 und 2001 ging es mit ihm nach New York, Boston, Chicago, Ann Arbor und (nur 2001) Costa Mesa. Die Tournee 2001 stand ganz unter dem Eindruck der Anschläge vom 11. September und das Orchester gestaltete sie zu einer Sympathiekundgebung für das geschockte Land.

Moderne Zeiten

Die nächste Tournee im November 2003 erwartete man in den USA wieder mit allergrößter Spannung: Mittlerweile hatte Sir Simon Rattle die Stabführung übernommen und man war sehr gespannt, wie sich die Philharmoniker unter ihm präsentieren würden. Zunächst fiel die komplett neue Programmatik der Konzerte auf. Es gab nicht mehr das gewohnte deutsch-romantische Repertoire, vielmehr setzte Rattle auf die Kombination von klassischen, modernen und zeitgenössischen Werken. Neben Joseph Haydns Symphonien Nr. 86 und 88, Claude Debussys La Mer und Franz Schuberts Großer C-Dur-Symphonie erklangen György Ligetis Violinkonzert, Heiner Goebbels Aus einem Tagebuch und Henri Dutilleux Correspondances, die beiden letztgenannten waren Auftragswerke der Berliner Philharmoniker und erlebten ihre amerikanische Erstaufführung. Soviel Avantgarde war man bislang von dem deutschen Orchester nicht gewohnt. Aber man bejubelte den energiegeladenen, mitreißenden Dirigierstil Rattles. Er und die Philharmoniker erlebten in den USA viele Höhepunkte. Man denke nur an die Residency 2007 in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall, bei der das Orchester zum UNICEF-Botschafter ernannt wurde, oder an die Schumann- und Beethoven-Zyklen 2014 und 2015. Vom 9. bis 23. November gehen die Berliner Philharmoniker und ihr Chef erneut auf eine USA-Tournee, die sie nach New York, Boston, Ann Arbor, Toronto, Los Angeles, Costa Mesa und San Francisco führt. Während dieser Reise spielen sie zwei Konzertprogramme: Das erste beinhaltet Pierre Boulez’ Éclat und Gustav Mahlers Siebte Symphonie. Im Zweiten erklingen Orchesterstücke von Arnold Schönberg, Anton Webern und Alban Berg sowie die Zweite Symphonie von Johannes Brahms. Die modernen Zeiten, die mit Simon Rattle angebrochen sind, spiegeln sich auch in diesen Programmen. Gleichzeitig läutet diese Tournee auch wieder eine Zeitenwende ein: Es ist das letzte Mal, dass Rattle das Orchester als philharmonischer Chefdirigent in die USA und nach Kanada begleitet.

Startklar zur ersten Amerikatournee 1955
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
Schatten der Vergangenheit: Amerikaner potestieren gegen den Auftritt des deutschen Orchesters
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
Die Musiker reisten mit dem Bus...
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
... die Instrumente mit dem Truck Auf ein Neues: 1956 ging es wieder in die USA
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1982: Ausflug des Orchesters ins Disneyland
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1993: Zum ersten Mal mit Claudio Abbado in der Carnegie Hall
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
2003: Sir Simon Rattle präsentiert sich als neuer Chefdirigent der Philharmoniker in Chicago
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
2003: Warten auf den Abflug
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
New York 2007: Tanz-Projekt des Education-Programms
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
2007: Der blaue Cellokasten ist das Symbol der neuernannten UNICEF-Botschafter
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
2009: Probe in Boston
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
Auf zum nächsten Konzert
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
2015: Beethoven-Zyklus in New York
(Foto: Davidson)